We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heaven in earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurumba Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights, it was an amazing experience, encountered with two elephants in the wild for the first time in my life. The view from the restaurant was amazing, had great food, loved the desserts.

The swimming pool located between the valleys is an heaven in earth with the natural environment. Its a wonderful place for bird watching, saw 6-8 species of birds. Cave dining and tree top restaurant were great place to dine with the wild natural ambience.

The rooms were very well maintained, with an awesome view from balcony. Thank you Mr. Jyothish & his co-staffs for the wonderful hospitality, felt like being with my close friends.

Never miss this place in your life, if you love being with nature.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for choosing to be at kurumba village resort. We are truly happy that you have enjoyed the nature resorts experience. It is our firm belief that luxury need not mean luxurious rooms. For us luxury lies in the rich and authentic experience that transforms your holiday from just another to a memorable one. Thank you again for being with us and hope to see you back on your next trip.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 935 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is definitely the best destination I have been to , we have had the opportunity to live in a spice plantation that is surrounded by forests and then go and visit tea gardens. Wow this is un real .
Kurumba village is stunningly located with astounding cottages and a wonderful pool. I really enjoyed the food and specially the tea shop dining where we had tribal cuisine which was an experience and really delicious.
The games area was a lot of fun specially the pool table and yes please do not miss out on the spice plantation tour was superb .
We had taken the cottage near the waterfall and it had a fantastic view though it was quite a walk from the restaurant but well worth the effort .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for being with us. We are happy that you have enjoyed the resort, its architecture, the food, ambience and other amenities mentioned in the review. We try to ensure that every experience is as authentic as it can get. Thank you again for this review and hope to see you on your next trip to the nilgiris.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have been to Kurumba last weekend... Excellent destination for a weekend get away. A very ambient place with scenic views, nicely built cottages, sumptuous food and above all - totally customer focused staff. They took care of us very nicely. I wished to spend a day more(we spend 2 night, 3 days). We enjoyed a lot....

Room Tip: If you have elders, its advisable to stay at rooms near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaEnabled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for this great review. We are happy that your experience at kurumba village resort is truly positive. We appreciate the amazing compliment. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to nilgiris.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I am amazed to witness Kurumba Village Resort's concept of WISHINEERING (fulfilling guest's wish) by having a lunch at Bagasuran Hills which is app. 9000 feet high from sea level. The "TEA SHOP" set up literally brought back my childhood memories and I was inspired by the courteous services by the entire team of Kurumba. I could witness KARAGATTAM after 25 years in my life at Kurumba. Hats off to the entire team & management. My special thanks to GM Jyotish for helping me fix my car at the property itself and to name a few of Kurumba family : Srinivasan (modern Siddhar), Kaliappan, Murali Chettan, Babu, Vinod, Mari, Selvam, Chinna Kaliappan and Augustine having made my trip evergreen. I cannot express my wholesome experience through words. THANKS A TON KURUMBA !

Room Tip: If you wish to watch the rare bird species GREAT HORNBILL from your balcony, kindly opt for room no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mykurumbatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the resort and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes. It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

It's was a perfect holiday! To say it's not a hill station , it's down hill and is 35 km from Ooty. But the resort is placed downhill and best location .the view from the rooms just breathtaking! The resort is well maintained and clean. The staff are very courteous and the stay was just perfect.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Savitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in nilgiris, and we' would like to thank you for writing a spectacular review. We couldn't be happier to hear you had an extraordinary experience at our resort .We take great pride in what our resort has to offer, and we're thrilled you noticed all that we do. We will l make sure to let our entire team know of all the kind things you had to say.If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our resort please don't hesitate to contact us.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had really high hopes but were highly disappointed with the place. The resort by itself isn't bad. Pretty location, very clean, well maintained and courteous staff but, well...here are the buts

Location:
If you are looking to escape from the heat and want to go someplace cooler like Ooty or Coonoor, you are better off with any other hotel. This resort is a good 1-2 hour down hill from Ooty. It was as hot as it was in Bangalore.

If you are looking for some Ooty sightseeing, then again it is the same problem. On weekends the Ooty-Mettupalyam road gets really busy, the traffic is heavy and it takes more than an hour to get to the city. Not really ideal if you are travelling with a 2 year old or small kids.


Resort:
Most important thing, we were given cottage no. 115. It was a nice 15 min trek from the reception/restaurant/pool/games room area!!! The climb is difficult if you are with a kid who can't climb all the way up and is too heavy to be carried! So please ensure that you are given a cottage nearer to the main area if you are travelling with kids or the elderly.

The food is just okay, can be compared to a Dhaba but no where near to a 4 star resort. We have stayed in The Windlflower (Vythiri), for example, where the spread was huge, and food was awesome. The desserts were a major let down with really crappy ice cream and sub standard Indian sweets.

There is no mini refrigerator in the room! And no room service! and you have to climb 15 min uphill if you want cold water/drink or anything. I can understand the absence of minibar but in my opinion a resort which charges min of 10k per night should have a mini fridge.

The staff were courteous yes but most of them had a blank look when we requested for a room service! Kind of gave us the impression that they themselves were not very fond of climbing up and down to the rooms.
Overall its just an okay place, not value for money at all. You can stay at so many similar places which have a great view, better weather and of course better food.

Room Tip: Near to the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AkhilaBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ooty, the Kashmir of South India had always remained the favourite summer destination to me. Over the many hours of tryst with google, we shortlisted a couple of destinations and Kurumba could top the list with it’s tempting website that promised the perfect blend of natural setting and luxury. While the vacation plan took shape, mind took an involuntary recap of the colourful imprints that ooty had left on the pages of memory.
As the summer sun took the solstice, we started our journey after offering our prayers to Guruvayurappan.. We were enthusiastically chasing the signboards while swiftly cutting down miles. We got a bit disappointed as we saw the kurumba signboard right after the 4th hair pin. But it lasted only till we got down at the porch, which was more a green cove than a porch. As we climbed down the first set of stairs to reach the restaurant we realized why they took the decision to take a turn right at the 4th hair pin. We were right there on one of those dense green valleys amidst the wilderness where people would look at from the topmost point of Ooty, rigorously climbing all the hair pins. We realized how amazing it was to be right there, as another entity in the eco system than to just peak into it from the top.
Hunger had finished with all it’s alerts as we walked into the enticing aroma that drifted around. We were lost on the competition between Kurumba cuisine and the breath taking view of the valley on either sides. After the elaborate luncheon , we climbed down further to our cottage which was cosily nestled on another perch of the valley. It felt like a spice haven with huge nutmeg, cloves and pepper surrounding us, and a balcony where we could converse with the wild. We quickly settled with our luggage and ran to the pool which was beautifully set like a natural pond between two valleys. One can literally dive into the serenity of wilderness and swim away from the maddening rush of the outside world.
We received excellent service throughout the stay. Special thanks to the restaurant manager Murali who was keen that our kids had their course as well ! Despite serving delicious and diverse cuisine he ensured we enjoyed it.
We had a very great trekking experience with the guide and could spot an elephant.
The kids play area with the maid was a unique facility with much help !
The only thing we missed was a spa, which they told is under construction.
We bid adieu to Kurumba over a handshake agreeing to their tag line of ‘’you have to breathe the air of Kurumba to believe in it’’

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts

We at kurumba village resort, are honoured to have you stay with us.We are happy to know that your stay with us was excellent. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate your time you spent, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.3 mi away
Teanest
Teanest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
824 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
10.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Village Resort

Address: Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, The Nilgiris, Coonoor 643 102, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: $175 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurumba Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kurumba Village Resort is located amidst a spice plantation of nutmeg, clove trees and pepper creepers surrounded by a tropical forests on all four sides. Luxury in the lap of nature is what we offer our guests at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurumba Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Village Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing