We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint reminder of a time gone by!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2010

The hotel is set in modest but pleasant lawned gardens, overlooking the town of Coonoor. It takes some finding if your Driver isn't a local, and is set a fair distance above the town centre, (but then there's not much to see really!).

The reception, dining room and terrace are all modestly colonial, and the staff are very polite and helpful. We were greeted with flower garlands which was sweet! We enjoyed the evening buffet very much, (though it isn't available every night), and tea on the terrace is also pleasant.

We had an upstairs suite, which was spacious and well provided with amenities - the bathroom was clean and modern, and there were two wide-screen TV's - one in the bedroom and one in the lounge area. our only gripes would be that the carpet neede replacing and the rooms don't have private access to a balcony or view, so they are a bit dark.

We would certainly stay here again if we stayed in Coonoor, though we might try its sister hotel , The Savoy in Ooty another time - the breakfast there was also good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

We went there on a 2 night break away from the hot summer. Enjoyed the drive and the place. Not a whole lot of choice food wise, but attentive and courteous staff in all areas.
Lawns and other ares could do with some sprucing up, but that did not spoil our holiday in any way. Stayed in a standard room and had a look at other rooms which were bigger than ours. Air circulation is an issue...there was an exhaust fan which was too noisy to leave on in the night. The fan made it too cold.
Would love to give back and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

After numerous stays in Ooty, we wanted to explore a new property in the twin town of Coonor which is just about 10 miles from Ooty. We drove down to this home stay kind of hotel which has been branded and refurnished as a hill hotel with wooden interiors and exteriors. This property was as it seems an erstwhile hill bungalow with numerous cottages and these have been very remotely refurnished to adhere to some level of standards that Taj exhuberates.
The property is a small walk from the middle of the Coonor market and the service is a little slacky. The rooms are not very great but has some wonderful views of the garden and the hills. The food is average but nothing of great delight.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for New years eve and new years day.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are very large and amenities are excellent.

The restaurant provides good food and service.

The staff at Taj Coonoor is really exceptional. They go out of their way to accomodate and please you.

The scenery at the hotel is exceptional. The gardens are well kept.
we had a very nice garden party with fire lighted.

The housekeeping and restaurant staff is superior than other 4-5 star hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dharmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Spent a wonderful vacation all covered up by mushy clouds and soaking in the rain...and then warming up to a fireplace. It was very good experiance to stay at The Gateway Hotel Coonoor

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dileep11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I have came here to stay here for a marriage. The marriage was held in CSI church and the reception was at Gateway Hotel,Conoor. It has the tremendous scenery. We had a great food and reception was too good. I planned to keep my marriage here and reception in Coimbatore Residency.

The way they presented the food was good. The food is so tasty. Icecreams, Curry and many more. Hotel accomodation is too good.

The beauty of Hotel kills the heart of the person. Its an everlasting experience

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank danielrich27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed for one night ( December 29th) in this very nice hotel. Big room with separate living room with fireplace. Also fireplace in bedroom with big flatscreen tv. Room is very English style. Lunch and dinner were excellent. During the afternoon mist came in and it got colder so they offered us a warm water bottle for in our beds!!!
Good place to stay when you are traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teanest
Teanest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: $109 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing