We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquilitea Farm Stay
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Stay(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'land Plantation Stay(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Nest(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Sree Harshav Cottages(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
180 McIver(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
46
14
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea tasting sessioncoonoor clubtasting experiencemr rajanview from the dining roomknowledgeable hosttea plantationtraditional south indiandelightful gardensims parkhome stayeco systemindia tripbig lawnplenty of hot waterthoroughly enjoyed our stayshola forest
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 60 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did not stay here, but found it when trying to arrange a proper tea tasting while in Coonoor. You would think for a region that has some of the best tea in the world, this would not be an unusual thing to try and locate. Thankfully Tranquilitea offers a fabulous tea tasting by Sandeep, who is knowledgable and passionate - without being overbearing - about tea. After this tasting I came to realise how poor tasting all the tea I have been drinking has been! The tasting is held in a beautiful room with a glass wall looking over the tea terraces. We got to explore the garden while there, as well as see one of the rooms. It had a peaceful ambiance and although we were happy where we were staying, we were also slightly jealous of the people who were getting to stay here, and were sad when we had to leave it's loveliness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flamedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

if you have enough of regular hotels, we urgently recommend to try a homestay at Tenerife Rosery tea Garden.
The tea bushes around you in the different shades of green together with the explanations on the Nilgiris give an additional special flavor.
Local food explained by the owner takes away your hesitations against eating really Indian style in the morning - superb.
If you have interest to know more about the region, consult the books in the living room or just ask the owner. He knows the region very well and can give you excellent advice.
Don't forget to profit from the tea degustation.
We enjoyed the two days fully.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Tenerife for 3 nights from 5th to 9th April. Sandeep is a very good host and we had a great time at Tranquilitea. We wish we had stayed for at least a day more.

What we liked?
1. Location of property is excellent as this bungalow is at the highest point in Coonoor. The view from the Tea room is outstanding and we spent lot of time in that room.
2. Food was very nice except for the continental dinner, which was ok as compared to other meals. You can tell sandeep in case you want indian meals.
3. Hospitality- Sandeep is a very good host. He was always there to help us. He was happy to take us to Coonoor town on couple of occasions as we did not have transportation. He was present in the tea room at the time of every breakfast and dinner to explain to us the food that was being served.
4. Don't miss the tea tasting session with Sandeep. This session was very informative and colorful (with 8-10 different varieties of green tea). Even my friend's 7 months daughter was very attentive during the entire session.
5. Also, don't miss the walk in the tea gardens with Sandeep. It was lovely walking through lush green tea gardens.
6. Full privacy to guests- Though Sandeep's family stays in the same bungalow in the same premises, they offer full privacy to guests.

What could have been better?
1. I am sure some travelers would love the privacy that tranquilitea offers. We are the type of travelers who like to interact with hosts and that's why we prefer staying in B&B instead of a hotel. Sandeep was always there to help us and interact with us. We would have loved to have interaction with Sandeep and his family over dinner or at the time of bonfire.
2. The rooms are not connected to each other. It would be great if they are connected as you have to walk across the tea room and the garden to the other room. I had written to Sandeep about it and I believe he has now connected the rooms. You may want to check with him.
3. There was some confusion with the pickup arrangements but we understand that such things do happen.

Overall- Stay here if you want to have a nice peaceful vacation. Stay here if you want to enjoy the fresh air and quiet time. I would recommend two families traveling together.

Some tips about Coonoor- A visit to Sims park is a must. Its a very beautiful botanical garden. We did not visit Ooty as we did not want to travel. But, one can take a toy train from Coonoor to Ooty (but you need to book tickets well in advance). We visited Wild Acres Cheese farm but we did not enjoy the cheese making tour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sandeep is passioneted by the tea and every think around the tea and the Nilgiris.
He takes his time to share with you like a friend his knowledge about tea.
He speaks about it with so much passion that when you leave his wonderfull place , you go directly to the net to (try ) to learn more.... :):)
wonderfull place and wonderfull host

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ahadatorai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the property between 9th and 12th August 2012 and with the experience still very fresh (painfully fresh to resume a full day office regime), I decided to pen it down. As with most of my reviews, I will try to be methodical while trying to guard against any bias that might creep in.

Shortlisting & Booking: Good old tripadvisor reviews and you cant go wrong – a quick scan through the reviews and a not so exciting Tranquiltea website (that plays down most aspects while keeping mum about others) convinced us of the property. Booking Tenerife (home-stay at Coonoor) was hassle free with quick exchanges with Sandeep – our would be host and a wire transfer. You get a brochure from him on inquiry which is equally lifeless with some dull photographs. Nevertheless, Tripadvisor prevailed.

Getting There: A flight from Hyd to Coimbatore followed by a drive of nearly 3 hrs (abt 70 km) saw us in the property. Roads were decent and drive pleasant. Estate where Tenerife is housed is about a couple of kilometers from SIMS Park – a popular tourist destination. The estate has a few bungalows, most of them populated by the planters who run the tea estate and Tenerife is the highest of them all, surrounded by tea plantation.

Tenerife: A part of their bungalow has been turned into a home-stay with two bedrooms and one lounge which is known as Tea Room. If you book one room, they do not let out the other room for your privacy – a good selling point. The same can be offered to your family/friends though. Rooms are adequate with all basic provisions including electric kettle, tea/coffee supplies, solar night lamps etc. We drank their spring water without any hassles. Only sore point was the mattress, which was not very comfortable. The room where we stayed had a lawn in front with provisions for bonfire. Tea Room is the best place in the property where you can sit and chat for hours, enjoy your poison, your meals, tea, snacks or read a book. Or one can simply sit there for hours looking at the sloping tea plantation and the expanse of the valley – “to one who has been long in city pent ……”.

Host: Sandeep – a planter, a tea enthusiast and a naturalist also turned out to be an attentive un-obtrusive host. He has been with us through the trip without making us aware of his presence, a quality I wish some more people we know had. He seemed quite knowledgeable about history of the region, of the local tribes and their culture and about the eco-system as a whole.

Activities: If you are not a Tea Room person and if plantation walks still leave you unsatisfied, you may go for a hike at Tenerife which is the highest peak and offers a steep trek of about 500 meters. You can also go on a tranquil walk to the silent Thoda village through Shola/Eucalyptus forest – this hike is about 4 km each way but worth a try. There are some museums and some other popular tourist destinations like SIMS park, dolphin’s nose (too commercial as they say) etc which may be visited. Also since this place is close to Ooty, the sightseeing fanatics may try all popular “places to see around Ooty”. This was not our intention and we had done the forest walk, plantation walks, a toy train ride to Ooty and a visit to Bee Museum Ooty. To each his own, as they say. Unless you are really used to a lot of milk/sugar in your tea, you can try tea tasting conducted by Sandeep where he makes you taste six different varieties of tea and explain the concepts of tea tasting – overall quite informative. If you want to buy some of what you have tasted, you can go ahead and do that for a price which may range from Rs. 400 to Rs. 7500 per kg. We bought some as gifts.

Food: Food they served included breakfast (inclusive in tariff) and dinner (@Rs.350 PH). We read a lot about their traditional Badaga cuisine and were eager to try. I wont say we were dissatisfied and food served to us each time were adequate, hot, tasty and had the right balance in taste likely suited for all palate. The cuisine however did not offer anything radically different or anything out of the ordinary.

Brownie Points: Some touches we thought were really nice – (1) piping hot snacks with evening tea/coffee readily elevated the mood and was complimentary; (2) they served ice cubes and soda in the evenings; (3) they had a Lavazza espresso machine and some capsules so that an espresso addict like me never felt out of place – this was way beyond my expectation; (4) Sandeep took us to the quaint Coonoor Club – a planters club which is a second home (if not home) to the planters around. He took us once for lunch and once for a barbeque night and it felt so much like home. This was a very nice touch to the whole concept of “home-stay in tea plantation”. I have been to 17 of the biggest tea gardens in Assam and I can assure you this. (5) If you want a ride to the Coonoor town, Sandeep is ever ready for a drop.

Overall: Overall I would rate this experience as a very satisfying one – one that will linger for a week after you are back to your life. Those who want a leisurely outing with spouse/family/friends where they want to sit back and relax and go for a few occasional walks and those who want to spend their vacation away from the vulgar eyes, may choose this without any second thought. Those who want a very active vacation looking to tick all the sightseeing boxes or those who just travel to drink with friends should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room facing the lawn adjacent to Tea Room is the one to stay in
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gadfly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews