We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok Stay...”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a very short duration and found the experience to be ok sorts and not that very great. The check-in was cumbersome with the reception insisting on IDs for all adults! The rooms were standard and looked a bit old especially the bathroom. The food was good but expensive. The complimentary breakfast had a huge spread.

The pool is very small and kind of isolated from the rest of the hotel. The rooms facing the entrace are a bit noisy. Overall a ok stay without any major hassles; a bit costly for the amenities and services provided

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivekapk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    254
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
179
135
41
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virudhunagar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It very far from Airport and far from City. The check in was very slow as I had to show my ID proof which needed to be xeroxed. Apparently, their machine wasnt functioned hence it took a while for them to give it back during which I was seated in the reception which had very few and outdated magazines.

The room was tidy and neat. I have no complaints. The Room service was so slow in delivery that I wish I had gone into town instead. Yet, the complimentary food was good. But I have no complaints with taste. Outdoor pool was nice.

The next morning, the reception people were so helpful in arranging us a taxi. The checkout was easy as I had already informed via phone. So it took hardly less than 3 minutes.

W

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvinodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

K.Muralidharan
General Manager
+919994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

very nice hotel but we felt it was little costly. we stayed there for 2 days in February 2013. Hotel is really well maintained and staffs are really professional. both room and hotel had very pleasant ambience. Food was awesome(both in room dining and buffet). we were offerred complementary breakfast, it had real good south indian food (i am not sure about others as we did not try those :) ). I went to Madurai for visiting Thiruparankundram and Pazhamudircholai temples with my family. We felt this was a business hotel than a holiday type. Overall it was a pleasant stay if you do not worry about spending few thousands extra. This hotel is located very close to Thiruparankundran (3-4 kms) and around 2-3km from Meenakshi amman temple. ~20kms from Pazhamudircholai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarenChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm very glad we stayed here. There are many awesome reasons to book here, foremost a very nice comfortable room! Very clean and classy. We had excellent help from the front desk, who helped us print out a tricky email attachment and get taxis. We tried the pool, which is ok but not as impressive as the photo. We had the buffet dinner, which was fun, but we all admitted nothing was all that delicious. The location seemed a little out if the way. I think, overall, that you'll be happy with the room!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We received a confirmation of our stay in GRT Regency Madurai on 5th December for our 3-night stay mid February (10 weeks ahead). When we arrived we were overbooked, the hotel received a last minute request from a group and decided they preferred them to be in the hotel, only the last night we were welcome to stay. Apparently for GRT Regency Madurai the people in the hotel are not guests, they are merchandise. We are very disappointed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RKRAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,
Muralidharan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is free wi-fi in the rooms which is the best feature.

Room service is very slow. food is expensive and not at all tasty. Buffet is also really not worth the price. The quality of food needs improvement

Gym is small , but has a treadmill and some other equipment. There is an outdoor swimming pool.

Location is not really great

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preetiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear madam,

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to have quick service in in room dining.

Warm regards
Muralidharan K
9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have booked this hotel on 2nd Feb through a leading travel portal 7 weeks in advance. This was confirmed booking I personally checked with hotel calling them few times before arrival. Mr. Vijay also confirmed it to travel portal on previous day about confirmed booking.
We were shocked when we were told that we are wait listed and have to move to other hotel they have arranged. after lot of argument at 7 in the evening with hotel executives and on little choice left as being senior citizen I agreed to move the alternative accommodation which was way below 4 star standard of GRT. Goibibo tried helping us and took a cognizance of this.

I am formally lodging complaint in consumer court against the hotel.

I have had no such problem with any other hotel I booked through travel portals in the past. Moreover I cant believe someone can be put on wait list in spite of booking nearly 2 months in advance. Surprisingly it seems this hotel got Tripadvisor award for better rating. However this hotel doesn't deserve it.

There are better hotels in Madurai. i think Fortune Pandiyan or Sangam would definitely be better choice.

Regards,

D B B

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. There were 2 other families who had same experience like ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xeonxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that these are not repeated. Bookings through third party portal do have such communication lapses,
we are sorry for the same.

Hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you during your next visit to madurai

K.Muralidharan
9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,283 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
196 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing