We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke on the water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Smoke on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food especially the western grills well marinated and well and cooked to perfection. Awesome atmosphere and the weather was excellent too. The concept of a five course meal is a new one to this town, sure it will do well as the food speaks for itself

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    315
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
177
64
29
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way to and from Ooty. We were traveling on the old steam train from Mettupalyam so broke the journey in each direction here. The guide book told us that there is no reason to go to Coimbatore if not for business, I disagree, there is this hotel. You could go there for a long weekend, never leave the hotel and have had a fine time. Or, if your partner/ spouse has business in Coimbatore go along too and enjoy the hotel whilst they work!
Reception, the check in and out (twice) etc was excellent professional, efficient and friendly. In fact I was traveling with an idli steamer, long story, and they kept it for me whilst I was in Ooty.
The room was excellent, spotless, comfortable, with everything you would expect and require. Bathroom was very nice too.
The restaurants are good, we ate in both, and breakfast is good too. However of the two the Red Pearl restaurant was exceptional. It is mainly Chinese food, but beautiful food, very like the Chinese restaurant in the Oberoi in New Delhi for quality. The service was also excellent with the restaurant manager suggesting we took half portions of certain dishes to be able to try more dishes, he was a true professional.
The pool is fabulous, big so that you can get a proper swim, with good pool service, hence we did not go out. There is also an excellent spa.
What more could one want?

Room Tip: Rooms on same level as pool have a nice sitting out area in view of the pool. It is not private but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went to Coimbatore in August this year on official purpose and stayed at Vivanta by Taj Surya which was an approved hotel by our organization. This hotel is centrally located and is on the way from the airport to the city. The hotel is located at just about 3 kms from Gandhipuram, Cross-cut road etc., where one can go for shopping. Walkable from the hotel is Hotel Annapurna where one can get good food. The hotel offered me complimentary breakfast as part of the package which was quite good. The breakfast spread was decent and they even offered to pack things for lunch at no cost. As my colleague and I shared the same room, they charged Rs.1000 extra which was nominal. The room that was given to us was spacious. However, the design of the bathroom was not appealing to us. Though we had booked the room with the information that two people would stay, the towels and other toiletries were kept only for one person. We had to repeatedly call the house-keeping to get additional ones which was a bit annoying. The lift had a strange way of operating. One had to first put in the key and then press the floor that one wants to go. This could be for additional security purpose, but was not customer friendly. Other than these, the room was kept clean on all the three days that we stayed there. We could get good sleep also. The cost was lesser than the other famous hotels around. This could be because of the negotiated price. However, one can consider staying in this hotel while taking the family also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janaki_thiagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent hotel with very hospitable staff. Comfortable rooms and great service. Pool is very clean and spa are worth trying . Had a perfect stay at the hotel while I was in Coimbatore on a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapooranu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We drove into the Vivanta by Taj - Surya from Bangalore and were immediately welcomed by a lovely drink and taken to our lovely room which had a great view of the city and the tree lined 'race course' road. Lunch was at the Latitude, a buffet made up of an eclectic mix of continental, chinese and indian cuisine. The Laal Maas was exquiste...the vegetarian sushi not to be missed and the desert spread absolute sin... I settled for the sugar free fare.
The missus and I made reservations at The Spa for great relaxations massages. The therapists are very well trained and knew which buttons to press to get the machines cranked up and tuned to go.
We had a wonderful stay and left the next day fully refreshed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the city and Trichy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajarpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai (New Mumbai), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The stay was comfortable. I was very much happy with the welcome I got. I was escorted directly to my room..no stopping at the reception for check in formalities.
Room was neat and tidy. All accessories were in place.Buffet Breakfast was good...food quality was excellent.
Two negative points:
1. The minibar list in the room had many items, but when opened the refriferator, it had only one chocolate bar.
2. After booking the room, I had sent mail enquiring for a pickup from airport. My mail was not responded to for atleast 9 hours. Then I called up teh hotel to check for pickup, I was put on hold for 10 minutes, and was told that the reservation person is not available. They promised that I would get a call. I got a call immediately...but I had not expected this kind of delay and unresponsiveness from Taj group of Hotels.

Room Tip: Just stayed once, so cannot comment on room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhush_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

specialty Chinese fine dine in Coimbatore, food is great, one of the best tasting Chinese restaurants around, the dishes are very mellow and linger in the taste buds for a while, ambiance is class apart, service is excellent, desserts are exotic, try the chocolate spring roll...savouring the taste...must visit restaurant in Coimbatore...

Room Tip: visited the restaurant, take the corner tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaggu916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
7.9 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#8 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel CAG Pride
Hotel CAG Pride
#2 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#6 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
#5 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing