We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly different, gracious hospitality”
Review of Acres Wild

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acres Wild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited Acres Wild in the last week of March 2013 for a night. Mansoor and his family have set up this idyllic facility nestled - even in quiet Coonoor - far from the madding crowd on the sharp slope of a massive valley with fabulous views. The surroundings are exquisite and unspoiled, and the sunrises from behind the hill are to die for. The rooms are very clean, thoughtfully furnished, and have all the facilities required for a very comfortable stay (we stayed at Cheddar House). Thankfully, there was no TV! The cottage has a neat service area where bottled water, basic crockery and a gas stove with utensils are provided for guests who would like to rustle up some personal food. Service (starting from Mansoor himself and extending to the friendly family and staff members) is very warm, personal and efficient. The food is tasty and served in the common dining room, affording an opportunity for interaction with other guests. A pool table in the adjoining games room is an added attraction while one waits for dinner to be served. There are several interesting things to do in the farm itself, and the activities are crowned by the opportunity to see a variety of fresh cheeses being made by Tina and her crew. The cheeses Tina makes here are famous all over the area, and delicious herbed mozzarella was served for breakfast alongwith freshly-baked bread. I would recommend a visit to Acres Wild to anyone looking for a unique, interesting and very comfortable farm-stay within a very manageable drive from Bangalore.

Room Tip: Cheddar House is splendidly isolated with exquisite bay-window views of the valley. You can drive up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 392 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is awesome if you are looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle of city chaos. It is a very natural and family type home-stay with no superficiality. Since the cottages are spread out you get your own space and can surely recharge your lungs with ample amount of oxygen. The host family is really very nice with Mansoor being a thorough gentleman and intellectual of course.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunilPachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tranquil!
This is how I can describe my stay over there.
Lush green, no pollution ...
Excellent food and hospitality.
Rooms are nice, only few cottages, separated from each other, very good service. Has a nice book collection too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supratik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is the best place to be at after hectic working days. we had a great experience at the resort. Rooms are exceptionally good and clean. The view from the cottage is mesmerizing. Food was really good. Good hospitality. in short had a great time at the resort.
Children can enjoy watching cheesemaking and have lot to play with

Room Tip: Haloumi is a great cottage with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sendhil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Acres Wild Farmstay, Coonoor. It was a good choice as we are nature lovers and we could take long walks in and around the farm which is spread over 25 acres of property. One good thing about this property is that there are only 3 cottages and all are spread far and way from each other. One can attend a cheese making or organic soap making class. We were even treated to a bread making class conducted by a French gentleman, who happens to be the owner's friend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBeyondHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Acres Wild was every bit what we expected and more. It was remote but yet walkable from the town centre. It was totally laid back, with a little cottage to ourselves filled with wonderful books, and basic kitchen for beverages etc. The main dining hall is made to order, home style and fresh. Some of it from the farm itself. No TV in the rooms is a bonus we didn't expect.

Friendliness of owners is the best part of he deal. It's like staying with friends, and yet having your own personal space.

Room Tip: Choose any of tech cottages at free will. They are all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Truly Acres Wild. I say this because just as we arrived at the resort there was a small heard of Gaur grazing about 100 feet from the Resort office. This is the first time I have ever seen Gaur so close, outside a National Park. Two days later, as we were leaving the heard was back again.

We stayed in Haloumi Cottage . The cottage is well located on the edge of the hill. It is a two bedroom cottage with a common living room and a kitchen. You can enjoy the beautiful view of the hills to the south, Meetupalayam town to the east and Coonoor town to the west from the gazebo outside the cottage.

The common dining area is near the main house. Here you get an opportunity to meet the other guests and the most interesting person Mr. Mansoor Khan the owner of this beautiful property. Breakfast, Lunch and dinner were simple, homemade, but tasty. You have the option of having lunch and dinner out. There are a number of restaurants in town just 2 to 3 kms away from the resort. The details of the restaurants are available at the resort reception.

The children really had a great time playing. They had their first experience of milking a cow, which they were really thrilled about. They fed the fish in the lake. They helped Mr.Mansoor make bread which turned out very good. One thing I really appreciate here is Mr.Masoor’s patients of explaining how to bake your own bread and also giving three children aged 5 to 8 an opportunity to help in making the bread. The children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We also got to see how different types of cheeses are made and processed. Mr. Mansoor also makes his own soap. But we did not have the time to see him make soap.

Over all a beautiful property. There are a lot of things which you can do in Acres Wild itself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.0 mi away
Teanest
Teanest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
442 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
1.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
8.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Wild

Address: Kannimariamman Kovil Street | 571 Upper Meanjee Estate, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Coonoor
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a unique farmstay as it is the only gourmet cheesemaking farmstay in India. It is also an organic sustainable farm with wild life like bisons and elephants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing