We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service at little higher cost” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good Service at little higher cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I choose GRT juz coz have trusted dis brand hav been staying in most of their properties in Chennai, tuticorin, pondy......

As usual great service and Credit to d team for maintaing their service in all their properties.....

Negative abt this hotel, the approach road is congested and the road facing part of the hotel is too noisy.....

Check in could be made much simpler and faster.....

Food quality and taste is awesome,the breakfast menu was widely spread......

I feel this property is on the higher side for a place lik madurai.......

If i am not wrong the property they hav in tuticorin also comes under the regency brand which is much cheaper than this.......

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vignesh_Madhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    249
    75
    15
    9
See reviews for
174
131
40
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Evening we reached and it was a good welcome. Staffs are cooperative and nice breakfast and the room is an excellent and comfortable bathrooms and WIFI is there where I couldn't find in other hotels during our trip. No disturbance at all. A pleasant stay. Good channels with good clarity in TV cable network. Everything is provided in your room and but if you utilise it you have to pay the bill(please be aware of that.) Will definitely stay in that hotel during my next time visit. But.... travel desk charges more for Airport fare. Rs40/km. Which is for 10KM drop fare is 890 indian rupee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajkumar711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a very short duration and found the experience to be ok sorts and not that very great. The check-in was cumbersome with the reception insisting on IDs for all adults! The rooms were standard and looked a bit old especially the bathroom. The food was good but expensive. The complimentary breakfast had a huge spread.

The pool is very small and kind of isolated from the rest of the hotel. The rooms facing the entrace are a bit noisy. Overall a ok stay without any major hassles; a bit costly for the amenities and services provided

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivekapk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virudhunagar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

It very far from Airport and far from City. The check in was very slow as I had to show my ID proof which needed to be xeroxed. Apparently, their machine wasnt functioned hence it took a while for them to give it back during which I was seated in the reception which had very few and outdated magazines.

The room was tidy and neat. I have no complaints. The Room service was so slow in delivery that I wish I had gone into town instead. Yet, the complimentary food was good. But I have no complaints with taste. Outdoor pool was nice.

The next morning, the reception people were so helpful in arranging us a taxi. The checkout was easy as I had already informed via phone. So it took hardly less than 3 minutes.

W

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvinodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

K.Muralidharan
General Manager
+919994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

very nice hotel but we felt it was little costly. we stayed there for 2 days in February 2013. Hotel is really well maintained and staffs are really professional. both room and hotel had very pleasant ambience. Food was awesome(both in room dining and buffet). we were offerred complementary breakfast, it had real good south indian food (i am not sure about others as we did not try those :) ). I went to Madurai for visiting Thiruparankundram and Pazhamudircholai temples with my family. We felt this was a business hotel than a holiday type. Overall it was a pleasant stay if you do not worry about spending few thousands extra. This hotel is located very close to Thiruparankundran (3-4 kms) and around 2-3km from Meenakshi amman temple. ~20kms from Pazhamudircholai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NarenChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm very glad we stayed here. There are many awesome reasons to book here, foremost a very nice comfortable room! Very clean and classy. We had excellent help from the front desk, who helped us print out a tricky email attachment and get taxis. We tried the pool, which is ok but not as impressive as the photo. We had the buffet dinner, which was fun, but we all admitted nothing was all that delicious. The location seemed a little out if the way. I think, overall, that you'll be happy with the room!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We received a confirmation of our stay in GRT Regency Madurai on 5th December for our 3-night stay mid February (10 weeks ahead). When we arrived we were overbooked, the hotel received a last minute request from a group and decided they preferred them to be in the hotel, only the last night we were welcome to stay. Apparently for GRT Regency Madurai the people in the hotel are not guests, they are merchandise. We are very disappointed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RKRAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,
Muralidharan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.3 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
1.0 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Regency is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing