We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stop off on way to Nilgiris”
Review of Hotel City Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel City Tower
Ranked #14 of 74 Coimbatore B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stop off on way to Nilgiris”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've stayed here twice - in 2001 and 2012 both times as a one night stop off en route to catching the Blue Mountain train from Mettupalayam into the Nilgiris Hills the next morning.
It's nothing flash but the rooms are spacious. Dont bother with anything above the Exec AC room RS3400.
The Cloud Nine Restaurant is a good place to get a sunset view of the hills in the distance if you are lucky with the weather and the Indian food is good authentic and spicy. The restaurant downstairs is not so good.
That train into the hills leaves at 7.10am and a lot of people hack it up there on the train from Coimbatore but if you don't mind spending RS800 on a sunrise drive go from the City Tower - 45 mins so book a taxi for 5.45am to be sure to catch it.
If looking for a driver in Coimbatore I can recommend the very experienced Mr Periyannan who has a spectacular ambassador car - often parked up outside the city tower - you can't miss him.

Room Tip: Do get a room on a high floor but away from the stairway (this double avoids road noise and departi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
7
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed there on 30th october 2012,I found the position too good,just 1min from Chennai Central Station.By infrastructure,it's good,the restaurant is also good,good staffs.,The rooms are large spacious,toilet was clean.No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARITRARAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel this week for two days (23 & 24) October-12 and its really worth for the money that you pay. Ample car park space with good restaurants. The hotel is very clean and the staffs are really friendly. Even though the hotel is bit old one the facilities they have maintained in a very good way. The room I took was a deluxe room with a very good balcony with a good view. Only issue with the balcony is the handrails are bit low so don't allow any children to go in. I am not sure whether there is wi-fi internet available as i had my own net facility. I forgot to ask that.
The rate is also very good and not that much high. 3500+tax double occupancy.
Buffet breakfast is included which is also very good.
Over all the hotel is very clean and neat and value for money that you pay. All major shopping areas are nearby only.

Room Tip: If you are getting a room above second floor please keep in mind with regards to the balcony handrai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShankerSreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel City Tower in Coimbatore is an excellent hotel.The rooms are just fine.The service is perfect.The hotel is not even much pricy.The breakfast buffet is a delicacy.The staff were quite good.Overall,I enjoyed my stay at The City Tower.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaneshKSalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

it was a good hotel according to its room size, cleanliness,and buffet breakfast was nice,............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: above the average
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhalgoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The only thing positive about this hotel is about the conveyance options. I don't see any other single reason to give even an average rating. first rates are too high. renovated rooms with out any quality, bed and equipments are bought from secondhand markets (feels so), bed spreads were having a foul smell even after complaining nothing happened. The food ordered in the room was like rotten which the manger accepted and served another item as they cannot undue the billing. The morning breakfast was unbelievable had fungus on breads after complaining they replaced it. House cleaning was up to the standard of that hotel which never did happened in my two day stay. This hotel should be put in a category of Rs 1000 -Rs 1500 range for a/c rooms. if u pays more than this you are in a mess

Room Tip: i cannot suggest any room in here as it is not at all worth for the money you spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GALLIVANTER-VINOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coimbatore hotels

AGRA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The location is good , lot of conveyance options are available as you step out of the hotel.
The reception staff is out of clues , though room service is good.
The buffet b/f is just ok.
Though the food quality in restaurant is good.
The roof top restaurant is worth a meal in the evenings.
No swimming pool .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puneetkhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
266.4 mi away
Park Inn
Park Inn
#42 of 93 in Coimbatore
42 reviews
265.3 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
265.6 mi away
Vijai Lodge
Vijai Lodge
#39 of 93 in Coimbatore
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
265.7 mi away
Kovai Residency
Kovai Residency
#63 of 93 in Coimbatore
21 reviews
266.1 mi away
Hotel Alankar Grande
Hotel Alankar Grande
#27 of 93 in Coimbatore
146 reviews
266.9 mi away
Hotel Vijai Paradise
Hotel Vijai Paradise
#69 of 93 in Coimbatore
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Tower

Property: Hotel City Tower
Address: 148 City Tower Wall Tax Road | Ram Nagar, Coimbatore 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel City Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing