We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool hotel in cool surroundings”
Review of Velan Hotel Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velan Hotel Ritz
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Coimbatore, India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“cool hotel in cool surroundings”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Conoor is the Tea Hub of South India and is situated in the Ooty Hills. Unlike Ooty, the weather of Ooty is not very cool, but is pleasant. Velan Hotel is one of the best choice for a budget tourist to Conoor & Ooty, particulary for one who wants to be away from the crowded environment of ooty but wants to enjoy the calm and silent nature. Quality of food is OK, rooms are affordable by the budget tourist.

Room Tip: any room is ok, but better to avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARLITHAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    14
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I did not stay in the property but had come to lunch here.

Location

The property is located on Bedford road connecting Bedford circle to Orange Grove Road. In short it is perfect to accessing activities on both the sides of upper coonoor. It may be too cut off for some likings especially if you like to venture out in the nights, as the road does not have street lighting. Please carry a torch if you so desire.

General look and feel of the property

The property is immense one can almost compare the size with the Gateway hotel also on bedford. However, the new owners seem to have turned a blind eye to property maintenance. Peeling walls, smelly toilets, chipped and broken furniture / upholstery. Conversely, this property has the best maintained lawns and garden in Coonoor, apparently they have a green thumb or a extra sincere gardener. Anyways, one does not stay in a garden.

Restaurant

Soiled cutlery, table clothes and emptiness welcomed us when we arrived at 1 PM. There was a waiter on duty who had possibly only joined service earlier the day as he had no clue as to what items were on menu and how long it will take to prepare them. As we were famished, we called for some fried rice with some gravy and gobbled them up double fast. The pricing was a revelation, just 100 Rupees for a main course item. The restaurant did not have change to return me and they had to request another patron to chip in. This was all amazing for me.

Kids area

They have a decent kid play area that will keep tiny tots engaged.

In short, I hope the owners of Velan are reading this. Please look after your property, you will have an outstanding proposition with just a little bit of effort and money, do not turn this into a dump.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dethace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuticorin, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had stayed here seven years back and it was good that time.

Now it is badly maintained.
The property is good though.
There is a large lawn behind the hotel.
But a large number of stray dogs with their poo on the lawns.
If you are not careful you will step on them!

The rooms are huge with a large balcony.
The rooms smell though.
The toilets are not good, small and smelly.

Car park is big.

Food was good earlier, but on the day I stayed the restaurant was closed since the cook was on leave.

Will never stay here again unless I hear that the management has made changes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaiviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coonoor hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We checked into Velan to see nice and clean rooms with in built heater which was obviously NOT WORKING. The Rooms are clean and neatly maintained with a TV. There is panoramic and picturesque view of the surrounding hills and area through balcony.

The food prepared is with stale vegetables and we had to cancel our order... I think because there are no too many customers.

In the city of cold 12 months a year, there is no 24 hour hot water facility. There is absence of water heater in the rooms. However hot water timings are 6-10am. Rest of the time the room service provides hot water in buckets.

We got locked inside the room because of poor maintenance of the door locks.

Room Tip: Take rooms with a balcony to the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niranjan_M_Wagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Hi I had been recently to this place. The location is about 20 KMs from Ooty. Let me tell you some good part

Plusses +
1. Hotel location is good as it is typically facing the valley as most of the hotels are built.
2. There is ample parking space and good security
3. Food is OK OK although it could have been much less expensive. [ but i give them this point considering the location and sheer standard.


Minus (-)

1. Cleanliness : - The hotel is not clean as we expected to be. I could see cobwebs in my room. The Window glass could have been clean. Dogs shitting all over the lawn and you are fearing of treaddin gon the poopies. The Reception is OK but not really something that you can look forward to. No sweepind done in the mornings for prior days dinner leftovers.

2. Service - The Service is OK . We had to call for Phone repairs , Light bulbs changes etc etc each day.

3. Food - Foods quality was good but very expensive. Buffet for 1 per = RS.250/- . Compared to the quality and variety of items on the list it was Not great valud for money.+ no A La Carte

4. No taxi service - No guide / no taxi service for local sightseeing.

In short you can choose this hotel in case there are no other alternatives available in coonoor and ooty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabodh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Good Things about the hotel:

1. Located at fairly good place. No noise, Wel maintained flower garden & open area.
2. Spacious Rooms & Large size beds.
3. Food tastes good and hygenic.
4. Staff is polite.

Bad Things about the hotel:

1. Rooms are not properly maintained, Pillows on the chairs are may be of 10 years old and stinking, Furniture is very old. All the carridar walls are with lot of mud marks.
2. No proactiveness in providing the basic stuff atleast, No drinking water was provided on check-in, Did follow-up several times just for drinking water & extra bed (though booked in advance through online).
3. Room Service boy has entered into the room with mud shoes.
4. Though the food is good, options for dinner are limited. They have simply arranged buffet for dinner (with out prior notice, 250 + tax per person) and asked every one to go for that. If we do not want take the buffet, we need to request (rather urge) the front office folks to prepare food.
5. You will not get any information broucher from these guys to visit the nearest tourist spots.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svemuri1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Not much choice of good hotels if you want to stay in Coonoor so had to go for this one.

First problem was actually making a reservation as zero response to emails, faxes or booking requests made on their website. Whoever is responsible for this needs re- training in how to run a hotel as never have I had such poor response from any hotel or lower grade accomodation any where in the world. Had to phone and then told that the booking had already been made so asked for a confirmation email. Still did not get this so a few weeks later phoned again and only then did I get my confirmation, I had nearly given up and they must lose customers due to this.

On arrival the place appeared to be totally empty and during our 2 night stay very few rooms were occupied even though this was peak season. The appearance of the reception area is drab and the corridor leading to our room and the restaurant were dark, with dirty, worn out, badly fitting carpet.

Room not too bad but bathroom not up to same standard as the room.

We thought previous reports about renovations being carried out would mean that it would now be ok however we were wrong. It could and should be an exceptionally good hotel but it just needs a decent management to market it better so they get more guests that would then generate the income to keep the decoration in good order.

The restaurant overlooks a very well kept garden, it was very good and we had excellent meals and service. This changed when we had to use room service for one meal when told restaurant was closed for a private function - but that busy lunchtime function ended some hours earlier and no reason at all why we could not eat in the restaurant. Again lack of care for customers.

During this stay we just had the impression that the hotel management do not care about and do not want ordinary hotel guests. We assume they are only interested in conferences and weddings.

This is such a shame as with very little input this could be a great hotel recommended by everyone, instead we have to say it is average for India the same as other reviewers.

Only when satisfied that the management care about hotel guests could we recommend it to others

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coonoor hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vivek
Hotel Vivek
#9 of 12 in Coonoor
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
0.9 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velan Hotel Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velan Hotel Ritz

Property: Velan Hotel Ritz
Address: Bedford, Coonoor 643102, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velan Hotel Ritz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Velan Hotel Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Coonoor
Coonoor Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing