We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

It was really an excellent accommodation. The lobby is great, pool side is very good. The views from the pool and the rooms were good.
I had buffet dinner and it was marvellous and so was the breakfast.
Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raminder N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Surya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 984 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at the Taj Surya in March'13 for a couple of days. The hotel is a typical city / business hotel and boasts of exactly what you expect a Taj to have. Excellent hotel, very well maintained, lovely rooms..Most importantly,they have very competitive rates for the service that they provide. Would definately stay there for future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapta1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was my second stay in this friendly hotel. I always believed as long as the staffs are concerned about the guests the property becomes a home and this hotel is like that. The moment i stepped in the lobby and approached the reception desk they could identify me from my previoust visit. Their data base had kept everything on the form filled up and i had to just sign the form. There on wards it was a guided walk via the lift to my assigned room.
It is a 5 star hotel and has all the requisite trappings of a 5 star hotel but unlike some hotels the staffs are not robotic, they are warm human being.
For example the moment i walked into their restaurant Latitude for my breakfast there was Manoj Kumar to guide me through the array of buffet spread, he was all along there to see that i was at ease. i enjoyed the food. after the breakfast he suggested that i should try the Chinese cuisine of the hotel during the dinner.
i took his advise and went to Red Pearl the restaurant for Chinese cuisine for our dinner. There was Sumit Sarkar took care of us,this is a dinner and drink restaurant. Sumit guided us through the dinner and was always there for our smallest of need. I took dinner there with my friends.
Overall experience in this hotel was pleasant and definitely will stay here during my next visit.

Room Tip: Facing swimming pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Cant say anything great about this hotel. Okay for a night or two. The building right opposite behind the hotel is a damper. Washroom lighting needs to be improved. Will check out an other place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BONYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had stayed here sometime back and was happy with my stay.
I came back again this year and was not dissappointed - It has maintained its high standard and in fact, I thought the food had upped itself to another level.
The rooms was impeccable, the bed comfortable, a choice of pillows was given, the room service was excellent - courteous and efficient.
Breakfast spread was more than adequate with Indian and Western choices along with fresh fruits, etc. Fresh juice was served on request.
While I did not go to any of their restaurants I did order dinner in Room Sevice and found the menu quite well spread and food was delectable.
Great to see a hotel keep up its high standard.

Room Tip: I always request a room on a higher floor - They are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinayAsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is nice enough but needs to try harder. The Chinese restaurant was very cold with air conditioning on full even though it was winter outside when we visited. The duck dish was OK but the chef took a very long time to produce the simple rice stir fry from the left over pieces of duck. Over half an hour when we were only two of three diners in the restaurant.

There was no wine in the hotel at all!!!. They had run out some time before but had not ordered until they had run out. This is a Taj hotel and one would expect more.

The room was OK, clean but nothing special for the price. Would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was on my way to Ooty and stayed a night with my family and kid. Reception was excellent and so is the checkin. In room dining was tasty and delivered on spot on time. Breakfast was good and other amminities are excellent. Staves are helpful and cordial.

Very happy memories and definite repeat for me.


Thank you all the personel involved.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aarindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
7.9 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#9 of 99 in Coimbatore
627 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#6 of 99 in Coimbatore
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#2 of 99 in Coimbatore
433 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#10 of 99 in Coimbatore
650 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
#7 of 99 in Coimbatore
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing