We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very quaint old-worldly property maintained to keep the atmosphere as authentic as possible. The high point was the service which was excellent. Traveling with two young kids is usually a stressful exercise, but Geetha and her team made it a genuinely fun stay with their warmth and thoughtfulness.The food was good too.The location offers good walks though just curling up with a good read and taking in the view seems just fine as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreekumar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are delighted to read abut your experience. Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the Manager and her team. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the cuisine to the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

I always wanted to live in the times of colonial era . The Wallwood garden being a bungalow from the British raj days made me feel that. The wooden flooring in my room with the fire place gave me an exquisite, calm and serene touch to my stay. I spent most of the time indoors snugged up reading books. In the evening when it was dark, i even saw a bison standing in front of the adjacent bungalow. All in all a nice getaway for people who just want a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhanu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to the Wallwood Garden and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Excellent and Prompt Service, Clean Comfortable Rooms and and Extremely Friendly and Efficient Staff, that about sums up our stay at Wallwood. The quaint old world charm that is Coonoor was ably supported by Neemrana's excellent and petite property. The team was very hospitable and friendly and ensured that our stay was memorable. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about theWallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the entire team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Neemrana is known for its service quality and hospitality. This image was not let down by the people at Wallwood Garden in Coonoor. It is a vintage property, quite easily reachable, yet with a dose of solitude that we yearn for in such trips. Amenities are adequate, and the most important part is the personalised services the staff offer. This is ensured always, I believe, as there are just 7 to 8 rooms in total and therefore never gets really over-crowded. The views surrounding the property is beautiful, particularly from the dining area. I would recommend this to travelers.

Room Tip: Depending upon how many people you travel, you can choose the rooms. Go to the outer rooms if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somasundaram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your generous compliments about the service have been conveyed to the team at the property.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Wallwood Garden Coonoor for 4 nights and 4 days from 6th-10th June 2013. We were two families with 3 children. Geetha and her team were absolutely amazing. They ensured we got food the way we wanted it and went out of their way to even pick up medicines for us when my son had a fall. We have stayed in many hotels world-over and can confidently tell you that even the most exemplary service doesn't feel like you are staying in your own home. Geetha and her team made us feel like we were really at home. The location is great and the heritage bunglow's rooms are nice and spacious (The annexe rooms are spacious and neat but smell slightly musty - wooden flooring like other rooms in the main building would make these suite rooms more cozy and classy). Overall I would recommend this Neemrana property highly.

Room Tip: Choose the Annexe rooms (Cherry Blossom or SIlver Oak) if travelling with kids as these are the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jramr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are delighted to read about your experience at the property. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the Manager and her team.

Your suggestions have been noted and we shall try our best to incorporate the same at the earliest.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Neemrana provides good staying experience with renovated old buildings, having already stayed in Tranquebar property of them, decided to choose this in conoor over other well established hotel brands. It was definitely worth it and right decision.

Being a small property with about 8-10 rooms all within a single bungalow and an annex building, it was quite cosy. It was close to the park, just outside the town, so it was easy access to the town and can drop by late as well.

Nice garden for the kids to play and good food as well and all reasonably priced. Very good & attentive staff who takes care of every need.

Since we stayed during the tamil festival season of Pongal, the hostel staff celebrated it in a nice & simple way. It allowed the guests who like to participate, at the same time does not disturb other who do not want to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmadhanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Pongal celebration at the property.

Your compliments about the cuisine and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana Hotels and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wallwood Neemrana is a no frills place with an apt tag line - A non hotel Hotel! One will not miss any of the amenities that any other hotel will offer plus the added advantage of personalized service to it. The property is an old bungalow with 6-7 rooms inside and 3 rooms outside the bungalow. We took the SilverOak room outside the bungalow as we were four of us and we wanted to stay together and also not disturb the rest of the guests. A five minutes walk from Sim's Park in Coonoor, Wallwood is on the main road itself yet nicely tucked away from all the noise and crowd of Coonoor. The highlight of the place is the service. Geetha, Rajesh and the rest of the team members ensure that your smallest needs are attended to.

There are no minuses I could find in the place and even if there are the staff, their courteousness and their hospitality negates it all.

Thank you Geetha, Rajesh and the staff at Wallwood for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: If you are the kind of person who expects the resort kind of facilities and amenities here, please d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapnaGurukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Silver Oak room.

Your appreciation about the warm service and hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and her team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.9 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Teanest
Teanest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sree Harshav Cottages, Drumella
6.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden

Address: 58 Kotagiri Road | The Nilgiris, Tamil nadu, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: $64 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hours from Coimbatore, in the heart of upper Coonoor, lies Wallwood Garden. Earlier known as Blair Atholl – it was built over a hundred years ago by a Scottish Major General, hailing from the village Blair Athol in Scotland. The Duke of Atholl still lives in Scotland in his own castle. Wallwood was later sold to a British couple after the First World War, who ran it as a boarding house for many years. It was purchased by Liptons before the Second World War and the house has remained in the hands of tea companies – currently with Matheson Bosanquet. The Mansion has retained the atmosphere of the past when tea estates had their own lifestyle ! It has its own prize-winning garden of the Nilgiris overlooking a unique pomological garden. It is located two minutes from Sim’s Park, one of India’s most luxuriant Botanical Gardens, laid out in 1874 with over 1200 species of plants and many old rare trees like the Rudraksh, Paperwood, Elephant Leg, Strawberry Tree etc. Savour the wildlife sanctuaries of Ooty, Pykara, Kotagiri & Bandipur, driving through the lush tea plantations of the Nilgiris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallwood Garden Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing