We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acres Wild - Long to be there again”
Review of Acres Wild

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acres Wild
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
1 review
“Acres Wild - Long to be there again”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Do you like a holiday where you can actually listen to everything around you? I don't mean the car honking and the mechanical voices announcing a sale in a Mall in Singapore. I mean birds talking to each other in the morning. In the morning where you actually want to wake up and take in the breathtaking view from the quaint cottages overlooking the most beautiful valley which has been largely untouched. You might actually see some Indian Gaur (that's for you Mansoor) lazily grazing on the tea estates or having a drink from the small pond. That's Acres Wild for you. I spent the best 3 days there with my family. I had gone there to celebrate my daughters birthday. I wanted to give her a taste of Mother Nature and what a time all of had there. If its hospitality that you are looking for then Mansoor and Tina are the most amazing hosts,just such nice people. They actually spend so much time with everyone and make everybody feel so welcome and at home. It definitely did not feel like i was at a resort. It felt like we were personally invited by them and i knew them for years. If you like to meet people then this is a great place. We made some really good friends here and i know that this is not the 'acquaintance type'. The food is great. Some really super, simple home cooked food. Not to forget the awesome cheese in the mornings along with my fresh baked bread. My daughter had an awesome time. She loved her time with animals at the farm. She helped in making some of the bread. The cottages are really clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend Acres Wild to anyone looking for a great holiday away from all of our crazy lives in the city. Mansoor and Tina you are living the life.....thanks for sharing it with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    120
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
221
89
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Acres wild is a perfect place to get away from the rat race and craziness of the city , we stayed there for couple of days and came back refreshed. Mansoor and Teena are great host , food is good and place is quiet and serene. We didnt try cheese making but did buy some cheese and it was the finest we have ever had ! Recommended !

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view, we stayed in Cheddar room, only downside was that we had to share the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monishanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited Acres Wild in the last week of March 2013 for a night. Mansoor and his family have set up this idyllic facility nestled - even in quiet Coonoor - far from the madding crowd on the sharp slope of a massive valley with fabulous views. The surroundings are exquisite and unspoiled, and the sunrises from behind the hill are to die for. The rooms are very clean, thoughtfully furnished, and have all the facilities required for a very comfortable stay (we stayed at Cheddar House). Thankfully, there was no TV! The cottage has a neat service area where bottled water, basic crockery and a gas stove with utensils are provided for guests who would like to rustle up some personal food. Service (starting from Mansoor himself and extending to the friendly family and staff members) is very warm, personal and efficient. The food is tasty and served in the common dining room, affording an opportunity for interaction with other guests. A pool table in the adjoining games room is an added attraction while one waits for dinner to be served. There are several interesting things to do in the farm itself, and the activities are crowned by the opportunity to see a variety of fresh cheeses being made by Tina and her crew. The cheeses Tina makes here are famous all over the area, and delicious herbed mozzarella was served for breakfast alongwith freshly-baked bread. I would recommend a visit to Acres Wild to anyone looking for a unique, interesting and very comfortable farm-stay within a very manageable drive from Bangalore.

Room Tip: Cheddar House is splendidly isolated with exquisite bay-window views of the valley. You can drive up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is awesome if you are looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle of city chaos. It is a very natural and family type home-stay with no superficiality. Since the cottages are spread out you get your own space and can surely recharge your lungs with ample amount of oxygen. The host family is really very nice with Mansoor being a thorough gentleman and intellectual of course.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilPachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tranquil!
This is how I can describe my stay over there.
Lush green, no pollution ...
Excellent food and hospitality.
Rooms are nice, only few cottages, separated from each other, very good service. Has a nice book collection too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supratik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is the best place to be at after hectic working days. we had a great experience at the resort. Rooms are exceptionally good and clean. The view from the cottage is mesmerizing. Food was really good. Good hospitality. in short had a great time at the resort.
Children can enjoy watching cheesemaking and have lot to play with

Room Tip: Haloumi is a great cottage with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sendhil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Acres Wild Farmstay, Coonoor. It was a good choice as we are nature lovers and we could take long walks in and around the farm which is spread over 25 acres of property. One good thing about this property is that there are only 3 cottages and all are spread far and way from each other. One can attend a cheese making or organic soap making class. We were even treated to a bread making class conducted by a French gentleman, who happens to be the owner's friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeyondHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.8 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 11 in Coonoor
789 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 11 in Coonoor
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
8.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kurumba Village Resort
Kurumba Village Resort
#2 of 11 in Coonoor
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Wild

Property: Acres Wild
Address: Kannimariamman Kovil Street | 571 Upper Meanjee Estate, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a unique farmstay as it is the only gourmet cheesemaking farmstay in India. It is also an organic sustainable farm with wild life like bisons and elephants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing