We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurumba Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location.Excellent service. Nice ambience. Well maintained rooms. Very helpful staff. One with nature. Infact we extended our stay by a day.
Only bad experience for us was the Wiper blades of car getting stolen from the parking lot of the resort. So our drive back in rains was a big challenge. I wished that should not have happened.

But for that, an excellent experience.

Room Tip: I feel all rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaepy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts !!!

Thank you for visiting kurumba village resort . We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction.

I have noted the complaint regarding your car wiper, this is the first time such a thing has happened , we apologize for this oversight and shall make sure such an instance does not occur again.

I have also conveyed your feedback to our team and its been a great source of inspiration for them.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 959 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

The location is absolutely marvelous. If you want to be close to nature foregoing the routine luxuries of modern life, this is the place .Close your eyes. Imagine a spring with gushing waters running throughout, sound of birds chirping, sounds of crickets and the various shades of green of a virtual forest that nature has especially created for you.
Your idea of heaven?
Well, if you are at kurumba village, then you need not imagine this .. all you need to do is open the window and actually see all that you could have imagined ....and more!
Wonderfully woven into the natural habitat are lovely cottages and rooms so beautifully done that it seems to be an extension of nature itself!
Now throw in a welcoming, hospitable staff, authentic Kerala cuisine and a smattering of North Indian food and you will have an idea as to what heaven may have in store for you!
A bit over the top, you may say, but seeing is believing!.. if your idea of fun is to laze around , slowly walk around admistt thick vegetation, walk along specially crafted pathways of stone, woven into the natural surroundings, with the company of some birds, crickets and the monkeys in the dining area and hence spending some quality time with the family, then this is a must visit for you!

A special word about the people; starting from the GM, the reception staff, the housekeeping and dining room staff, all of them seem to be specially trained to smile and serve . Catch the senior staff at their "time off" and you will also have a small history of the place, how the resort developed.. We had our one and a half year old kid with us and she has a penchant for feeding the floor with double the food that actually ends up in her stomach!.. and you will understand why i have reserved a special mention for the helpfulness of the dining staff.

Room Tip: room with the jacuzzi is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Sir/madam,

greetings from nature resorts !!!

It is an honor for the team at kurumba village resort, to know that we have succeeded in our endeavor to provide travelers a home away from home. Thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our resort.

You mentioned many great things in your review! We definitely appreciate that! We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a kind review. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our resorts, please don't hesitate to contact us.


Warm regards,


kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want to just relax and have a great time with family and loved ones...Kurumba Village Resort will definitely meet your expectations. The USP of this resort is its location...and when i say location....i mean the breath-taking location. The resort rooms are well maintained with all the balcony facing the open valley in front and the staff is cordial and always ready to help. Dont miss the swimming pool at this resort..it is one of the best pool view I have ever seen or witnessed. A pool that opens up to the lovely valley and mountains with sound of birds chirping around. Also, take a walk around the resort to witness the lovely spice plantations (Nutmeg, Clove, Cinnamon, Bay leaf, pepper and the rare one-Vanilla). The resort also has a good number of flowering plants and trees. The budget meals at the Restruant is very good and has a good variety to chose from. Do try the local cusuine. The resort organises treks from the resort every day depending on needs and also help you get around to tourist places.... Awesome place...Just pack and treat yourself a memorable stay at the Kurumba.

Room Tip: Try to take the room on the top section of the resort....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViswanathG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in our resort for another memorable holiday.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Dear tripadvisor , stayed at this superb resort for three days from the sixth of oct till the 9th. Arriving here had come with high expectations since id stayed earlier for a fortnight at the taj savoy at ooty and i can say that everything which we experienced here starting from the ease of booking, the very polite manner in which we were welcomed at the reception, the ever ready smiles and genuine warmth of resort manager at the hotel from the housekeeping staff to the restaurant, the pool attendants, etc. cant name anyone in particular since i would be doing a disservice to all those whose names ive forgotten since each and everyone got together to make this holiday the best we ever had, childrens been asking when we do we go back since we came back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushparaj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our resort.

You spared no small detail in your review! We definitely appreciate that! We receive a lot of compliments on our beautifully crafted atmosphere. From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how wonderful our team was. We consider ourselves very fortunate to work with such amazing people. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll definitely make sure to share your kind words with everyone here.

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again in any one of the nature resort properties.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our experience at Kurumba was excellent.. This resort is located right in the middle of the spice forest and surrounded by hills. The restaurant view overlooking the mountains and small waterfalls is excellent. The service is very good and would recommend it to anyone travelling with family or friends. The resort rates includes the 3 meals of the day as well as some light snacks in the afternoon. It also provides trekking in the forests with some minor additional rates(Rs300) per head. It also has a clubhouse as well as a swimming pool. However it doesn't have spa which could be added to make the experience more relaxing with massages :) I would like to however suggest the resort to improve on the taste of food as south indian taste might not work well in some of the north indian dishes

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devangi_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for leaving a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in the Nilgiris. We couldn't be happier to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our resort.

We realize that one of the most important aspects of a resort is the ambience and service . We take great pride in our comfortable accommodations. Your recomondation is very much appreciated. We want to thank you for adding that to your review.

We'd also like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a fantastic review. Please know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I went along with my family and we had a relaxing experience very close to nature. The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and polite. I was also impressed when the staff spoke highly of the owner of the resort.

I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a perfect place to relax with your family.

****Don't miss the tea & the snacks at the tea shop :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Midcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We thank you very much for taking out time to post your review on tripadvisor for your recent stay at the kurumba village resort!
We strive to give the best service to all our guests and it makes us joyous we exceeded your expectations.
You have covered all aspects of your stay, and we appreciative your kind words about our service and team members. It is always immensely motivating to our team when valuable guests like yourself take time out and acknowledge the same.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to nature resorts on your next visit.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our experience at Kurumba begin badly - the sign board indicating the way to the resort is very small and we missed it and had to drive back about 2-3 kms in narrow road with hairpin bends - not easy at all. Then we discovered that the water in the geyser would not heat up and the water in the tap was brown in color. We were told it was because of the rains the previous night. We skipped bath that day as we had already bought tickets to for the Nilgiri express. Thankfully, the manager changed our room that evening and we got hot water. But it was still muddy. The quality of the food is average - clean but not tasty. For 9k per night the amenities were inadequate - no mineral water - just plain water bottled in a glass bottles. The location of the resort is stunning but at 9k the service level falls woefully short. In all of this, the manager tried his best but there was only so much he could do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vindhya_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

dear madam,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at kurumba village resort
we are glad that you enjoyed certain aspects of the property like the ambience and staff etc. Yes we do acknowledge that the resort is a bit far away from the main road, but is mainly due to this that the resort has such an amazing ambience and feel to it. i would like to inform you, that since we practise responsible tourism we try our best to keep the damage to ecology and nature to the bare minimum, keeping this in mind we serve mineral water in the glass bottles , thus reducing the use of plastic bottles.We are really sorry for the service rendered which was not up to your expectations. This is not typical of our staff or resort. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and our eager to create a positive experience for you.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
3.6 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Teanest
Teanest
#2 of 12 in Coonoor
456 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
10.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Village Resort

Address: Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, The Nilgiris, Coonoor 643102, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: $181 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurumba Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kurumba Village Resort is located amidst a spice plantation of nutmeg, clove trees and pepper creepers surrounded by a tropical forests on all four sides. Luxury in the lap of nature is what we offer our guests at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kurumba Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Village Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing