We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courteous,caring and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Courteous,caring and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was my second stay in this friendly hotel. I always believed as long as the staffs are concerned about the guests the property becomes a home and this hotel is like that. The moment i stepped in the lobby and approached the reception desk they could identify me from my previoust visit. Their data base had kept everything on the form filled up and i had to just sign the form. There on wards it was a guided walk via the lift to my assigned room.
It is a 5 star hotel and has all the requisite trappings of a 5 star hotel but unlike some hotels the staffs are not robotic, they are warm human being.
For example the moment i walked into their restaurant Latitude for my breakfast there was Manoj Kumar to guide me through the array of buffet spread, he was all along there to see that i was at ease. i enjoyed the food. after the breakfast he suggested that i should try the Chinese cuisine of the hotel during the dinner.
i took his advise and went to Red Pearl the restaurant for Chinese cuisine for our dinner. There was Sumit Sarkar took care of us,this is a dinner and drink restaurant. Sumit guided us through the dinner and was always there for our smallest of need. I took dinner there with my friends.
Overall experience in this hotel was pleasant and definitely will stay here during my next visit.

Room Tip: Facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    323
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
181
66
30
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Cant say anything great about this hotel. Okay for a night or two. The building right opposite behind the hotel is a damper. Washroom lighting needs to be improved. Will check out an other place next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had stayed here sometime back and was happy with my stay.
I came back again this year and was not dissappointed - It has maintained its high standard and in fact, I thought the food had upped itself to another level.
The rooms was impeccable, the bed comfortable, a choice of pillows was given, the room service was excellent - courteous and efficient.
Breakfast spread was more than adequate with Indian and Western choices along with fresh fruits, etc. Fresh juice was served on request.
While I did not go to any of their restaurants I did order dinner in Room Sevice and found the menu quite well spread and food was delectable.
Great to see a hotel keep up its high standard.

Room Tip: I always request a room on a higher floor - They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayAsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is nice enough but needs to try harder. The Chinese restaurant was very cold with air conditioning on full even though it was winter outside when we visited. The duck dish was OK but the chef took a very long time to produce the simple rice stir fry from the left over pieces of duck. Over half an hour when we were only two of three diners in the restaurant.

There was no wine in the hotel at all!!!. They had run out some time before but had not ordered until they had run out. This is a Taj hotel and one would expect more.

The room was OK, clean but nothing special for the price. Would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howrah, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was on my way to Ooty and stayed a night with my family and kid. Reception was excellent and so is the checkin. In room dining was tasty and delivered on spot on time. Breakfast was good and other amminities are excellent. Staves are helpful and cordial.

Very happy memories and definite repeat for me.


Thank you all the personel involved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a friends get to gather a month ago. Had ordered non-veg and veg snacks for the party, the chicken stuff was contaminated and upset the stomach of most guests. There is also no common toilets on the floor, so most of the guests had to que for the toilet. This is not my first time having spoilt food here, most dinners the one of the chicken items are spoilt. Would not recommend the food, otherwise everything else is good here, service and ambience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Narayanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The service is excellent and no words to say my experience. the location is good. Rooms are well maintained. Had a good breakfast. The bar service is good. i stayed for two days which is unforgettable in my lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundar e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
7.9 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#8 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#13 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel CAG Pride
Hotel CAG Pride
#2 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#7 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing