We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Destination to Unwind and Relax”
Review of Tea Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tea Nest
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Destination to Unwind and Relax”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at this place along with my wife to celebrate my anniversary. I chose their anniversary package for 4N and 5D after considering reviews from T.A. and i should say it was the best decision to choose this place. This property is far more beautiful than the professional photos or any other photos posted in TA.

Situated around 4 KM from the busy coonoor town in the heart of Singara Tea Estate, this place is a heavenly experience with the picturesque landscape and lush greenery. Highly recommended for people who love absolute peace and privacy. Initially even i found the absence of TV sets in the rooms as strange. But that can surely be a nuisance considering the peace around this place. At night its extremely quiet and yet you can feel very safe here.

Special mention about the Manager, Mr Vinod. He is a gem of a person. very courteous and always willing to assist the guests. He made the stay absolutely comfortable and memorable. The food served is very tasty, they can cook almost any dish you like. The only concern being the menu priced on a little higher end.
I would like to recommend the Hotel to kindly design a MAP plan rather than an B&B.

Holistically, its a superb destination. Would definately visit again with my entire family.

Room Tip: Jasmine room and Chamomile rooms are huge, detached from other rooms and offer more privacy. Persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jagdish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    136
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
212
139
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love tea and I was excited about tea nest initially just because of the name, I didn't know what to expect though.
We were very pleased to be out of the main town of Coonoor - which was rather congested - and the drive up to the property was lovely. But the highlight was walking in, as soon as you walk in the view is breathtaking! You really feel like you've dropped into a dream of some kind - the view is of the tea estates and the Nilgiris in the background - it's difficult to describe actually.
We arrived at lunchtime and had a 'tea menu' meal - 7 courses of various food infused with tea - some of the dishes were really fabulous - like the tea sorbet and the pasta infused with tea!
The rooms are wonderfully cozy, with fireplaces and real old-world appeal...
The staff is really sweet and helpful and you just feel really like you never want to leave when you're there.
Apart from the beautiful location the hotel itself is so charming - the way it's done, in terms of the decor and the way they have tried to maintain and restore an old property. Love, love, love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nekshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Tea Nest for a night. The location is unbelievably serene, right in the lap of rolling tea gardens with great 360 degree views, including spectacular views of mountain ranges and rolling clouds and sounds of nature.

Pro's : 1) Quiet, peaceful and very non-touristy location. 2) Great sense of hospitality, the manager and his staff were interested to make our stay memorable. 3) Away from the din. We saw herds of Bisons(Indian Gaur) passing through the tea gardens near tea nest(the property is well protected though!). I was told this is almost a daily thing in the evenings. 4) Rosemary Tea, which they give as welcome drink was refreshing.

Cons : 1) We had 3 meals there....2 were good and one was unbelievably lousy....both the dishes we ordered had little resemblance to what it should taste like...the menu card is quite elaborate and i wasnt sure if they can really get us anything on the menu...my fears just came true at dinner. This could be because it is a new setup. 2) The staff and whoever else kept talking loudly from outside the kitchen area and the voices carry over to the rooms in the main building and it was irritating at times, especially since the place is so quiet. This happened in afternoon, evening and morning. 3) If you are looking for activities within the property, there isnt much to do other than sacking out with the terrific views and treking in the tea gardens. 4) Their website mentions fireplace in all the rooms. While the foreplace is there, they didnt lit the one in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manoj_V_Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 2nts and fall in love with this property with gr8 view. Very peaceful stay . All staff is well behaved . Highlight of this place the food , its so yummy .......it can beat any resort in the world. I cant imagine Dhai bhat and karela fry will be so tasty. 7 course Tea Menu dinner is must for 1st time travellers.

Lots of birds around , its a home vernal hanging parrot. Rooms i like Lemon , Jasmin and chamomile. Chamomile room is perfect for honeymooners and bird watchers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnandNarvekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a three day stay at Tea Nest and I must say it is one of our best family vacations ever. Coonoor in general, and Singara estate specifically are blessed with abundance of natural beauty. The view from the patio is breathtaking, and the first expression of all of us were: “Wow! Are we going to stay here for the next three days?”.

Our instructions to the place was flawless with the staff on the telephone from Bedford until we reached Tea Nest. We had a very warm welcome with a nice tea. Vinod and the staff were extra-ordinarily cordial, treated us with impeccable service and had a personal touch in attending to our needs. The food was great and we just loved the nicely appointed rooms which were named after different varieties of tea.

They are in the initial setup phase but the timely service ensures that you are left with nothing to complain – it is truly a home away from home. We are sure to go back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinSoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful 3-day stay at the Tea Nest. The welcome was great and the service during the stay was warm and had a personal touch. The rooms were nicely appointed - save glass doors for the bathroom and a big window from the bathroom into the outside corridor. The hotel is well inside a tea plantation and was a good starting point for walks. We were lucky to witness the local wildlife in the plantation (a couple of large gaur!).

A couple of things that could have helped... Directions to this place were terrible. As it is, driving around in a hill station is difficult. Without good directions, we were lucky to find the place. Second... the food was a little too spicy even after we specified that we wanted the spice to be toned down. However, the food was absolutely great! One could see that it was made with natural ingredients.

I will go there again! Just need to find a few good restaurants in Coonoor and Ooty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovilkalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Choosing this property was the easiest, being a Tea Lover & Coonoor always held sweet....sad memories for me. This new bungalow was easy to locate with apt online location directions by Vinod , who was at the gate with a smiling face to receive us & that smile stayed till the time we left the place the next day...!!!Welcome Drink was Chamomile organic tea & we were led to our room..Each of the 6 Rooms are named after diff varieties of Tea...Rooms are basic value for money, with all the basic amenities. Bathroom was nice & had toilteries of Tea flavour..!!! Food & service was the highlight of the trip , oh not to forget the "Wild Bison" herds which tramples through the valley area , inbetween two Tea estates...Vinod , incharge of Tea Nest , is a person , who can outsmart any of the trained 5 Star Butlers ..just comes in at the right time to serve & look upon us..If you are the type , who loves to have a drink or two in the evenings , which is absolutely magical , sitting outside in the cold weather & being served Hot appetizers along with your drinks/wines..They are still in their initial start up phase , so do not expect great room decor / furniture..believe me , ones forgets all of this with their food & service levels. Next visit is going to be a longer stay for sure.

Room Tip: Loved Chamomile & also there is a seperate room with a lawn &kitchenette.Ideal for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
2.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
1.1 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
7.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Nest

Property: Tea Nest
Address: Singara Estate, Coonoor 643 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Nest revolves around the concept of tea. There are 8 rooms, namely lemon, green, silver tips, golden tips, chamomile, jasmine, lemon grass & hibiscus- all are names of different teas. All rooms have a working fireplace of their own. There is a large sitting room with a cozy fireplace which provides a quiet escape to read or maybe play a board game. The mansion is surrounded by tea gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tea Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing