We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service found on aged property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service found on aged property”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall: Would recommend to business travellers for its decent service and free wifi, especially those who are not looking for luxurious excess. If you like your hotels shiny and beds large, look elsewhere.

Pros: Excellent front desk staff, good attitude and extremely helpful. A very good check in experience, was served a cold drink and wet towel upon arrival, demonstrating great empathy for guests. Asked for WiFi for duration of stay, frontdesk jumped through hoops to get it done. Attended to all requests with patience. Autos instantly available at valet counter.
Overall a very good effort from the frontline staff, probably one of the best efforts in Madurai.

Cons: GRT Regency is an old property. You can feel its age just by entering the hotel lobby. Maintenance staff struggle to work with what they have, but a lobby lacking ventilation, yellowing on walls and unpolished marble surfaces detract from the overall experience. Rooms and beds can feel small, especially to well-built individuals. Hotel restaurant food are of a decent quality, but lunch and dinner dining feels overpriced for even simple fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken. We continue to upgrade the property , the latest upgradtion done at the Multi cuisine resturant "Ahaaram"


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    259
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
187
138
41
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Because Madurai is an exhausting hot and chaotic city, you'll deserve a trusty place where to rest. For what concerns GRT Residency all is said in previous reviews. GRT is a good place to rest, the service is professional, the rooms are simple and comfortable, the food is excellent, especially the night buffet. The hotel is located slightly off the center but you'll find a cab at any hour in front of the hotel. The place is perfect for family or business travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're looking for character, this is not the place for you. However, the hotel was very clean and comfortable and, despite its location near a busy junction, our room on the second floor was very comfortable. The hotel was convenient for visiting the centre of Madurai (though we had a car and driver: it might be more difficult on public transport). We had the lunch buffet in the restaurant, but though this was tasty and there was plenty of choice, we would only recommend it to those with a large appetite. It is much better in our view to order "à la carte" from the wide menu. The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruntled30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The GRT Regency must have seen better times. The staff was helpful and friendly, but the rooms were just average, in my opinion not worth the price they charge. The pool looks great on photos, in reality it is much less enjoyable.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the center by car or autorickshaw and about 20-30 min from the central bus stand. Would it cost half the price it would be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: They have smoking and non smoking rooms. Be sure to book the room you want, smoking rooms do smell a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hh15302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. I have also noted the issues on priciing, I am sure, new renovated deluxe & superiors will meet your expectations.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

GRT Regency was a great hotel from the moment we stepped in. A car picked us up from the airport on time which was very clean. Once we arrived the staff were very helpful, with the process of check-in completed quickly. The rooms were very clean and looked like they were recently refurbished. The bathroom was immaculate as well. There is a safe and the TV is very good, with a variety of channels in different languages. The free WiFi is great, however, the access to it can be slightly troublesome, you need a bit of luck to get a strong connection. You also may need to bring your own adapters as there is only one plug that works with other adapters.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I choose GRT juz coz have trusted dis brand hav been staying in most of their properties in Chennai, tuticorin, pondy......

As usual great service and Credit to d team for maintaing their service in all their properties.....

Negative abt this hotel, the approach road is congested and the road facing part of the hotel is too noisy.....

Check in could be made much simpler and faster.....

Food quality and taste is awesome,the breakfast menu was widely spread......

I feel this property is on the higher side for a place lik madurai.......

If i am not wrong the property they hav in tuticorin also comes under the regency brand which is much cheaper than this.......

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vignesh_Madhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Evening we reached and it was a good welcome. Staffs are cooperative and nice breakfast and the room is an excellent and comfortable bathrooms and WIFI is there where I couldn't find in other hotels during our trip. No disturbance at all. A pleasant stay. Good channels with good clarity in TV cable network. Everything is provided in your room and but if you utilise it you have to pay the bill(please be aware of that.) Will definitely stay in that hotel during my next time visit. But.... travel desk charges more for Airport fare. Rs40/km. Which is for 10KM drop fare is 890 indian rupee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajkumar711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,305 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#5 of 54 in Madurai
316 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing