We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunvalley Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunvalley Homestay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our stay in sunvalley was awesome. We booked the resort after seeing the review on trip advisor. And we were so happy that we planned to stay there. The staff are so friendly. They make you feel si comfortable. The food is awesome especially the breakfast. I loved appam and stew. That is something we never get in goa. Will surely love to go back especially to eat appam. Three cheers to the staff and to the cook.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pooja Bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to have your review in trip advisor and appreciation of my team and Sunvalley.

Your appreciation comes from the heart as we feel and it also reflects how open you are with the nature and the people the way they are and your acceptance to it.

Good luck with you on whatever you do and enjoy every little things around you God has created...Have the mind for it...

Life is a Journey ...Enjoy the drive......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    185
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
448
168
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of teh most pleasant and wonderful places to stay in Coonoor. Avoid Ooty.
on first sight, this homestay seems a little distant and the access is a bit odd, in the sense that you have to walk all the way if no vehicle. but the staff there are always ready with their open jeep that takes u to and fro from teh main junction. am impressed with the quality of hospitality and service, right from teh reception people to the owner's mom who is a very wonderful and warm lady. Michael, Deepak, Jenny, Anisa, Ramdas,Sarath all of them are very hospitable,polite and welcoming.the best part is the view of tea garden just below the homestay, you can walk and spend the entire day amongst the garden and still not feel bored. when it rains, it does become a bit difficult to go out, but otherwise its a fantastic place. u can make this a centre and then visit coonoor and some parts of Ooty in one day. the next day cover rest of ooty and head towards mudumalai . and then the best part is Avalanchi dam and shola forest reserve, this is truly a magnificient place to see, where you can cover dense forests, shrubs, waterfall,beatiful dam and then wide open valley with a beautiful view. the breakfast at the resort is very wholesome and the herbal water they prepare is an added trip. Would I visit there again ? Yes definitely. recommended for friends and travellers? definitely yes again.

Room Tip: choose residency or homestay based on your budget, the latter being cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tamojit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Manager at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your time to write your views in trip advisor. Having you as our first guest in our new property close to sunvalley was a great pleasure.

Sorry for whatever inconveniences caused as the property was just started rolling from 1st May, and as usual some small initial glitches expected.

But very glad to see that you had good time with your partner and enjoyed the place and services of our team.

Thanks for the appreciation shown towards everyone's service and support of sunvalley team.

Wish you many more happy holidays...

Rgds,
Sarath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place was recommended by one of my friends who had recently been there with family. So when it came to taking a trip with my own, I thought I should check it out too.

As mentioned in their introduction, you would almost get pleasantly surprised when you see how this quaint little place is tucked away in one of the mountain corners over looking the green stretch of the tea gardens. For my own experience, it was like a holiday for my eyes, and how they could breathe in all the greenery far away from the brick & mortar of a city-life.

The rooms are all done keeping good-choice in mind, be it the attention to details from bed-sides being cushioned so that your do not hit your toe or turning the small space for bathroom into something that leaves an impression.

However while the service is quite nice, the food on the menu could be better. I would advice not to try out the "must-try" options on the menu. Although the complimentary breakfast would keep you well-fed till beyond lunch time.

People at the front desk and ones managing the place were quite warm in their approach and helpful.

My verdict is, its one of the best options in Homestay category.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IshitaChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest..
Glad to see that you had time to write a review about our homestay.

And we have taken note of your suggestion on Menu and regretfully we are sad to hear the must try items did not go well with you.

We will try to find out the reason and the choices you had with your expectations. It could have been with the order understanding we believe. We will try to correct it in future and will understand the needs of our guest prior to finalize and recommend something for them.

In general people like most of the Must try items and they appreciated...is one of the reasons we added this column on the food menu.

Anyway thanks for all the appreciation and looking forward to see you all in near future to Nilgiris again..

Many more happy holidays..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This home stay is perched on a hill having a patchy approach road. But once you get there,
it opens up a new world of nature from its balcony. Truly part of nature and escape from the hustles and bustles of the city was an extraordinary experience. Rooms were clean and service were good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rmuralik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Manager at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Valued guest...

Many thanks for your time to post some good words about sunvalley and we look forward seeing you with family and friends again back to sunvalley during your next visit to Nilgiris...

Best Rgds,
Sarath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We are a group of 21 adults plus two children belonging to a group of close knit family and friends who always travel together for vacations in a group and as our group consisted of more than 8 adults/teenagers - we preferred a home stay for having all the fun without much hindrance or bossing from the hotel staff or co guests.

we therefore selected this home stay and stayed for more than 5 nights and had a wonderful experience - good stay and good food - extremely friendly staff - extremely courteous staff - very neat ambience etc.

overall our experience was good with this stay

Room Tip: all rooms are equal and good - the location is very hard to find and approach road is very steep - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bharathy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest....Many thanks for your patronage to our property and good to hear that you and your team loved our place and enjoyed to the fullest.

Being a frequent travel group of yours we were expecting very hard to make better impression for all team members and to satisfy you all with best experiences but we find your team a very friendly and non-complaining and very well disciplined / coordinated team of families with grown up kids.

Thanks for all your sweet and kind words on our staff which makes them feel proud of their job.

It is very much in need for teams like yours as our team get better spirit and energy and enthusiasm to do more for guest with feedback and responses and behaviors from family groups like yours.

Initially my team was bit worried about packing food everyday for Lunch for 20+ members and vegetarian menu. But with your cooperation they done it well and managed to keep it going for entire trip.

Some of my family was there during your visit and unfortunately me or my wife could not be there during your visit.

We r looking forward to see you all during another season at Sunvalley again and wish you u and team many more happy holidays ahead...

Dhinesh & Shyma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Sunvalley for 2 nights with family. Honestly speaking, we have seldom come across a facility like Sunvalley where everything starting from view, food, service, amenities is simply excellent. Everyone in our group just loved the hotel. The morning breakfast deserves a special mention for the sheer variety and the quality that it offers. The hotel staff has been extremely courteous and were always friendly in their behaviour. And last but not least is the unforgettable view of the tea gardens and the distant Nilgiris from the balcony of the room (first floor). We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in Coonoor.

Room Tip: It is better to book the rooms on the first floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A_Roy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed stay with us and very glad that we managed to keep your stay happy and safe.

Kind words from a frequent traveler like you gives us a lots of positive spirit and enthusiasm for further improving our services and quality we want to maintain.

Looking forward to see you all again back to Sunvalley in near future at a different season in Nilgiris....

Enjoy your life....and holidays in between...

Best Rgds,..Dhinesh & Shyma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntur, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

perfect budget stay for families.My family,My Parents&My Sister'sfamily were there for 3 days exactly 1 week back.Based on Trip Advisor,s Reviews we planned our stay there & our decision was a perfect decision.Breakfast was excellent,lunch was good,dining room&kitchen were very hygenic,food was not too spicy(we had veg.food),Staff were very polite and always with a smile and always attentive,rooms were very spacious and clean, bathrooms were very clean and the view of plantations from the balconies were stunning and our kids enjoyed a stroll in those plantations.One minor problem is there is not much space outside either for the childen to play or for the adults to relax after dinner and another minor problem is the last 100 approach roat to the resort but in comparision to the big,indeed very big plus points i mentioned,these were very insignificant.But one glaring dent to the otherwise almost perfect score is the same menu (except for only 1 curry which they changed)of items they provided for lunch and dinner on first day forcing us to sift our dinner on second day to northIndian type.The team management ,i expect will take a note of it because some families like us will like to have both lunch &dinner there itself because of good taste,less spicy food &above all good hygeine:DR SREENIVAS

Room Tip: all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DRSREENIVAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest ...
Thanks for your appreciation and time taken to write a feedback about Sunvalley.

We have taken note of Menu and Lunch items on variety everyday......

Frankly speaking this second year season we experienced that most guest would like to have the Lunch and dinner also with us rather than having it outside. We were not really prepared or expecting this. So we have now learned and will try to make necessary changes and will be prepared next time.

Thanks for your positive feedback...

Best Rgds, Dhinesh & Shyma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
2.5 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#4 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
5.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
3.6 mi away
Kurumba Village Resort
Kurumba Village Resort
#2 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunvalley Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunvalley Homestay

Property: Sunvalley Homestay
Address: | Ottupattari, Near Stanley Park, Coonoor 643105, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunvalley Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunvalley Homestay in Coonoor, Ooty - The Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu, India is a clean and tranquil place, little away from the chaos of the town... A home away from home. Enjoy your vacation holiday at our resort hotel in Coonoor. New concept holiday home in Coonoor - Ooty, with spacious & fully furnished rooms and all rooms with views of lush green valleys and Nilgiri mountains & tea plantations. Unblocked views of tea estates from every room, mist filled valleys and far away mountains will clearly give everyone a pleasant feeling. Sunvalley Homestay is conveniently located in pollution/noise free atmosphere, 3 km away from Rly station/bus station at a hassle free area of coonoor and offers you luxury rooms with clean/hygienic bathrooms and other amenities with 24 hr front desk service. Ours is not a hotel, resort, cottage, homestay or B&B but something unique and a combination of all what a holiday maker in Nilgiris is looking for... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunvalley Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing