We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel in quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Characterful hotel in quiet location”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent two nights at the Gateway by Taj in Coonoor in February 2014 as part of a 30 day tour of South India. It is a characterful hotel that benefits significantly from its quiet location. Although not to the same standard as the Vavanta Taj hotels, the room we had at the Gateway by Taj was comfortable and well-equipped, albeit rather small. The restaurant menu is surprisingly limited and not all dishes that were on it were available. As with most/all Taj-group hotels, WiFi is not included. This is a surprising omission in this day and age when almost all other hotels, including far less expensive ones, include it at no extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us the feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay. We have noted your feedback regarding the menu options and charging of the wi-fi facility. Please be informed that we will be introducing our new menu in a couple of months. Your point on the wi-fi services will be addressed.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    217
    38
    7
    5
See reviews for
307
186
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Gateway Hotel in Coonoor is in a historic property. Built as the priory of the neighbouring splendid church, then sold as a private house it has the air of a planter’s bungalow. The many changes over its hundred and fifty year-old history are still visible in the buildings bought by Taj in 1990 and sensitively renovated to retain its unique charm and atmosphere while making the property comfortable to meet the demands of modern tourists.

Buildings, of course, aren’t enough and our introduction to The Gateway Hotel, Coonoor, was welcoming, charming and wholly professional. As well as completing the usual efficient formalities necessary to check in, we were garlanded and given a hot drink, the hotel’s unique welcome of squeezed lemon spiced with cinnamon and ginger, reminiscent of a non-alcoholic mulled wine. A healthy relaxant after the fourteen hair-pin bends of the road up from the plains. There are many ritual welcomes offered tourists in India’s hotels. This was both memorable and delicious. Senior staff introduced themselves and made us feel at home. It was as good a welcome as any we have had in India.

It may be a Gateway, but it could teach the more expensive members of the Taj group a few lessons in hospitality and service.

We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the valley.

The rooms were in the style of the original bungalow with an enormous amount of space in the sitting room, bedroom and dressing room. The large modern bathroom had all that one might need including double wash-hand-basins, a shower and a bath. The rooms retained their heritage feel with updated period furniture and an elegant spaciousness that lent the suite a kind of austere luxury. It wasn’t showy or ostentatious but it was deeply comfortable and tranquil.

The old-fashioned dining room is a period piece with an open fire and barley sugar wooden dining chairs. One expects Trevor Howard and Celia Johnston to be surreptitiously dining at the next table. The service is good and the food delicious. It hasn’t the slick pretensions of its bigger sisters but it makes up for that in personal service and wholesome fare. As always in Tamil Nadu the government’s relationship with the wine list means none of the many excellent Indian wines is available. One French grown wine bottled in Pondicherry is best avoided. Imported wines are absurdly overpriced. This is not the fault of the hotel so much as a consequence of state government policy.

The gardens are well kept and extensive. There are many places in which to sit and relax. The view from the lawn with the historic church next door could be in rural southern England. The birdsong at The Gateway Hotel was wonderful.

Our day trip to Ooty was delayed by a day due to impenetrable fog and rain. We hadn’t considered this in our plans. It is worth noting that mist and fogs are endemic. The best laid plans etc. Incidentally we found our visit to Kotagiri at least as enjoyable as our visit to Ooty. Kotagiri is much smaller and prettier and the road is extremely picturesque. It is possible easily to take in both hill stations in a day’s circuit.

As is usual with Taj properties there is reliable if expensive wi-fi.

We were fortunate in being present when the management had their annual lawn party for staff and family to which we were warmly invited. It was salutary to observe the jollifications and we thought the event helped to account for the quality of staff relationships and the team approach to the care of guests.

In some ways it is a modest property but we hugely enjoyed our three days stay at the Gateway Coonoor and recommend it without any reservation. We would go back like a shot.

Room Tip: Both the larger suites and the smaller ones which aren't called suites but are, are roomy and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mr.Thompson,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. Your detailed note on most aspects of our product and service from room and the welcome drink to wine and wi-fi were so elaborate that they have helped us do a self study of where we stand in our esteemed Customer's rating and satisfaction. Your encouraging feedback has further strenghtened the team's sprit in raising the bar of our service delivery to the ever deserving Guest.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

A classical period hotel, this place deserves accolades for maintaining its timeless beauty without any alterations in the name of modernization.
The colonial facade of the reception, the single indoor restaurant overlooking beautiful flora/greenery, the wood floored rooms with fireplaces, and impeccably hospitable staff, all add up to nostalgia of great old days. Food is great. It is a quaint little place, perfect for honeymooners and is not for a boisterous gang looking for a blast.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room overlooking the green open lawn. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnrconstructions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.

Your encouraging feedback will certainly go a long way in helping us further improve our services and product.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Room Quality: very good. They have a small fireplace in the room which is very cozy. However they provide only 2 bottles of water in a day. Isn't this comical for a 4/5 Star hotel. They should seriously improve on this
Ambience: Very beautiful and well maintained. Every room has a small garden outside and this is very pleasant in the morning
Restaurant: Good food with good service and serving portions. Spread can improve
Service: Restaurant service is good however room service is very slow and lousy. Also the tie-up which they have for local sight-seeing is an absolute farce as they are very curt, rude and greedy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karthikg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Mr.Karthik,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us the feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your visit to Coonoor during September 2013. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room quality, food and ambiance of the hotel.
The placement of packaged drinking water is as per the Gateway Brand standards and any additional requirement is provided on request. I have noted your feedback regarding the quality of room service and assure you that we will certainly take necessary corrective action to improve this. We have also noted your feedback regarding the sightseeing experience. I am embarrassed to know that we did not live unto your expectation. Please be informed that we have changed the vendor and now have a reliable tie-up for this facility.

Mr.Karthik, we strive to maintain high quality of product and services and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Whether it is the building, the lawns, the reception, the restaurant or simply the furniture, Gateway Coonoor always raises your standards of taste and relish. It is a classy property with the most courteous staff that you can encounter anywhere. I was going back there after 5 years but was remembered by some of them and that made me really happy.

The package included breakfast and dinner. The spread was always inviting and irresistible. The standard of food was excellent and we called the chef to tell him about our unforgettable gastronomic experiences.

The hotel went that extra mile to comply with our requests whether it was a late check out or accommodating some family members for a couple of hours.

The room is a heritage room and is not what one would expect in a five star accommodation. But that is the charm. The room service was timely and simply out of the world.

The hotel is conveniently located not far from the shops and a central market.

The panorama in and around the hotel is simply breathtaking and I will be back there. The ambience is relaxing. The Ayurvedic centre has excellent massages and packages to offer and it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Ms.Lata,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your detailed feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.

Your encouraging feedback will certainly motivate us to further improve our services and product.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Taj Coonoor (as its popularly called) is the best place to stay in Nilgiris range of Ooty and Coonoor. The hotel and its surroundings are maintained very well. The staffs are awesome and helpful as always. This is the third time I am visiting and I will visit here in future too. We got a free upgrade to the heritage (room 301) and its huge and very neatly maintained. The bathroom is a room in itself and fitted with all modern equipment. The room upholstery is clean and apt. The fireplace adds on to its décor. The food tastes awesome as it did always. The restaurant staffs are very kind and helpful. The garden and lawn area is maintained well too. This is the perfect place to chillout and forget daily tensions. When you walk out, you’ll feel relaxed and energetic.

I have raised the following concern with the hotel management even in the feedback form and they have promised to attend my concern. One is the availability of wi-fi service and the charges for it. Its exorbitantly high, they charge so much amount for an hour that you can pay the entire months bill. The other concern is the availability of hot water from all the places wherever the taps are there. I know taj brand and am sure these will be addressed and I wont have these concerns when I visit next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruPrasad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Guru Prasad,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. We have noted your feedback regarding the charges for wi-fi facility and will certainly address the same. We have also noted your suggestion of providing hot water in the health faucet. We will definitely try to incorporate this facility during the course of the next bathroom renovation/upgradation.

Mr. Guruprasad, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had been at Taj Gateway during 25-27Jan'14. with my family. Stay was very comfortable and food was really awesome. Chef has a nice hand at all dishes and serving staff is courteous. Richard served us with personal touch and my family always ate more than their appetite. My kids liked the magic show on 1st evening and did lots of cycling in the garden. Tambola on 2nd evening was engaging and we got to meet many other residents. Republic day was celebrated with all due respect and my kids liked attending it. It is first time we had a fire-place in the room, as these are no more seen in contemporary hotels.
I had Amex coupons, which had some confusion about it's terms, but hotel didn't accept it, despite that it was issued specifically in their names. Now, I am likely to file a consumer case against Amex and unfortunately this hotel would also be dragged into it, since Amex and hotel are partners in business. This is a mistake from their respective marketing departments and hence Amex customers must NOT use any coupon, when travelling to ANY property of "TAJ" group. I shall put another update here, when consumer case is settled.
The property is nice for any duration of stay and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritesh Kumar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Mr.Agarwal,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered by Richard and the food served by Chef Ramalingam were shared with the team.

We have noted your feedback regarding the non-acceptance of the Amex vouchers. I have verified your billing and wish to clarify that as per our contract with American Express we have accepted the Amex voucher presented by you, which is against Room Charges only and not on Food and other spends.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
416 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing