We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
55
77
14
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
77
14
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssim's parkneemrana propertysilver oakeucalyptus roomold world charmblair athollexperience lifepotato curryold worldlycolonial furnitureflowering shrubsextra personfour postermain buildingfood ordertall treeshill station
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 159 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Great place for home stay without busiest town of ooty. Coonoor is nice place to stay. Food is not upto the level. Room's interior is good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tips_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Wallwood is an old English bungalow which has been taken over by Neemrana hotels and is managed as homestay property. We stayed there for 3 nights and had a wonderful holiday. The property is quite charming though it does have a musty old feel to it. The staff is absolutely wonderful. The caretaker, Geeta, in particular is great and she goes the extra mile to help you out with anything. We had kids 4 and 2 and they had a wonderful time..spent the day playing in the backyard, spotting birds and monkeys etc. They will cook food for you and give you a choice of south indian or continental meals. The continental food was very good. You dont get lunch there but they can cook up something light for you on request. The property is walking distance from Sim's Park which is well worth spending a few hours at. Coonoor isnt your typical crowded hill station with a lot of sightseeing. It is a much quieter place with lovely views and ideal for relaxation and Wallwood Garden blends in wonderfully with the place. I would go there again. Only thing is if you are expecting a 5 start style luxurious experience, you wont get that here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gaurav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Excellent ambience, fabulous location, wonderful service. I would find no fault with this place at all. The tea bar Tranquilitea right next door makes awesome quiche and brownies. The staff at Wallwood were ever attentive. They arranged a car for us and we enjoyed roaming the hillside, both on wheels and on foot. The two suites are a bit off the main building and could possibly have an intercom phone. One hates to ring the bell and summon someone everytime one needs something. Food is all right. The south indian stuff was great, but the continental dinners can sometimes be a bit tedious. But they'll make whatever you want if you make your choice known. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to repeat it whenever we can.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limbobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Wallwood garden happened to us because of Tripadvisor and were we obliged for it! We had planned a weekend trip to Coonoor in March ,(a) because we were in Chennai and (b) because it seemed a cute little hill station minus the hustle-bustle of big brother Ooty thats half an hour away. Well, Wallwood couldn't be more symbolic of Coonoor in case of the latter as it literally seeps under your skin with its serenity.

The place, owned by the Neemrana group which specializes in converting old heritage properties into hotels, is a charming sprawling cottage set amidst a little garden, very close to Sims Park. Wallwood has retained its archaic getup and antique furniture superimposed by all the modern amenities that you would like to live in and scores full marks in atmosphere, probably because you know it belonged to some Scottish Duke!

The garden is not quite big but just right for a morning tea or an evening sit-out while breakfast is best had in their morning room which overlooks overlooking some amazing foliage-topped hills. But the most wonderful part of the stay in undoubtedly the Manager Geeta and her super-efficient, and friendly staff. They were full when we were there and though there was a bit of delay in serving meals etc., you couldn't get upset seeing the sheer effort the staff put in to make those meals so special. Indian, South Indian and continental - we tried out everything and I can't seem to remember a thing wrong about any!

I would seriously recommend this place to people visiting Coonoor if you are looking for a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dearsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Wallwood Garden is a bungalow built around 1912 by a Scot, and formerly called Blair Atholl, situated on the main road to Kotagiri. It was subsequently sold to an english couple who ran it as a bed and breakfast, before it passed to Liptons Tea. It is still owned by a family in the tea business, and leased t the Neemrana Group of Hotels who run it as a bed and breakfast. The lady manager is very efficient and speaks good english. We chose the largest room, an annexe in the garden, which was traditionally furnished with a large and updated bathroom. The staff were keen to please and carefully discussed what we would like to have for dinner and breakfasts. It is in a good, quiet location, high out of town, amongst up-market properties and near to the Botanical Gardens. There are tea plantations to visit and good walking. They arranged a car and driver for us for our onward journey. One downer - the monkeys arrive at tea-time in search of food and they are swarming all over the garden !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews