We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
55
77
14
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
77
14
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssim's parkneemrana propertysilver oakeucalyptus roomold world charmblair athollexperience lifepotato curryold worldlycolonial furnitureflowering shrubsextra personfour postermain buildingfood ordertall treeshill station
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 159 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a lovely stay at Wallwood, this was our 2nd visit here and have already planned to visit Wallwood again later this year.
The staff is very warm and courteous. Geetha was very helpful and I would like to make a special mention for Shiva who was extremely helpful to us during our stay and made us feel at home.
The food was great and was like home cooked food (my son especially loved the food). Room was nice and spaciaous. Wallwood is in close proximity to places like Sims park which was nice as you can take walks in the park and around the quiet and peaceful neighbourhood.
I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a nice quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Eucalyptus room is nice........
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesHughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Eucalyptus room.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the hotel manager and her team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the food to the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Overall an amazing experience. The Staff were wonderful. Good food.
Homely feeling, Value for money.
Can add some games like table tennis carom and all.
I would rate them 85 out of 100
Definitely worth a visit with family.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dineshkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

It is heartening to learn that you were well looked after by the team and thoroughly enjoyed your stay. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Thank you for your patronage to the Wallwood Garden and the Neemrana brand. We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is the 3rd Neemrana property we stayed at and unfortunately was the worst. I dont know when was the last time this property wad audited for quality standards. Except for the room called Eucalyptus, none of the other rooms have any view. But for the weather, it will be difficult to guess in which city your room is at . Fire places arent functional(atleast during our stay), the taps dont close properly(threading is gone), the sofa's in living and dining areas are uncomfortable to sit. The wooden floor in the living area is uneven, creaky and many of the wooden panels are loose. The dairy whitener kept in the in-room coffee/tea set, was past the "best before" date , by a month to 4 months. This usually is the No.1 reason for stomach upsets and one would unknowingly blame the Hotel food for this !

You step outside your room, the property is desolate, all the staff are always huddled in the kitchen room or at the open area outside the kitchen...we saw a guest coming for check-in one morning and for the next few minutes he was trying hard to figure out who to speak to for check-in, since no one is to be seen in the hall, till i had to pull out one of the staff from the hideout kitchen. The much famed manager was there only for few hours after we checked in and things were good till then , she wasnt around later till we checked out the next day(possibly on leave), there was marked dtop in the behaviour and attentiveness of the staff, in her absence. On a cold morning, you would want hot food for breakfast, be it continential or Indian...fruit platter came first and many of the fruits came from the fridge ! Then came a burned omlette(am not exagerating!) that was cold as well...and toasts from a bread that wasnt fresh and butter cubes that were as hard as stone. The previous night, the person had said Poori Bhaji will be served for breakfast...when i enquired about it...he said it isnt ready...this was at 9 am...and he said it WONT be ready for atleast an hour ! When i settled the bills at checkout, the person assumed that he neednt give me the balance change of few hundred rupees. He just took the money and disappeared into the kitchen ! Usually, i go overboard on tipping and it was the first time i was not interested to even ask for the change !

Am not sure whats the heritage experience here...none could even tell us the history of the wallwood garden property. But for the Neemrana brand, this place would not even find a mention.This property is a dent on Neemrana's portfolio and is in neglect.

Room Tip: Eucalyptus is the only room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoj_V_Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about Wallwood Garden. We are sorry to learn that your stay did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer and explanation.

As you are aware, Neemrana works on a different hospitality model which is more intimate than large hotels. Nevertheless we are creating a small reception area at the entrance of the property for the convenience of our guests.

With reference to the decor we are pleased to inform you that the furniture has been completely revamped last week. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
With reference to your feedback about the food, this should never have been the case and we have pulled up the Chef and the service team and given them the necessary training and instructions. Please be assured that we have noted each and every point and shall do the needful to ensure that such feedback does not recur in the future.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and more enjoyable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Driving through Ooty and Coonoor we were so disappointed by the lack of greenery. All you see are houses in bright gaudy colours all over the hillside. But our choice of Neemrana Wallwood Garden changed our opinion. A 100+ year old property in a quiet neighborhood of Coonoor out of the hustle and bustle of the town. It is ideally located about 5 mins qalk to the beautiful Sims Park .The manager at Wallwood is Gita , who goes out of her way to make you comfortable. The staff are friendly and polite We stayed in the Pine room and we had also booked the Laburnum room for my parents. The Laburnum is a lower priced room and does not have a TV for those who are interested, My favourite room of all the rooms i saw was Eucalyptus as it has the best view.The food is yummy and the staff are more than willing to accomodate any food request that you make .Looking forward to more Neemrana Holidays after this fabulous trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and valuable feedback about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

Your feedback about the rooms, the food and the service is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed Neemrana’s hospitality. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

We thank you for your patronage to Wallwood Garden and the Neemrana brand. Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

an excellent choice to unwind n recuperate from the busy city life schedules.. if you are not the regular city dweller types, if you dont want to be among concrete structures spoiling an other beautiful landscape, if you don bother whether your hotel hoom lacks a TV and a fridge and the hotel lacking a bar, if you find peace in listening to the silence of nature at night, if you love waking up to the chirping of birds and dew covered surroundings in a pristene old setup, if you like to live the olden days as the 'shahri meem n sahib' at the summer palace, then this is the perfect setting for you.. dont think twice to book yourself a room here n pack your bags.. real good rooms, the wooden flooring is warm even in the chilling cold, nostalgic setting with vintage feel, the smell of age old history of the place, it all tickles your inner self.. you keep wondering what all stories every painting, photograph, piece of furniture has got to tell you from their long living past.. its the right place for you to recharge yourself for getting back to your regular busy life..

food is good, even though one might find it priced a l'il high.. but you really wouldnt mind.. the warmth of the hospitality of the staff is commendable.. they arranged for a complimentary cake and a perfect candle lit dinner which took my better half for a pleasant surprise worth much more i was charged for the dinner..

we went in July which according to them is height of offseason.. but we found it perfect as we got the entire bunglow to ourselves.. what more can you ask for..

Room Tip: In my opinion Acacia is the best room. With access to the side garden and being in the main heritage building it has a charm to itself. But make sure that the adjoining room is vacant or taken within the group as privacy may be a concern when thhe place is fully booked. Both the rooms share a door connecting them. Try avoid the rooms facing front as the noise from the road closeby can be disturbing. Eucalyptus with the view of the gardens on the backside is also a good option.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind words about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor. We are pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the ambience of the property and the food. Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the hotel team.

It is only the initiated traveller that is able to appreciate true authenticity and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews