We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT - could have better food choices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVE IT - could have better food choices”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The staff are excellent, welcome drinks are given regardless of where you're staying. The dinner selection had gotten cold and was poor but the room was spacious and many amenities. Only thing is, they need to get the construction site fixed because the ride into the hotel was terrible and scary.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niinak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. certinly look into the concern of food being cold at the buffet.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    254
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
179
135
41
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It was indeed a pleasure staying at the GRT Hotel. The ambience's is great and the traditional Kerala Massage is worth every penny. It is surely an experience in itself and you should try it. The discounts offered should be checked prior to booking so as to avail the best price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailesh-Singhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Having traveled many countries I can say with confidence that no customer will find a better Hotel to stay than GRT Regency, Madurai. The two night experience and car trip to Rameswaram arranged by GRT are nothing short of special. If anyone wants to speak about Customer Delight, this Hotel is The Example. The staff are incredibly friendly and cooperate even before you ask. They understand what an International Traveller needs at every step!!! The food in the restaurant is good.

Room Tip: If more than two persons in the same family or freids visit ask for room nos 23 and 24. They are con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivasankar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over 3 days.. it was great, i enjoyed my stay there. staff friendly and very nice. had a massage at their spa, it was great (was surprised when the staff 'requested' for more tip).

wifi isnt available in all the rooms, especially on third floor...we struggled with connection and had to basically use the business center (which was payable INR50 for 1 hr).

location, isnt in the hotel's favour, when it rains the roads basically become small rivers...hopefully with the completion of the ongoing viaduct construction right in front of the hotel, things will improve.

Room Tip: ask for rooms furthers from the smoking rooms, if u r a none smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONEMSBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. We have shared your concern with the local authroities.
We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you wish a warm and friendly welcome , do not miss the opportunity to stay at this Hotel. The picture in side the room will tempt you to visit the places of Madurai.
An internet connection is the must requirement of the business community and that too you have at no cost at this well designed hotel.
Possibly, It is my house at Madurai away from my house ( I belong to Ahmedabad) , as I never think of staying at other hotel at Madurai.When I think of traveling to Madurai, it is GRT (Great) Regency appears on my visit plan.
All need of the guest at this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTPL-Gandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel has comfortable rooms and a well trained staff. They cater to Western tourists and their requirements. The location was out of the way, but we actually enjoyed an evening walk through the nearby business district where real India's business takes place. Of everywhere we stayed in 5 weeks in India, it felt the most like a business motel in the US. And, that felt good to us in this large, not especially pleasant, city. If you're on the same schedule as a tour group, you may have to wait for them to complete their business.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room, you may have to be persistent to get one. They exist here, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I spent one night here and experienced welcoming efficient check in, helpful hotel staff, and a comfortable modern room nicely decorated with decent bedding. The free wi-fi worked well.

The location seemed out of the way, with not much within walking distance.

The restaurant is trying to cater to the tourists that come through thus serving a variety of cuisines, specifically Indian, Western and Pan-Asian. At the buffet I tried a variety of things and they were all pretty average. On the plus side there is a huge variety at all meals. Service in the dining room varied from good to non-existent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheres-fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
197 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing