We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurumba Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent place to stay where the service is very good. It is a place where you are so attached to the nature with excellent view of hills. Also the rooms are well cleaned. The customer service is too good. The food there is like homely food and delicious. Because of this iam visiting the place 3rd time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanju545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resort !!!

We are very grateful for your review complimenting the services and facilities of our resort. It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory services contributed towards your stay experience..

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time for all our guests.

We certainly look forward in welcoming you back to our resort for another memorable holiday.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    225
    46
    7
    8
See reviews for
462
264
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Kurumba village resort is located on the way from Mettupalayam to Ooty, the board would be on the left side and its easy to miss. Once left turn there is a sharp descent and then a tight turn. Kind advise go slow in first gear as its easy to lose traction. The reception and staff were extremely kind and restaurant is located on stilts and offers fabulous views of a ravine and a brook. The rooms are located down the stairs as cottages present in each level. If you have senior citizens please mention before booking. One thing it let's you know is what bad lifestyle we were leading as we were out of our breath each time we ventured out, as the room we stayed was located four levels down, so we had to climb 50 plus stairs for our breakfast, lunch, coffee, dinner. Highly recommended and fabulous stay. They also provide spice tour which is very informative. At night we could hear elephant noises we were told later six to seven elephants had come very close and the resort has posted security who maintain round the night vigil.


Pros
Location. Food. Ambience. Excellent photographic opportunities so if you are a avid photographer play bring your SLR. Infinity pool is awesome. Good value for money. Fixed menu lunch and dinner.

Cons
Approach road. Can be a physically demanding if your rooms are located downhill.
Monkeys (but what do expect it's a jungle afterall)
One has to walk and trek for food.

Room Tip: Senior citizens request rooms in a higher level. Check for the pool availability as they were clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achtung78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
dear sir,


greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the resort and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was excellent and the overall quality of service and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectations. We are certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and we wish in extending the warm nature resorts hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a perfect place for hangout for couples.The beauty of valley is unbelievable.very good food and privacy.must visit the place in year end so that u can enjoy the perfect climate.cottages are of peculiar type and are maintained well.infinity pool is another attraction and dont miss the special tea shop above the pool.Good service and good value for money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arundars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

we are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. Please do come back to stay with us the next time in Nilgiris, we will love to see you again and would love to create some more unforgettable memories for yourself.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am a frequent traveler. have visited quite a few places. this experience will be kept in my top 10 list of best resorts and hotels.
the food was amazing, and the tree top candle light dinner, just blew me away. just amazing...
all that for an amazing rate. just toooo goood.
already recommended all my friends. i would recommend anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing stay with hill views, pleasant climate and mouth watering food. kudoos to the malayali chef who was with us for the tree top candle light dinner. not only did he cook food but also gave us a good idea of what he is making, which made the food even tastier.

The only con i found - is the entrance to the hotel. its too narrow and there is only one board. i asked about it to the staff and they said the way is Forest property and the boards hurt animals.

Either ways its highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the suites with jacuzzi, rooms are much bigger and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aashiq2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
dear sir,


greetings from nature resorts !!!

Thank you for being with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your
stay. The tree top dining experience in the untouched plantations is
something that we started recently. It is a great way to offer some
priceless romantic moments to your loved ones in an affordable price tag.

Chef Murali is a star and an important member of the nature resorts family.
It is important for our people to connect with the guests and what Mr
Murali has done is a fine example of how it is done. I thank you again and
hope to see you back at one of nature resorts properties very soon.

thanking you

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lejre, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This resort has a fantastic location on the slopes of the Nilgiris in an old spice plantation. It consists of bungalows, each containing two flats, scattered on the slope and connected with paths. So it's very quiet and you may have to walk some distance to get to the restaurant, but the path takes you through clove and nutmeg trees, cardamom bushes and pepper creepers, so to me that's pretty fantastic. The flats are big and very nice. Outside our window we spotted a giant squirrel. Didn't check the telly or the internet if any. The food was really good and the service really friendly. Now, there are some hairpin turns on the road above, and you honk going into one of those, so that's a part of being there. Do check out the treks and the treetop dining hut.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

It is an honour for the team at kurumba village resort, to know that we
have succeeded in our endeavor to provide our guest a fabulous stay.

Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory
and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure
in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable and
relaxing experience. For your kind information we are having free Wi-Fi
connectivity in the lobby.

We are looking forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity
to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

With my style of keeping my reviews short......

Pros -

1) Amazingly maintained resort
2) Helpful staff
3) Beautiful views
4) Tree top dining - Absolute must as its more than money's worth
5) I can go on and on

Cons -
1) The food menu was literally the same for the 2 days we stayed. But, I was educated as to why it's like that.... The reason is that the resort uses its own spices and vegetables got from its plantation to provide the authentic south indian taste.. They want to preserve the individuality in this matter and I think the customers visiting should respect that.
2) None else

Special mention -

1) Ms. Preerna from Reservations desk for arranging everything for our stay
2) The executive chef of the resort who's name I am forgetting for the amazing food he cokked for me and wife during our tree top dining time.
3) The front desk people who sent a person to give me back my hard disk and my wife diamond nose ring which we had forgotten in our room when we checked out.

Conclusion -

1) If you wish to forget all the world's worries and relax at peace at a place which will give your money's worth , this is the place..... Wish I could go here every month :-(

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for Jacuzzi room, the extra money is worth spending!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgsiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share
your experience with Trip advisor.

it's a matter of happiness to note you enjoyed our greenery and it's a
haven of flora and fauna. We want our guest to unwind in the forest like
ambience and we always try to make the stay most pleasant. We are also
delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and
that you immensely enjoyed THE TREE TOP DINING. We will love to see you
again and help you create some unforgettable NATURE RESORT memories.

regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at this resort during April 2013 on the last leg of our South India tour. We travelled from Ooty to Coonoor on the infamous train and were picked up on time by the hotel cab. Be prepared for a 45-60 min journey from the station to this resort because, well, its in the middle of a jungle..Literally! Also the road that takes us from the highway to the resort was in the worst condition it could be. The check-in wasn't a problem but we were given a cottage which was as far away as one could be from the reception(and the pool). The cottage size was decent and the bathroom was bigger than usual. Cottages are made in a pair so it was perfect for our family. The infinity pool turned out to be a unique experience not because of the pool but because of the monkeys roaming around (wild but not dangerous). However you should note that there was no attendant around the pool area. We were supposed to go on a spice plantation trip but it got cancelled because it rained :( The lunch was under a large wooden canopy , open on 3 sides into the jungle so that was pretty unique too. The food was good and the staff friendly and courteous. They had a tambola game in the evening by the pool which was fun. Also we were served complimentary chaat which was pretty sweet of the resort. All in all it was a completely new and unique experience and should be completely worth your money(especially if you have young kids around and/or are in a group ).

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage near the reception unless you want to lose some kilos !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikhar_joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts !!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the resort and we are most
thankful for your valuable feedback.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was excellent and the overall
quality of service and facilities at the resort measured up to your
expectations. We have taken the liberty to communicate your feedback to our
entire team at the resort. We are certain this will serve as a source of
inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending
the warm nature resorts hospitality and great stay experience that we
always strive to deliver.

regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
3.6 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 11 in Coonoor
788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 11 in Coonoor
405 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
1.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
9.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Village Resort

Property: Kurumba Village Resort
Address: Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, The Nilgiris, Coonoor 643 102, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurumba Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kurumba Village Resort is located amidst a spice plantation of nutmeg, clove trees and pepper creepers surrounded by a tropical forests on all four sides. Luxury in the lap of nature is what we offer our guests at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kurumba Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Village Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing