We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity redefined” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tea Nest
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity redefined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I wanted to getaway from all the noise and clutter in Bangalore and after one quick search on Tripadvior we zeroed in on Tea Nest in Coonoor. This quaint place is located smack in the middle of tea estates and is very close to all of the major tourist attractions in Coonoor (if they are on your agenda).

We had pre-booked the room (Chamomile) and the entire process was hassle free. Barring the first call to check availability everything else was done over email. Shaalini from Kurumba Village (they run Tea Nest as well) was extremely responsive to all of our queries.

From the welcome drink and right up to preparing the bill when we checked out we were pampered through and through. The facility and the room was well maintained and clean and there was always someone on hand to tend to any request. The facility does not feature a restaurant in the traditional sense but you could order from the room service menu and be assured of fresh and tasty food. You will however need to intimate them about dinner and lunch preference in advance so that the food can be prepared and served at a time of your choosing. Do try out the Tea menu, it is really refreshing. The dessert is phenomenal.

I would really like to recognise the all the people involved in running the facility, especially Vishwanathan. Vishwanathan is perhaps the most helpful person I have come across in a long time. He ensures that all your needs are met and also has interesting bits of information that will make your stay and travel a little more fun.

Its a great place for a quick getaway and also for families who want to spend some quality time.

Room Tip: While the entire property is extremely peaceful, if you want that added sense of privacy pick Chamom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parik_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teanest, General Manager at Tea Nest, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

thank you very much for your wonderful review ,It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm and professional service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the nature resorts way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay. We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm nature resort hospitality.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    119
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
164
121
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We selected this place based on trip advisor reviews and I feel it's remarkable short holiday destination. One can easily do a roadtrip as we did from Chennai. If you start by 4am we can reach by lunchtime. The property offers three types of rooms.
First type are located in the main bungalow (Historic place) and there are around 5 to 6 rooms.
Advantages you have a common hall with television and a library.
Disadvantage if there are more families with children it Can get very noisy
Second type is located separately in the rear end of the same building has its own fireplace and highly recommended.
Third type requires you go climb down a fleet of stairs can be chosen for large families as it has a lovely kitchenette.

Pros. Lovely views as its located amidst tea gardens.
Tea menu is a seven course meal with key ingredient that is tea leaves.
Staff were extremely friendly.
Bison lazing around.
Cons. Located little interior to Conoor town.
Youll need your own car as all local sightseeing places are closeby.
Can be little pricey

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank achtung78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teanest, General Manager at Tea Nest, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the home stay. We trust the nature resorts charm will attract you again soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality.

warm regards

tea nest team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you visit Conoor you must book yourself at Tea Nest for an exotic and the most delicious Tea Lunch along with Tea Tasting. The host/ manager gave us the tea tasting and explained all the different varieties of tea and its origin. He was very gracious and a fantastic host.

Each dish that was prepared was made with perfect taste and presented beautifully. The flavours were simply awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teanest, General Manager at Tea Nest, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to pen down such a wonderful review for us. We are also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered by Mr Vinod will be shared with him. We will love to see you again and would love to create some unforgettable memories for yourself. Thank you for your patronage with the nature resorts

warm regards

tea nest team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is part of a tea estate, with the plantation across the street from the building. It is maybe five minutes drive from the city, and a few minutes to attractions like Dolphin's and Lamb's points and Sims park. A short walk down the street will offer excellent views of the plains.

Rooms are clean, and a good value for money. Food is good and wholesome.

One thing to improve on is the promptness in service. You will need multiple reminders to the staff if you need something out of the routine. However, this is offset by their friendliness and willingness to help out, so no complaints in the end.

I possible, ask for the room adjacent to the building, Chamomile IIRC, which is away from foot traffic of other guests and has a nice sit-out plus a bigger bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RbS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teanest, General Manager at Tea Nest, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at tea nest, coonoor

I have shared your feedback with regard to the promptness in service with our tea nest team and I am sure you will notice a difference on your next stay with us.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon in any one of the nature resort properties.


thanking you

warm regards

teanest team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had very good experience in Tea neat, it was really pleasure to stay... Location is awesome right in between the nature.. Rooms are very good.. Service is excellent.. This hotel is value for money..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Srikanth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teanest, General Manager at Tea Nest, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read
your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all
levels .We take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback
On the places to improve. I once again thank you for your patronage with the NATURE
RESORTS.

regards

tea nest resort team
Our team wishes to welcome you back at the nature resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We landed here on our 2nd trip to Ooty, and booked it after going through reviews in here on trip Advisor. As usual the reviews turned out to be true face of this place.

This is a Medium sized bunglow located in a tes Estate (Called Singara Estate which itself is 1800 Acres). This property has 6 rooms, so will never be a crowded one.

Positives:
1> The Lawn area has some amazing views, from the dusk to the dawn.
2> Lush Greenery and pin drop silence (This was one of the best sleep i had in few months).
3> In house service is good and complimentary breakfast was also good.
4> Thanks to Vinod for assisting us in a mini tour of tea estates and answering all our queries.

Negatives:

1> Location can be a problem if you dont have your own drive.
2> No WIFI and weak mobile signals in rooms.

Will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: For privacy lovers choose chamolie
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you want to be in the lap of nature, in the middle of a Tea Estate & wish to be in solitide, then Tea nest is the place for you! The place is away from Conoor town & the first thing that strikes you is the grenery around!
The main complex comprises of a huge living room which has few books & indoor games & also has 5 rooms. The dining area is also in the main complex. The view is excellent on the front of the complex & once can order food out in the open also.
The rooms are very comfortable & are neat & clean.I stayed in the Cottage called "Jasmine" & it was big with a seperate living room & a walk in closet along with a non functional kitchen. This room is slightly away from the main complex. The entire places gives you a very warm feeling.
The manager, Vinod, is very Hospitable & took good care of us. We attended the Tea tasting Session organised by Vinod which was a great insite to the business of TEA!
Food is excellent & very tasty! One should definately try the 6 course Tea Infused Menu which costs Rs 500 per person & is a total value for money & is very very nice!
Not much to do around the Estate but one can walk or drive down to the Donphin's nose or go to the Conoor Main town.
The only negetive point that i can think of is the language barrier & the service... besides the manager, no one speaks good English or Hindi so if you only know English/ Hindi then god help you!! You order one thing & you get another. Perhaps the staff should be increased to cater to the guests, but this was a very minor thorn in the entire stay at the Resort.
Oveall an excellent & a lovely stay.

Driving Tip
For visitors who are driving down from Banglore/ Mysore, please note that the journey from Mudumalai to Ooty consists of 36 Hairpin Bends which are very steep. If one is returning back from Ooty enroute to Bangalore/ Mysore on a weekend ( which most of us do on a Sunday) do note that one is NOT allowed to go back (down)via the Hair pin bend road on a weekend due to heavy rush of traffic. The cops stationed will not let you pass through & one needs to take an alternate route which is 28 kms long & takes appx an hour and a half but mind you this road needs repair, However there are 2 points on this alternate route which has a fabulous view so one will not mind taking this alternate route.

Room Tip: Jasmine & Golden Tips have seperate Living areas therefore good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secondcomming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
2.9 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
0.9 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.5 mi away
Hotel Vivek
Hotel Vivek
#8 of 10 in Coonoor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kurumba Village Resort
Kurumba Village Resort
#2 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Nest

Property: Tea Nest
Address: Singara Estate, Coonoor 643 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Nest revolves around the concept of tea. There are 6 rooms, namely lemon, green, silver tips, golden tips, chamomile, jasmine - all are names of different teas. All rooms have a working fireplace of their own. There is a large sitting room with a cozy fireplace which provides a quiet escape to read or maybe play a board game. The mansion is surrounded by tea gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tea Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing