We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very restful and beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Southern England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very restful and beautiful place”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel was a welcome retreat from busy ooty and a long drive through the mountains. I was welcomed with flowers and a lovely drink and shown to my room that managed to mix modern comforts with a quaint heritage.
The staff were delightful and friendly, from the man on the gates to the gardeners. If anything, the restaurant and housekeeping staff were too attentive for me (I am not used to that kind of service). The grounds are beautiful and watching the mist burn away over the hills in the morning whilst sipping a drink in the warm sun is a treasurable memory.
My best experience there was in the Ayurvedic Spa. The teamat the spa seem to shine with health and are friendly, helpful and respectful. The treatment I had (Sirodhara) was the most relaxing spa treatment I have ever had and it was in a room with a roaring fire that smelt divine. I'd go back just for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    213
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
294
180
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A little distance from the more famous Ooty, Coonoor is more quite and peaceful. the hotel is quaint and historical but with all modern amenities. The staff is very friendly and the food is consistently good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narayan1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room had 5 rooms to it! The bedroom had a fireplace and the staff offered to light a fire as it was cooler at night. We also had hot water bottles brought to the room for the bed! A nice touch. The staff were helpful and the food was good. Lovely scenery around the hotel. Make sure you visit a tea plantation and factory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol. UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

India's Taj Hotel Group are missing a trick with the Gateway Hotel In Coonoor -- a pleasant, relaxed, small town in Tamil Nadu's Nilgiri Hills. The hotel ticks almost every discerning traveller's box -- the location is beautiful and tranquil, the hotel combines modern amenities with old world charm. The staff are well trained and super attentive. The rooms are luxurious and equipped with thoughtful little extras like tea making, laundry bags and flowers. The gardens are a riot of glorious colour and immaculately tended. There's a children's playground, an Ayurvedic Health facility, an excellent restaurant and joy of joys -- a rarity in India -- a well stocked bar! All this does not come cheap and there's one amenity missing that would transform the Gateway into a slice of paradise. It does not have a swimming pool. It has enough level space for one -- at present a jumble of disused outhouses and disintegrating concrete. They really should invest in a pool.

Room Tip: Choose one with a patio with view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pemachotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice and peacefull place which has old cottage type villas with high roof and large indoor spaces, very silent at night, location is close to citycenter only 5 mins drive,
outdoor has a large garden area , an ayurvedic massage center and a yoga therepy center with the yoga guru who gives excellent tips. Buffet breakfast is excellent and even the dinner is nicely presented with piano music playing sometimes. Has many families and old british couples visiting the property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Gateway hotel was a very good experience. The staff was extremely courteous, well trained and very helpful. The amenities and facilities were excellent. The rooms had all modern amenities, and also fire places. The resort is an old resort which has been modernized. So its a mix of old and new. Great place to go, although a tad on the expensive side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikunjchh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Though I keep visiting Nilgiris, this is the first time I happened to stay in Coonoor. This time it was for the Christmas and New Year holidays. Located in a serene locality (so serene that there is a cemetry adjoining the hotel:), this Taj property gave us an experience of the days of the Raj days in a hill station. Right from the check-in they make you feel like you are a viceroy.. I feel the staff here are a step more than the staff in other Taj properties I have tried, in ensuring that you always feel on the top. Though we had an executive room booked, we were give a suite for the same cost. It was like a cottage of its own. Food was awesome and no dish was repeated during the entire week we stayed there. They had carols and magic show arranged for Christmas and my son enjoyed it a lot. Every evening camp fire was lit with some games for the guests. The best thing we liked about the hotel was its warmth and the sense of being at home. I would always recommend this hotel and if I happen to visit Coonoor nest time, this will be my choice

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden at the back offers more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivakumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 11 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 11 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing