We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant/Bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant/Bar!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I enjoyed a great dinner and drinks there last night. The prices are reasonable, considering the quality and service received. This is a great place for visitors and those looking for a wide selection of Indian and Continental dishes. I was with four other people and we ordered a range of dishes to include pizza, sandwiches, chicken, and shrimp curry. Everything looked good and everyone was happy with the meal. I haven't stayed in the hotel, but have heard good things about it too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aup13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    219
    39
    7
    5
See reviews for
315
187
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
coimbatore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the suite this time. Nice big room. The hotel's service is very good and the staff are very helpful. Love sitting in the garden outside. Food was good too , most of the time. I think the rooms are redone since the last time we visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chetanbg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the first time I travelled to Conoor. The Hotel had sent a Cab to Coimbatore Airport, drive was breathtakingly gorgeous with it's trademark Hairpin bends and views that were ensnaring. After this drive when we reached the Hotel, I felt like being transported into Colonial times. An expansive driveway, understatedly majestic porch and gardens teeming with greenery.

The staff was very friendly, warm, courteous and passionate about the property. Excellent food with a spectacular spread. A definite choice in Conoor, nothing comes close to this Gateway property there.

Very highly recommended. Trust me, they will treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are sunny and have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnshumanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and myself stayed for 2 nights I have no idea of price as it was part of a tour. Old style hotel and the staff were very efficient and helpful. The room we had was outstanding (overlooking badminton court), you entered into a lounge with sofa and tv, then into an office room with chairs and desk, then into the large bedroom with a massive fireplace (and tv), of the bedroom was a dressing room and a big bathroom with a bath, all with an old fashinoed wood style to them. The have no drive facilities (according to our driver).

There are plenty of facilities for children, lovely gardens and a large restaurant. Breakfast was fine but we were dissapointed with the dinners. There was only a buffet on both evenings (its too far out of town to walk anywhere else for food) and the food was plentyful and well cooked, but very bland with no flavours. Probably two of the least memorable meals we had in India and if I had had a real choice I would have eaten elsewhere on the second night. The other thing was of all the 'boutique/classic' hotels we staying in in India this one despite its age and decor had the least soul of them all.

Would we stay there again - yes but only if we had to stay in Coonor and I would probably stay in Ooty if in the area again.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the badminton courts are fantastic and have a great view but they are also li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carju1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was lucky to choose the Gateway Hotel coonoor,this vacation ( I work on a cruise line)..to be honest this is one of the best hotels i ever been.. excellent staff.. beautiful property.. the staff will make you feel so special especially with " Certainly yes Sir"..beautiful room ..love the fire place.. also so well informed travel desk. Helped me with the shortest and beautiful route to Munnar.
Looking forward to spend next vacation with this Great Hotel.. Only thing I would suggest is need more signs from Coonoor to reach the hotel..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chirayil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had gone to cocoon or on a business trip. The hotel was booked by the company. While we approached the property, it looked like a very ordinary one. But lemme admit that the moment we reached the reception my perception had taken a 180 degree turn. I was really amazed to see the layout of the Hotel looking so stunning in white colour and streaks of dark maroon. The yellow church looked so robust next to the hotel.

I stayed in room no 109 and my colleague stayed in 104. Both the rooms were majestic in colonial style. The furniture is ethnic and keeping the place and the colonial style of building appeared to be perfect.

The linen and toiletries were perfect with a lot of emphasis paid on cleanliness.

The lawns were well maintained. I could also see the sparrows, which have more or less become extinct in places like Delhi.

The restaurant is good with very efficient service. I must say that 'hot idlis' and 'Fillet of Fish' were my favourites and really good. I will also recommend 'Dal Tadka' and 'Roti'. 'Chocolate combo' is a must in dessert.

However, I feel that the menu can have some more variety.

The room service was excellent.

Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from 101 to 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATUL_K506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

An oldfahioned, charming English-style manor house transformed into a hotel in a green garden. We were professionally welcomed by a real gentlemen-receptionist with cmprehensible (!) English. The appartment we have rent consisted of 4 rooms, including one with chimney and open fire. You feel like a Maharadja!-The dinner in the restaurant was surprising: Although quite crowded we got an excellent, speedy service by nice young men. Food was also very good8 A place which we fully can recommend, particularly because of the really professional style of the reception!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfgang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing