We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property. Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the first time I travelled to Conoor. The Hotel had sent a Cab to Coimbatore Airport, drive was breathtakingly gorgeous with it's trademark Hairpin bends and views that were ensnaring. After this drive when we reached the Hotel, I felt like being transported into Colonial times. An expansive driveway, understatedly majestic porch and gardens teeming with greenery.

The staff was very friendly, warm, courteous and passionate about the property. Excellent food with a spectacular spread. A definite choice in Conoor, nothing comes close to this Gateway property there.

Very highly recommended. Trust me, they will treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are sunny and have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnshumanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and myself stayed for 2 nights I have no idea of price as it was part of a tour. Old style hotel and the staff were very efficient and helpful. The room we had was outstanding (overlooking badminton court), you entered into a lounge with sofa and tv, then into an office room with chairs and desk, then into the large bedroom with a massive fireplace (and tv), of the bedroom was a dressing room and a big bathroom with a bath, all with an old fashinoed wood style to them. The have no drive facilities (according to our driver).

There are plenty of facilities for children, lovely gardens and a large restaurant. Breakfast was fine but we were dissapointed with the dinners. There was only a buffet on both evenings (its too far out of town to walk anywhere else for food) and the food was plentyful and well cooked, but very bland with no flavours. Probably two of the least memorable meals we had in India and if I had had a real choice I would have eaten elsewhere on the second night. The other thing was of all the 'boutique/classic' hotels we staying in in India this one despite its age and decor had the least soul of them all.

Would we stay there again - yes but only if we had to stay in Coonor and I would probably stay in Ooty if in the area again.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the badminton courts are fantastic and have a great view but they are also li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carju1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was lucky to choose the Gateway Hotel coonoor,this vacation ( I work on a cruise line)..to be honest this is one of the best hotels i ever been.. excellent staff.. beautiful property.. the staff will make you feel so special especially with " Certainly yes Sir"..beautiful room ..love the fire place.. also so well informed travel desk. Helped me with the shortest and beautiful route to Munnar.
Looking forward to spend next vacation with this Great Hotel.. Only thing I would suggest is need more signs from Coonoor to reach the hotel..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chirayil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had gone to cocoon or on a business trip. The hotel was booked by the company. While we approached the property, it looked like a very ordinary one. But lemme admit that the moment we reached the reception my perception had taken a 180 degree turn. I was really amazed to see the layout of the Hotel looking so stunning in white colour and streaks of dark maroon. The yellow church looked so robust next to the hotel.

I stayed in room no 109 and my colleague stayed in 104. Both the rooms were majestic in colonial style. The furniture is ethnic and keeping the place and the colonial style of building appeared to be perfect.

The linen and toiletries were perfect with a lot of emphasis paid on cleanliness.

The lawns were well maintained. I could also see the sparrows, which have more or less become extinct in places like Delhi.

The restaurant is good with very efficient service. I must say that 'hot idlis' and 'Fillet of Fish' were my favourites and really good. I will also recommend 'Dal Tadka' and 'Roti'. 'Chocolate combo' is a must in dessert.

However, I feel that the menu can have some more variety.

The room service was excellent.

Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from 101 to 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATUL_K506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

An oldfahioned, charming English-style manor house transformed into a hotel in a green garden. We were professionally welcomed by a real gentlemen-receptionist with cmprehensible (!) English. The appartment we have rent consisted of 4 rooms, including one with chimney and open fire. You feel like a Maharadja!-The dinner in the restaurant was surprising: Although quite crowded we got an excellent, speedy service by nice young men. Food was also very good8 A place which we fully can recommend, particularly because of the really professional style of the reception!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfgang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were on our honeymoon trip and was looking specifically for a taj property in the hills. We ended our tour with an exceptional & pleasant memories. Service, food, location and the attitude of all the staffs was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VParashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our choice was between two taj properties - one in Ooty and the other in Coonoor. We picked the Coonoor property which was a mistake. We spent a weekend here this summer and the rooms were average. The bathrooms are better than the Taj property in Ooty.

Our biggest issue was with the service and the quality of food at the restaurant which were both below average. In contrast the restaurant at the Savoy (taj Ooty) is a million times better.

If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star in the nilgiris, this is not it. In hindsight we should have stayed at the Savoy or Fernhill palace.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teanest
Teanest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
442 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: $108 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing