We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gateway, Coonoor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Gateway, Coonoor”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Taj Gateway is a heritage hotel with large rooms having a separate sitting area. The rooms were nice but the sofa cum bed in the annex was not comfortable. The walls also needed a fresh coat of paint. Also the TV had a very bad reception - definitely not digital quality.

The house-keeping staff were very prompt and accommodating and even managed to arrange portable fans for all our 4 rooms at a short notice (quite a task in any hill station)

The room service was extremely slow and had to be reminded. The restaurants served a variety of meals and they were well prepared and the chef was also kind enough to cater to our requests for the little ones.

The only thing lacking was evening entertainment - the kids play room / activity room was on the first floor accessible only through a steep metal staircase - extremely risky and was unsupervised with no options to call the front desk if anything was needed. The children's cycling track was a joke. The evening activity sessions were also halfheartedly organised and we missed the sessions which Taj Ooty organised.

Avoid the Spa - my wife was extremely disappointed.

It is good for people who want to unwind and be left alone in a quiet peaceful location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Ashwin Bagla,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We have noted your detailed feedback regarding the Sofa cum bed in the room, painting of the walls, quality of the TV channels, slow room service, cycling track, evening entertainment and access to the activity room. I am quite perturbed and embarrassed to know that we did not live unto your expectations. I have taken up all these points with the concerned departments and managers to ensure such shortfalls are addressed immediately.

Please be informed that the sofa and wall painting works have been attended to already. We have also shifted our active studio to the wellness centre with most games housed there. We have restricted cycling within the lawn space keeping safety aspects on priority. We have introduced evening activities based on occupancies. We will certainly have the TV channels quality attended to in our next upgrade exercise.

Kindly accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience. I request you to not hold this against our overall standards of service and allow us another opportunity to serve you better. Your kind words of appreciation for the food and the chef’s service were shared with the team.

Mr. Bagla, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    219
    38
    7
    5
See reviews for
313
186
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a first trip to the Nilgiris and Coonoor turned out to be an absolutely amazing town with unpredictable but salubrious weather, courteous people and lovely views of the "blue mountains". The Taj Gateway property is a heritage property, well maintained, cosy and comfortable. Its not too large expanse makes it have a family getaway feel. The staff was exceptional, particularly the dining and bar staff. The chef and his team was fabulous and I have had possibly the best food in recent times here. Recommend the local regional food that they arrange if the hotel is not too crowded. The activities were well managed, including a long hike me, my wife and little infant took along with the hotel's activity incharge. They took extremely good care of our little child and that truly deserves credit. Highly recommended. The location is great. Its next to Bedford, the upper Coonoor market place and yet away from the corwded parts of lower Coonoor. Great walks from this place.

Room Tip: The higher end suites have a good view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anish_Dayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr.Anish Dayal,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Gateway is a wonderful hotel which more than delivers its promise. Ideal place to go with kids, though it's great for couples too. Set in a scenic setting, it makes for an idyllic stay. The staff is tireless and extremely helpful, though the food takes a while to arrive - so order in time.

A memorable trip. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank S_Singh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr.Singh,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Although the accommodation is referred to as a room it is more like a small cottage, with a sitting room with fireplace and a spacious bedroom and well equipped bathroom. Décor was good and the cleanliness excellent. Outside was a communal lawn area where you can sit and read and enjoy the benefits of the efficient and courteous room service. Meals in the restaurant were very good, well cooked and served by an attentive and courteous staff. The menu, especially at breakfast, showed a wide variety of both Indian and western cuisine and was in abundant supply. (Evening buffet 700 rupees plus taxes)

I took advantage of using the attached Wellness Centre to have and Ayervedic massage and steam bath (1685 rupees) which was very good and relaxing. The only downside was that on checking out neither my English or French debit cards were accepted by the hotel's machines and I was told that they had been rejected. (Not true as they are debits cards with more than sufficient funds in both accounts). The reception then wanted to surcharge me for paying with a travellers cheque when they make a reasonable profit on the exchange rate they give compared to the official rates.

Notwithstanding that small niggle, and the fact that they were the only hotel to charge me for internet access, a most enjoyable stay and a hotel that I would be happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr.Anthony,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay, food and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team. I am quite perturbed and embarrassed to know that you were inconvenienced during departure with the debit card due to system malfunction. I have taken this up with the concerned departments and managers to ensure such lapses do not recur. Please be informed that our foreign exchange rates are governed by Reserve Bank of India and we adhere to the daily rates declared by them and the surcharge of Rs.25/- for the transaction is a mandatory fee levied by the government. Kindly accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused while at departure.

Mr.Anthony, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Gateway Hotel at Coonoor is a small-ish hotel with old style rooms and very helpful staff. We stayed here during a short break to the Nilgiris and thoroughly enjoyed. The kids especially liked the magic show that was held during one of the weekend days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappypapaBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and celebrated our marriage anniversary from 22 to 24 June 2013.
The place is awesome and the service is top class. This is a heritage property and the rooms give that outlook. You can surely feel the old world magic.The bathrooms are modern and very spacious . There is a fireplace where you can light a fire to keep the room warm. Also there would be activities like magic show etc in the party hall arranged for the guests. There is a large garden for kids to play. A good collection of indoor and outdoor games is available. During checkout the manager personally met us and provided his clarifications for our suggestions. Coonoor being 20 kms away from ooty is a nice, calm place to stay and make day trips to ooty. The Taj brand of great service is definitely felt here. Only low point was a chargeable wi-fi for accessing internet.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countsree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I visited this place in June 2011 along with my wife. My review of this place is as follows

1. Awesome clean rooms
2. Good and prompt service; excellent hotel staff (Esp: Mr. Joy, who was very helpful)
3. Mouth-watering and variety of food items
4. Driver stay arrangement is also good
5. Very good location

It is a must stay place I would recommend and will certainly avail its service whenever I will be in Coonoor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boom_Jaleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during 2011. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered by Joy and the others were shared with the entire team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing