We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai (New Mumbai), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The stay was comfortable. I was very much happy with the welcome I got. I was escorted directly to my room..no stopping at the reception for check in formalities.
Room was neat and tidy. All accessories were in place.Buffet Breakfast was good...food quality was excellent.
Two negative points:
1. The minibar list in the room had many items, but when opened the refriferator, it had only one chocolate bar.
2. After booking the room, I had sent mail enquiring for a pickup from airport. My mail was not responded to for atleast 9 hours. Then I called up teh hotel to check for pickup, I was put on hold for 10 minutes, and was told that the reservation person is not available. They promised that I would get a call. I got a call immediately...but I had not expected this kind of delay and unresponsiveness from Taj group of Hotels.

Room Tip: Just stayed once, so cannot comment on room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhush_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    329
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
183
67
31
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

specialty Chinese fine dine in Coimbatore, food is great, one of the best tasting Chinese restaurants around, the dishes are very mellow and linger in the taste buds for a while, ambiance is class apart, service is excellent, desserts are exotic, try the chocolate spring roll...savouring the taste...must visit restaurant in Coimbatore...

Room Tip: visited the restaurant, take the corner tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaggu916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have decided to start my own 'Taj Trails', which is staying at least 1 night in all Taj Hotels across India. They are that good. I reached Taj Surya, after a not so long drive from Munnar.

The check-in process was smoother than ever. A front desk office, Ms. Shalini was waiting for us, and escorted us directly to our room. We stayed in the Deluxe Delight Room which is by the pool on the 2nd floor. The room was very tastefully done up, and my wife, an artist & designer, had a lot of good things to say about the various elements in the room.

The food was regular Taj food, not as good as in Pune though, I still miss the Keema Pavs there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomilMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had an overnight stop over here during a business trip. Whilst this hotel is very nice, there is something missing from the architecture or ambiance which otherwise make one feel at home. Perhaps it was the restaurants right next to reception with the only other exit being the lift to the rooms. I was on the 5th floor facing away from the race course so I did not get the benefit of that view. The a/c worked so well that I had to turn it off. The room was a bit small for my liking but there was an HDMI TV input for my smart phone. I was none to fond of having to pay for internet considering the hotel bill. A nice hotel, but I think I will keep looking for the perfect stop over in Coimbatore

Room Tip: I should have made a point of asking for a room racing the face course. The view in the opposite dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my family. The welcome was very good with hotel staff even presenting a surprise for my 1.5 years kid. That was really awesome. Then the staff went ahead in explaining the hotel which was nice. Only problem service had was in the morning where I believe the staff was having trouble in looking after the guests. But room was excellent with pool view and special mention for the bar which was stunning. Rates were on higher side considering the city and the availability even though i got weekend package. Overall a nice experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank anki607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed for a night, which I consider as most comfortable. Wonderful and efficient reception formalities. Nice room with all usual facilities at a reasonable price. Staff at all level very helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfast was excellent in all respect and Restaurant services were made it more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked this online, got a nonsmoker room, being centrally located, its easy to reach, It had a lot of feel good factor, fantastic pool, gym and spa. most friendly srevice, kitchen and drinks menu has to catch up with the rest of the world, I have compliments only. Plus 20% off on food and beverage!

Room Tip: choose one with a pool view. other side has distant nilgris in hte backdrop. Fine by me, any room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raj_benedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
7.9 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#8 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#12 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel CAG Pride
Hotel CAG Pride
#2 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#7 of 92 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing