We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice and peaceful”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I like this property a lot. Its very quite and has a lovely view of the valley. There are quite a few indoor activites within the hotel. The buffet breakfast is very good and overall the food is good. Avoid chinese in the main course. The staff is very kind and efficient. The rooms are well appointed and big. This is a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms close to the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeyush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr.Peeyush,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Mr.Peeyush, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    219
    39
    7
    5
See reviews for
315
187
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Heritage property of Taj hotels tucked away form hustle bustle of Ooty. Loved our stay at Coonor because of the The Gateway Hotel. Location of this hotel was convenient to visit famous view points, toy train (UN Heritage) and tea plantation & factory.

Additionally, the staff under leadership of Mr. Muralidharan needs special mention for their customer friendly attitude.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel if you plan to take a break from city life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorabhBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mr.Bajaj,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Mr.Bajaj, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Let me say straight off that we had a great time! We love ooty-coonoor. The Nilgiris are our favorite weekend getaway. We used to stay at Kings Cliff Ooty but as our kids are growing we look more for child friendly places. This is where The Gateway, and really all Taj properties score. The lawns are excellent for the kids to run around. They have a number of child friendly activities. They have a child friendly menu. They have friendly staff. Our children were engaged and we enjoyed ourselves. One small quibble - I wish they had more to do in the evenings. It might be nice to have a bit of lounge area and perhaps some games or music. The lawn was too cold and our room this time was a bit small to make staying indoors very comfortable.

Coonoor itself is such a pretty place, I'm not sure what I can say that has not been said already. Since we have been many times before we did not do the tourist round. We drove down to lambs rock though to buy fresh spices and have hot masala chai. If anyone needs a reason to visit the nilgiris, this can be it. The drive from coonoor to lambs rock - dolphin's nose is like driving in a dream sequence. The clouds blow in and out. You have tea gardens on one side and mountains and trees on the other. The whole effect is indescribably lovely. Practically however, it is tricky driving since you often cannot see much of the road ahead.

Finally, a word about environmental conservation. The Gateway prides itself on it's sustainable policies. Bottled water and plastic bin linings have no place in such a policy. The Nilgiris are supposed to be plastic free and till a while back they actually were. This time though I saw a lot of plastic waste and general trash on the roadside. We meticulously segregate our waste at home and it felt bad having to put mixed waste in plastic bags and reflect on our impact on a lovely place like coonoor. I request the Taj management to give some thought to this and come up with better ideas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mrs.Somya,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

We have noted your feedback regarding the evening activities. Please be informed that as a standard practice we have a bonfire evening with music and a game of housie every evening for our Guest entertainment. Unfortunately due to the inclement weather we were unable to conduct them during the course of your stay and regret the inconvenience. We value your feedback regarding the environment policy and our practice of using plastic for packaged water and dust bins. We will certainly work towards an environmentally friendly practice to address this. We have also been addressing the eco friendly issues with the department of tourism, through the association of hotels in Nilgiris. We will certainly behave as care takers of the environment and continue to address such issues to make The Nilgiris a cleaner and better place to live and save it for the future generation.

Mrs.Somya, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The property at Coonoor nestled high in the hills is a place where you can literally chill and distress! There is not much to do in Coonoor except enjoy the weather and scenic beauty and the chance to listen to nature. The property lets you do that and I would recommend it to those who want to take a real break in the true sense of the term. Pack a few books and just let the place do its magic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ushakrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ms.Usha,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay.

Ms.Usha, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Taj Gateway hotel in Coonoor is a symbol of colonial architecture with modern facilities. In the month of August seven of my closest friends and I went for four days. We were given garden facing rooms and had one of the best holidays of our lives. The staff was very courteous and friendly, fulfilling our smallest wishes. Lots of activities, with bonfires and magic shows. The food was good, a mixture of authentic Coonoor and continental cuisine.
Definitely worth going back for a group holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms.Anjana,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Ms.Anjana, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

"Certainly Sir" - This is the one thing you hear from the staff here for whatever request you have. I stayed here with family or 4 nights in August and what a stay it was. The location, absolutely fantastic, the service marvelous, the peace of mind - unimaginable.

Truly a TAJ experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take the executive Cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_TravelDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Taj Gateway hotel Coonoor is great place to stay and relax around. It has one of the very well maintained gardens and it offers great views of the hills around. The rooms are clean and spacious and the service is very good. There are lots of recreational activities for the kids like badminton, soccer, cycling, volleyball, board games, table tennis, swing etc to keep both the adults and the kids engaged. The complimentary breakfast was quiet good and tastier too. The dinner buffet was a bit let down in terms of both the variety and taste and it needs to be improved.

Made a short video of the stay here in Coonoor and the local sight seeings including an adventurous trip to Mudumalai. Please watch the video hosted in the below link to get a glimpse of this place.

http://youtu.be/KJY8Mg3CQXs

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mr.Pashly,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team. The lovely video upoaded by you is very lively and exciting. We have noted your feedback regarding the dinner buffet and will certainly ensure that we work towards improving it.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing