We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coimbatore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banyan Tree Farmstay
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Situated in a remote are of the western Ghats there is a lot to recommend a short stay here; the family owners are charm personified and the manager/guide (Daniel) goes out of his way to ensure guests' need are met. Bedrooms are in simple but spotlessly clean separate building. Tea and coffee are complimentary in room and each room as its own verandah for sitting out. The only drawback we found is that the beds and pillows were extremely hard. Only 1 of our party of 4 slept well whilst 2 had v disturbed nights sleep. If this were rectified then I would have no hesitation in giving it a 5 start rating.

Breakfasts ( tea/coffee, eggs, toast and fruit juice) are taken in the main house. Dinner is served outside at 7.30-8 and is, usually, a soup, 2 or 3 curries and a dessert. Packed lunches can be provided if out for the day Local ingredients are used and overall food is of a good quality. Since January 2013 the price is all inclusive.

NB Alcohol is not readily available but if requested early enough then beer can be provided with dinner and is charged separately. And as Kariath says - avoid going to the Parambikulam wildlife sanctuary - it was very disappointing and just not worth the effort!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We Stayed here as part of Birdwatching trip for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. due tour itinerary we had little time to fully enjoy the immediate surroundings. Rooms are spacious and clean. Farmhouse where our breakfasts were eaten is a beautiful place with lots of character. Owner and staff made us feel very welcome. Food was delicious and our packed lunch was plentiful and welcome on a day out. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mecanopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A remotely located farm stay at the foothills of Western Ghats. Prabhu and Team make the stay wonderful with personal care and great food. Go to this place to relax in the fast disappearing farms of South India. Just stay here and walk around. Do not make the mistake of going to Parambikulam Wild life sanctuary - waste of time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had been to Banyan Tree Farm for our anniversary. Though it was a very short stay, it has been wonderful. The place is totally a different world; away from noise, pollution, and so very close to nature wherein Television and Mobile Network are also far away from reach :-) There was a waterfall and a canal inside the property, which were an add-on to the ambiance. Mr. Prabhu the property owner is a great host and a very sweet person to be with. The cleanliness of the farm is worth mentioning. It is a splendid farm with a house so artistically built and very well maintained. We enjoyed our jeep safari during which Mr.Prabhu showed us the property and the forest patches; a perfect place for bird watching. Just like every other thing at Banyan tree, the food was at its best :-) nothing to choose from Menu card, of course you are not at an hotel/restaurant. The most delicious vegetarian food we have ever had, One could not ask for more. The stay at banyan tree and time spent with Mr. Prabhu had made our special day even more special. Wish we can make it often and get to learn some superb cooking from Mr. Prabhu along with more sight-seeing, which this time got a little spoiled due to heavy rains.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank balaji1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was basic, but clean and adequate. Mr Prabhu was friendly and welcoming and took us on 2 very informative walks around his farm and the area, showing us his crops and picking fruits for us to try. We were introduced to his family and made very welcome. The food was excellent and plentiful and my husband even came away with recipes and ingredients to try and recreate our meals!- breakfast was taken in the house and evening meal on the terrace. We were given a lovely packed lunch for our day trip - my son particularly enjoyed the chicken patties! We would recommend this to anyone who wants a secluded, quiet and relaxed holiday - the stars were wonderful to see at night

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Me and my wife went there for a 2 day trip and we found it a really interesting stay with a wonderful host.The food was amazing and the place was so in touch with nature and the rooms were well kept.Will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ram1234589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Mr. Prabhu and his wife have a beautiful house on a large and prosperous farm near Top Slip and Anamalai Wildlife Sanctuary. They enjoy visitors and will tell you a lot about the history of the area (they have been there for generations). They will show you how coconuts and cocoa are farmed. And they will feed you some of the best food you've had in southern India. Oh, and every day you can drive to Top Slip to see elephants and lion-tailed macaques and maybe even a tiger.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rod_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coimbatore
24.0 mi away
Anaikatti - By The Siruvani, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.2 mi away
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
#7 of 99 in Coimbatore
327 reviews
18.5 mi away
Dvara
Dvara
#2 of 199 in Coimbatore
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Treebo ESS Grande
Treebo ESS Grande
#1 of 199 in Coimbatore
121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
#5 of 99 in Coimbatore
999 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Farmstay

Address: No. 312, GV Residency | Sowripalayam, Coimbatore 641028, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Coimbatore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing