We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'land Plantation Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recommend this place for following reasons
1) great location, more than 100 acres of their own organic plantation gives you enough space to explore
2) food was great, cook Das not only cooked but gave me cooking lesson for my favorite malai kofta
3) nice hosts, available on request and not too intrusive
4) rooms are beautifully designed and give a rustic feel
5) beautiful bathrooms overlooking dense plantations.. Don't complain of privacy when birds fly gaping at you ;)


What's wrong?
Well nothing that I think of... Drive carefully and keep directions handy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    28
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If peace and quite is what one is looking for this is the place.to experience it. Being tea drinkers we really appreciated seeing how tea grows, is picked and processed. Truly a beautiful location, great accomodations and food and awesome hospitality. We enjoyed our stay very much and will have to stay for a longer visit next time.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs if steps are of concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurangabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the place to be if you are still looking for the unexploited Nilgiris. This was our first visit to the Hill Station of South India and truly Nilgiris is the place to be. Had never planned to this part of the country because had always heard that they are too crowded. But one must come to this place and ONLY THEN will you realise the beauty of this place. Tea, Coffee, Spice plantation is what you can see here, Lovely trek to the natural-'machan', home made food, excellent room, best view in entire region. Do not expect many people as there are only 6 rooms and I hope it remains the same. The professional pictures are true pictures and you can imagine how beautiful the place is. Truly a romantic destination.

Room Tip: Hornbill is where we stayed, did not look at the others but Hornbill was too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptulshan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is really out of the way. Tucked away in one of the nicer corners of Nilgiris, and one that does not see too much visitors. So, it is very quiet. I cant but praise the location. It is next to a reserve forest. So we had black bear, bison and innumerable birds as visitors during our stay. There is a water fall in the property, but the rains failed this year, so that was a trickle. I love cycling, so the winding mountain roads were a dream to bike on.

The property is really nice - three houses. The Estate house has 2 rooms which are really spacious and suitable for families with kids. Larger groups can take the Pepper House which involves a climb down from the Estate House where you need to come for food. The Hornbill House which has the best location (next to the water fall) and a great view is still farther away, is great for people seeking even more privacy. The place has solar power, so the occasional power cuts are manageable. The rooms are nice, with clean sheets and the bathrooms are great too. If you like driving around the tea estates, this place is it.

The food is good, but spartan and definitely not ostentatious. So, folks who like to have a feast during vacations should be wary. The service is attentive. And our host was a treasure trove of information after his two decades in the Nilgiris. I enjoyed our conversations.

There are building up an organic vegetable garden, so hopefully they can serve meals cooked from the fresh veggies. The Nilgiri vegetables are fresh and tasty!

Room Tip: Get detailed directions from your host before you start. This place is far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellipuzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a long journey through the bustling North of India and after a few days staying with some friends in Bangalore, we set off on an epic car journey up into the Nilgiris to experience the Nilgiri mountain railway. We stayed at the O'land estate for 3 nights, and chose it because of its unique location and the fact that it offered something a bit different from previous places on or trip, we could easily have spent longer and we will certainly be back.

The drive up from Bangalore, through the Mudumalai park up to Ooty is breathtaking, stopping to see elephants and other wildlife on the way, slowly climbing up the hills, it's a delight to have the windows down as the fresh air and smell of fresh tea blows in the window, we arrived late at the O'land, and in the dark it's very difficult to find, but the estate manager directed us on the phone and we got there in the end.

The setting is serene and the surroundings beautiful, it's worth getting up early to catch the sunrise each morning, there is plenty of wildlife around and due to the remote location it feels like another world. We stayed in the hornbill house for one evening and the pepper for two, both were great, very clean and quite charming,we would recommend trying both if you have the chance.

The walk up to the tree house is not to be missed and we would encourage as much exploration as possible, we saw Gaur, a troop of Langurs, hornbills and many other wildlife including the evidence of sloth bears.

The estate is a 40 minute drive from Coonoor and the drive is spectacular.

All meals are included, and although it wasn't the best food we had on our trip, it was still very good,

the O'land is an unique and truly unforgettable experience and if you are planning on staying in this region, I wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruairidh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As all other people over here has stated this place is very beautiful. The silence will be killed only with the chirping of the birds, and I'm not sure how many types of bird voices I have heard over there. The property is great for lovers and who have some type of adventure in them. I have stayed at the Hornbill house. The location is simply great and wonderful. The goods - Nicely located place very clam and silence is the key there. Good food very tasty and healthy too. Nice people to deal with very understanding and helpful manager Mr. Sajan. A great walk through is there to the tree top where there is a place to sit and enjoy nature. Its a walk but worth it. (Don't miss it)
The Bad's - No room service. We stayed in the Hornbill house and we had to walk for food to the estate house which was exciting for me but not if we have some elder people and kids with us. The walk is tiresome and hard.

Carry Airtel connection with you if you need to be connected there. All other networks are mostly not there. Other networks come in between and just drops off. Airtel is the best one to have when you are there.

Room Tip: Choose Hornbill rooms if you are couple and love some privacy in a great deal. But remember you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kollam003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The thing my husband and I missed the most after we returned from O'land was waking up to the chirping of birds; parakeets, oriental magpie robins, red whiskered/red vented bulbuls to name a few. We stayed at Pepper House in June 2012 for a duration of 3 nights and had the entire estate to ourselves. The location is fantastic, Sajjan is very friendly (he also helped us identify birds when he realised we were interested), the cook (not able to recall his name) was also very polite and made simple yet tasty food. The cottages are quite charming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
8.3 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
416 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
798 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
11.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kurumba Village Resort
Kurumba Village Resort
#2 of 12 in Coonoor
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'land Plantation Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'land Plantation Stay

Property: O'land Plantation Stay
Address: Kullakamby Post, Coonoor 643218, India (Formerly O'land Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oland Plantation is located on a lush 120 acres of organic tea, coffee, fruit and spice plantation. Coimbatore is 2.5 - 3 hours drive through the Nilgiris. Distance to Ooty is 34kms & Coonoor is 25kms Pickups and transfers from Bangalore City, Bangalore Airport,Coimbatore Airport, Ooty & Coonoor are available. There are 3 houses--Estate house,Pepper house, Hornbill houseEstate house has 2 rooms- The Mosaic & Estate room, Pepper house has 3 rooms- Family, Panorama, Studio, Hornbill house has 2 room- Jackfruit & Waterfall room. Each room is unique and has a different view of the estate. All rooms are eco-friendly. Cable television and DVD are available in most housesOland Plantation has two waterfalls on the estate and a view of the valley below. It offers a combination of eco-friendly accommodation, organic produce, wildlife experience and community activities. The estate is sometimes visited by wildlife like bears, bisons, elephants. Many rare birds can be spotted on the estate itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your O'land Plantation Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing