We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Claims to be 5 star, really a good 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Claims to be 5 star, really a good 3 star hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was OK for what it charges, however it is not a 5 star hotel.
In South India you can expect excellent service and fabulous breakfasts from a 5 star hotel. This hotel had reasonable service and not very good breakfasts.
An order for Dosa takes up to 30 minutes to deliver, and an order for bacon does not appear at all.
The pool closes very early in the evening, coming back from a hot day out, you might expect to relax in the pool, however it is closed.
Not really all that great, it is in a good position however, easy access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doveychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    329
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
183
67
31
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The advantage of this hotel is clearly their location. Nice and calm, yet close to the commercial hub. Good food (the fish curry and rice is awesome), courteous staff and a decent breakfast spread. And of course, flexible to ones weird requests :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very beautiful and well located hotel in the centre of Citi. Overall stay was very nice and they offer good deals on extended stay alongwith room upgrades to members. Food is awesome and fish is must try in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhisheknswati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

i stayed for 2days,the hotel was up to the standards of the taj group. restaurant was simply great and the service was good. rooms are spacious and comfortable. however given a choice i would prefer le meridian over this.

Room Tip: beside the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamsikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

i do not know why but this property does not feel like a Taj Vivanta property. maybe the fact that it was the old Surya hotel which was converted .on the whole had a pleasant experience when i stayed on 22nd sept.front office staff was enthusiastic and rooms are good and as per Vivanta standard.breakfast is excellent . i liked the design of their bar.it was my second stay and will definitely go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I checked in at around 10 PM. I liked the ambiance of reception area. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a great time staying for 2 nights. Room service was really good. I was on business trip so couldn't enjoy other aminities but I experienced ligtning fast Internet. I'd some problem with wifi configuration so had to call reception and a person came imediately and helped. Room service was good too. Overall it was a pleasent stay. Only thing I didn't like was that my room was on the side of their lawn area where some party was going on and it disturbed me with noise for some time in evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool side room and enjoy the stay :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank systemfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 night's on a business trip. Everything about hotel was upto its taj standard. Has 3 restaurants which served good food. Room service is prompt. Room size is comfortable and has a good view of the city from top floors. Cleanliness was upto its mark. Location is in the heart of city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raveen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
7.9 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#8 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#12 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel CAG Pride
Hotel CAG Pride
#2 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#7 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing