We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystic Woods - Kurumba Village Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurumba Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mystic Woods - Kurumba Village Resort”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I had been to the Kurumba Village Resort in the third week of August, 2014 with family and I have to say this place is truly fascinating! The cottages are ideally situated in the mountain valley and this place makes you feel one with nature. It is great place for a nice long getaway. The resort on the whole has a rustic charm to it and almost every piece of furniture and other interior are made of wood and bamboo which takes you to a primitive era. The view of the mountains is breath-taking! The cottages are built on different levels offering mountain and stream view. One can watch many exotic birds and wild animals like bison, elephants, monkeys and squirrels in the vicinity.

Location
It is located on the Ooty- Mettupalyam Road on the 5th of 14 hairpin bends and to get to the resort one needs to drive on a uneven mud road(less than 1km) which is a little steep at some points and can be difficult to drive on in rainy conditions. But, they offer valet service up and down the road if needed or requested.

Cottages
There are about 20 cottages situated on different levels on the hill ranging from Jaccuzi suite, Kurumba Deluxe Suite and Kurumba Cottage. All the cottages are pretty and come with all basic amenties like herbal toiletries, fruit basket, hair dyer, tea maker, Air conditioning etc.

I would like to elaborate on the Jacuzzi Suite and the Kurumba Cottage that I stayed in as no reviewer had elaborated on the cottages.

Jacuzzi Suite
There are only 2 Jacuzzi suites i.e 117 and 118. I stayed in room number 117 which had a nice mountain view from the bedroom, balcony and the Jacuzzi. It was on the upper level and close to the restaurant so there was not much of climbing. The suite comes with a hall, dining, mini bar and a spacious bedroom with a 4 poster bed.The balcony is very spacious and offers a great view of the hills. The toilet was spacious and clean. The Jacuzzi attached to the bathroom was huge and can fit 2 adults easily. Like any other Jacuzzi this too offers massage jets that relax you completely. It also has mood enhancing lights that help soothe the mind. The Jacuzzi can be operated using the touch screen to suite your needs. Note : The Jacuzzi takes an hour or so to fill up.

Kurumba Cottage

The Cottage I stayed in (Room number 109) was situated on the middle level and had it's own private pathway. This has to be the best cottage that Kurumba can offer. It had the best view of both the stream and the mountains. It offers a lot of privacy as it is not attached to any other cottage. The room is quite spacious and clean. I even a spotted a bison and a giant squirrel near the stream. Exotic birds can also be spotted. The toilet was decent and one can soak in the bathtub while watching mother nature.

Restaurant and food
The restaurant faces the mountains and stream. The furniture is again completely made of wood. It can accommodate many people. The dim lighting adds to the forest charm.

They offer a multi cuisine spread. The food here is excellent. I had opted for the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet and all of it was very delicious. They serve several items in each meal.

Service

The service here is fast and the staff are very friendly and courteous. They welcome you in the Indian traditional way with garlands and a refreshing drink. If requested, they provide binoculars, umbrellas and movie DVD's.

Other attractions
There is a tea shop that serves very good tea with bhajjias, vadas and biscuits. They've got a tree top dining and cave dining which is ideal for couples. They have a activity room where magic shows and other games take place. There is also a spice plantation tour which is very informative.

Cons
1. The mud road leading to this lovely resort is very narrow and steep.
2. The climb up and down from the cottages to the restaurant that are situated on the middle and lower level is tedious.
I hope these are taken care of soon.

It is a real paradise and worth every penny spent. I would definitely go there again for my next vacation. I also totally recommend this resort to all those who want to unwind and relax within this lovely resort.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the upper level that are closer to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aksh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for ourselves. We are happy to note that you had an excellent stay with us. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay. We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    228
    46
    8
    8
See reviews for
482
282
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The place is located 200m away from the 5/14 hairpin bend; hence more close to Mettupalayam than Coonoor. However the beauty is that when you stay here, you have an fantastic view of the mountains.

The rooms are pretty good but it has a smell of moisture/wetness maybe because of the location. The food was nice; they had a good variety. All the staff in the kitchen went out of the way to help and prepare your food. Another thing, I found unique here was the tea shop they had, where they serve tea in the evenings with hot vadas while you have a close look at the majestic Nilgiris all around you.

If you have Ooty/Coonoor sightseeing on your agenda, I would not recommend this place. But this is an ideal place to stay and relax without moving out of the resort.

The staff were very friendly but they need to be trained better by the management. (E.g. there was no bottle opener inside the mini bar; no floor towels on the bath room hence it was getting wet; our balcony chair was broken and had to be replaced)

The camp fire was well organized. They even organized entertainment program for the guests on the eve of India's Independence day

Room Tip: If you have old people or kids, please choose a room from 101 - 105. You may have to walk/climb up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rathnakumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in kurumba village resort during your recent visit to the nilgiris, and highlighting our strengths and the opportunities for improvements. While we are delighted to know of our positives we will certainly work towards limiting the shortfalls. We strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us to meet the standards through continuous improvement .Looking forward to your continued visits to nature resorts and assuring you of the best attention and services at all times

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this resort on 14th Aug in their jacuzzi suite. Got a very good deal in makemytrip.Room was big and so was the bathroom with jacuzzi.Service was very nice and special request for food was taken care of. Nature at its best and a good place to get naughty ;-).Overall recommended and would rate it a 4 star resort.
Cons: NO SPA .Very disappointing. The food palate was good but needs improvement in taste.Certain features in spa like music was locked which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Image_maximised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for giving us the feedback regarding your stay with us in kurumba village resort during your recent visit to the nilgiris. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the friendliness of the staff were shared with the team. Looking forward to your continued visit to nature resorts and assuring you of the best attention and services at all times

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Was there for two nights, it's situated amidst the forest on Ooty Mettupalyam Road, it's a great property with great view of the Nilgiri mountains and valleys, the views from the cottages 101 & 121 was great, only draw back is that service is bit slow and the front desk is not enthusiastic, who would not like to rise in the morning with the view of the green mountains towering over the bedroom though it's on the costlier side. The swimming pool is situated at a vantage point on the property.
Great place for vacations, just try it once and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalithnibjiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for giving us the feedback regarding your stay with kurumba village resort during your recent visit to the nilgiris. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve on our guest satisfaction. Thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage our team to perform even better. Do come back to nature resorts for your next holiday. Looking forward on seeing you .

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We (family of four and an infant) had a wonderful time. Service was good ,especially the guys serving at dining area were very attentive, responsive to all our requests. They even gave a ball for my kid to play with. We also got lucky to see a herd of wild elephants and flying squirrel opposite the dining area .And later on saw a lone tusker walking by just below our balcony !! We stayed at room 105 and 106. For our parents it was a little tough going up to the reception/facilities , unfortunately they did not have rooms at upper levels . But overall it was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: For elderly choose rooms near to dining/reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

It is indeed pleasure to have you stayed with us in kurumba village Resort and provided your honest feedback. We are glad to know that, you enjoyed the facilities offered by the resort; it is the positive support and appreciation of our guests that make us grow. Your kind words have really motivated our team to ensure that we exceed guest expectations .we look forward to see you again on your next visit. Thanking you once again for choosing nature Resorts as your holiday destination in the nilgiris.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Calm, serene, green. Small waterfall and stream next to your room. Beautiful landscape view from the balcony. No cellular coverage whatsoever. Luxurious bed and spacious area. Courteous staff who are very helpful. Guided trek in the middle of greenery and jungle where you can sport exotic birds. Amazing, tasty food. Read a book admist nature. Candle light dinner and birthday celebration with cake at midnight. What more could one ask for on a birthday, courtesy my wife and Kurumba resorts. BLISS!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudhindra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We are delighted to learn that we were able to provide you a perfect getaway, we are glad to know you have experienced all our facilities in full at the resort. It is our endeavor to ensure all our guest get a wonderful holiday experience; we look forward to see you again on your next visit. Thanking you once again for choosing nature resort for your Holidays in the nilgiris.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Really surprised on some of the good reviews on this property. Location is terrible with the property being neither close to Coonoor or to the plains. Nothing much to do unless you are a honeymoon couple looking to get away from the crowd. Service is very poor, rooms are very average and staff have no clue or proper training. Simply put, this is a very overrated property unless you are looking for seclusion and some quite time!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKarumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.3 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
804 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
10.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Village Resort

Property: Kurumba Village Resort
Address: Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, The Nilgiris, Coonoor 643 102, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurumba Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kurumba Village Resort is located amidst a spice plantation of nutmeg, clove trees and pepper creepers surrounded by a tropical forests on all four sides. Luxury in the lap of nature is what we offer our guests at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kurumba Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Village Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing