We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Sunvalley Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunvalley Homestay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ( seven adults and three kids) stayed at Sun View Homestay(the one adjacent to Sun Valley) for a night in the last week of June 2013. We all enjoyed our stay, weather was pleasant with mild showers.

Our rooms were great, with valley(tea plantation) facing. The team at Sun View were very helpful and friendly. Appam and Veg. Stew for breakfast was great.

Walk in tea plantation was great too. There was a Wi-Fi available :).

Sun Valley had better rooms, fittings,.... but I felt there is Sun View is good enough, may not be on the luxurious side, but suited well for us (Value for Money).

Don't forget to get coconut balls from Indian Bakery . They charge Rs.10 per piece but its very yummy

Road to the homestay is very narrow.

Room Tip: Get a valley facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RamaPalaniappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    193
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
481
171
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Coonoor to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. After reviewing the reviews about SunValley we decided to finalize our stay with them. We booked 1 Honeymoon Suite. We reached there on 22nd June evening & checked out on 24th June morning.

Here are some of the highlights of our stay with them -

The Good:

1. The initial response was very good. My queries were answered promptly. Details about the SunValley were given quickly. Good!
2. The day we had to reach there, we received a follow up call from SunValley asking what time we would reach there. This shows they are concerned & ready to welcome. Good!
3. Upon reaching they greeted us, took our luggage to the room & helped us settled well. Good!
4. The food was awesome. We had an opportunity to order dinner & next day we had breakfast & dinner both. It was liked not only by us but by kids too. Very good!!
5. The room was very big, clean & neatly organized. We really liked the ambience & comfort. The view towards the tea valley was making it more beautiful. Excellent!
6. The staff especially Deepak was very courteous. He was very helpful & polite. Good!

The Bad:

You probably may not like the approach road to SunValley. From the Coonoor railway station it is approx 3.5 kms but it goes through a village & the road towards the end is muddy.

Scope of Improvement:

1. Before leaving for the day outing we gave them the room keys to clean the room and change the bedding. It was not done so we had to remind them once we came back. When asked why it was not cleaned, they mentioned that somehow it was missed.
2. The day we checked out early morning around 7 AM, no one was there at the reception to attend us. We didn’t find anyone who could take our luggage to the car. We had to do it ourselves.
3. We were not greeted on our wedding anniversary (You may call it over expectation from us but we would have felt good it we were greeted by them). This could have added value to their customer services.

Apart from this the weather of Coonoor during our stay was heavenly awesome. We really enjoyed each & every bit of it. We enjoyed the site seen to SIMS Park, Dolphin’s nose, Tea Factory & Lamb’s rocking with breathtaking views. Overall we had a memorable stay @ Coonoor.

Room Tip: We stayed in Honeymoon suite. It was best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank abhinkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I decided to stay at Sunvalley after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Only downside is the approach road to Sunvalley. I did find it difficult in finding the location as there are no signboards on the main road ie on the coonoor - ooty junction. You will see the signboard only when you are very close to the home stay, and the signboards are very small.

After arriving at Sunvalley i was surprised and impressed to see the actual location of the Sunvalley. Amazing location, and you will get to see the valley behind and the tea estate makes it even more special. Ideal gateway for the weekend from the busy city life.

Room - I took the Honeymoon suite, and liked the room very much. View from the balcony was amazing as it faced the tea estate.

Food - Food was very tasty but they messed up the dinner on the second night. My package included unlimited breakfast. BrkFast on the first day was very tasty and had three varieties, however on the 2nd day they had the same menu so it was very disappointing.

Staff - Trust me you can rely on the staff, they are very helpful and very friendly in nature. They will respond to you very quickly.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite room is very spacious and has a good view of the tea estate as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mahim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed as a family at Sunvalley homestay for 4 nights in the honeymoon suite.
This was our first visit to coonoor.
Had heard about coonoor from relatives,friends and internet.
so here we were at coonoor for four nights.we decided instead of staying at ooty we stay at coonoor and vola what a stay we had.
just amazing.
When we checked in ,seeing the rooms first words came to the mind was WOW.
All that fatique of travelling from mysore disappeared .
The rooms were big,clean,tidy and tastefully done with modern amenities.
The ambience is great.
we were breathing fresh air in the tea estate which was adjoining the homestay.
Every morning we had birds chirping on the tree which we miss in metro cities
and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. Endless tea estates.

Food is typical homemade south Indian fare. Very tasty breakfast. North Indian and Chinese cuisine is also available for lunch and dinner.We loved their service which was oustanding.Always on their feet with a smile.

The whole staff Michael,Sharath,Deepak,Anisha,Jenny and all those whose name i must have forgotten were very helpful,cheerful and friendly.
I did not miss home.

The place is very close to station , bus stand and main market.
It was an amazing and beautiful experience of homestay.
it was very relaxing and would love to come back again in future.
I would highly recommend the place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aseem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed as a couple at Sunvalley homestay in the honeymoon suite for 3 days.

Rooms are spacious and clean. They look very new even though they are 3 years old. The view from the rooms are breathtaking endless tea estates.

The staff is friendly and helpful. Right from the booking procedure they are very professional for a homestay. Check in and check out was very smooth.

Food is typical homemade south Indian fare. Very tasty breakfast. North Indian and Chinese cuisine is available for lunch and dinner.

Close to coonoor bus and train station. Helps those travelling without their own vehicle

Negatives: frequent power cuts during our stay. They do have a generator which controls the situation. Room heaters have pretty high rentals. Small stretch of the access road is quite bad.
No free Ayurvedic massage session as mentioned on their website even though we stayed for 3 days

But overall a very pleasant and relaxing vacation. The limitations are also purely because it's a homestay and not really a hotel. It's a small trade off for the personalised homely ambience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rarestae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Manager at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your time to write about Sunvalley and about the staffs.

The power cuts have been taken care by Generator and we seldom have power cuts in Nilgiris. we are privileged on that respect even being in TamilNadu.

we provide free Ayurvedic packages for 3 night full tariff guests only as quoted.

looking forward to see you all in a different season at Sunvalley...

best rgds,
From Sunvalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sun valley s awesome place v ever visited , 2 start with accomodation - beautiful room. , with excellent view from balcony. neat ,clean and perfect room service. Complementary food was really mind blowing, good and imediate response when things are asked for; as a couple v really. Had splendid time, hats off 2 sun bally , v would love 2 visit again ............

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sreepree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, General Manager at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Many thanks for your appreciation and time taken to write about your stay with Sunvalley.

Hope to see you all sometime in near future at a different season in Sunvalley.

Thank you very much
Sunvalley family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our last location... When we were searching for the hotel, we got scared and were thinking about the property... The accessibility is poor... But when we reached the property... we felt... we are in HEAVEN. It was a fantastic property. The service and the people are really nice and helpful. We have a good time at the property... very relaxing... The food and kitchen was really nice... This was the best property for us... As its name.. Home Stay.. You feel you are at home... a must must place to stay and relax. Deepak keep up good work.... :)

Room Tip: If you are a 2 couple, and have a specific budget, you can book a executive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ankitshah97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Appreciate your time and valuable feedback with a very positive attitude expressed towards Sunvalley and the staff.
I am as an owner proud to have my staffs and really happy to see many happy travelers like you who has experience with many properties really value our location, rooms, staffs and kitchen with food etc..

You will have many more happy holidays with your spirit to explore and appreciate little things around you...

Good luck...Life is a journey...enjoy the drive...but do not forgot to take breaks called Holidays..
Best rgds,

Dhinesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
2.5 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
416 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
5.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
6.3 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunvalley Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunvalley Homestay

Property: Sunvalley Homestay
Address: | Stanley Park, Ottupattarai, Coonoor 643105, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunvalley Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunvalley Homestay in Coonoor, Ooty - The Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu, India is a clean and tranquil place, little away from the chaos of the town... A home away from home. Enjoy your vacation holiday at our resort hotel in Coonoor. New concept holiday home in Coonoor - Ooty, with spacious & fully furnished rooms and all rooms with views of lush green valleys and Nilgiri mountains & tea plantations. Unblocked views of tea estates from every room, mist filled valleys and far away mountains will clearly give everyone a pleasant feeling. Sunvalley Homestay is conveniently located in pollution/noise free atmosphere, 3 km away from Rly station/bus station at a hassle free area of coonoor and offers you luxury rooms with clean/hygienic bathrooms and other amenities with 24 hr front desk service. Ours is not a hotel, resort, cottage, homestay or B&B but something unique and a combination of all what a holiday maker in Nilgiris is looking for... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunvalley Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing