We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food and services”
Review of Dvara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dvara
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst food and services”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We check on 3rd oct 201 with friends, the chef took the order for food ,nothings seems to tasty and some dishes salt is more and some are less .Non -veg are not fresh ............Only the location by gods gift is good apart from this nothing seems to be good.
Instead of complimantory breakfast they can chanrge the customers as ,its seems like ration shop with limited food and puri are burned/ildili without chutney and chutney without salt.sambar with more salt.........( not organised way ) worst worst
Room service takes minimum 1 hrs for delivery of small items such as towel replacement/ dentalkit ..etc.
Food is too expensive like 5 star price tag with no value for money
Bathrooms stinks a lot and even the outside ready rooms.......customer need to carry room freshener along with them.

i would suggest trip adviser to remove them from their list

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manoj5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
16
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here last year in september. It was just post monsoon and the resort is engulfed in clouds and surrounding hills. We were a group of 6 adults. Took two of the tents they offer with 4 beds in each of them. These tents are actually overlooking the sloped garden next to it and lake. Best to choose from hotels other offering.
You have to travel some 1 hour from coimbatore airport to come to this resort. Make sure you are on holiday. The resort is well nestled into nature and gives you the calm you desire sometimes. We had a nice table set in the garden and ordered our dinner also here. Cool, calm and relaxing. The property is well managed and not many guests come here. So sometimes it is like you are the only guest staying here.
Staff is decent and tend to get bit personal at times but overall good. Food is average and you dont have much choice to order from anywhere else. If you are not indian, then it should be problem. Also they close their kitchen by 2230 hrs and thats too early for me. Though the Manager arranged for our food till 1 in morning. Nice chap!! forgot his name.
Try cycling, trekking and just wandering around in woods...its amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aceaskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us on the Trip advisor.
Our entire team at Tamara is completely overwhelmed with your gracious compliments and feedback.
We assure you of our best attention at all times, and anxiously await your return visits.

Thank You
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager
Mob: 9789496646
Mail : rm.tamara@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

An excellent resort not far from Coimbatore. Good rooms, amazing atmosphere and brilliant view. The service was also upto our expectations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only limitation for the resort is that they have only 9 villas so can get sold out very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radhakrishnan_vishnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Radhakrishnan,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on the Trip advisor.
Our entire team at Tamara is completely overwhelmed with your gracious compliments and feedback.

We assure you of our best attention at all times, and anxiously await your return visits.

Thank You
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager
Mob: +91 9789496646
Mail: rm.tamara@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want a tranquil experience, stay in this hotel in one of the tented rooms. Views at sunrise and sunset across the water and into the hills is Something I will never forget. The staff were so friendly that I even joined them in a game of cricket one evening. Breakfast and dinner was served on the lawn and was excellent. I and my wife went on a trek for a couple of hours, a local farmer invited us in and treated us to fresh coconut drink. No night life. Place for those searching a quiet place away from it all mood. 2-3 nights enough to rest the soul.

Room Tip: No swimming fool or fitness centre in February 2013. Book the tented accommodation there are only ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on the Trip advisor.
Our entire team at Tamara is completely overwhelmed with your gracious compliments and feedback.

We assure you of our best attention at all times, and anxiously await your return visits.

Thank You
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager
Mob: +91 9789496646
Mail: rm.tamara@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was nicely arranged picnic spot for a change. The reception was quite good and the food served was a quality one nice place to spend for a change with family. We will
Have calm and peace atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blrtrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that our services and facilities meet your expectation. Your feedback motivates us to strive for further excellence.

I thank you for sparing time to post your review of our Resort on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Tamara.

Thanks and regards,
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager
Mob: 9789496646
E-mail: rm.tamara@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we visited this place in the month of august . we wanted a detour from the usual mysore ,coorg or the waynaad routes so we decided on this place.Its a small resort i should say,but the tents were spacious,something different from the usual tent houses and had a very good view of the lake.Apart from this there was nothing much to do,no swimming pool or play area,the trekking which they take you to the foothills is not worth it,instead you can settle for a short nap.
food is quite expensive and the spread was not so good.
To sum it up it was a not so wow experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anupama k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Anupama,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on the Trip advisor.
We have noted your valuable feedbacks and would like to clarify few points you mentioned.
• Size of The Resort: we believe it is our strength, as the resort is small in size we could offer a personalized service to our guests and more over people prefer this location as a hide away from the busy city life.
• The Trek : we are very close to a reserve forest and more over as you are aware entering to the reserve forest area is illegal and unsafe, we are offering only a nature trail till the foot hills. And we promote this as a work out for our guests mind and body rather than a trek or an exciting activity
• We also noted your point on the entertainment facilities like swimming pool: we are in a process of adding the same, will certainly try to complete the project at the earliest.
We assure you of our best attention at all times, and anxiously await your return visits.

Thank You
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager
Mob: +91 9789496646
Mail: rm.tamara@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

sutable for all kind of peoples,Excellent location with a view of lake and mountains. Great place to take photographs. Good check in experience. The tents are very spacious and luxurious.. The tents are luxurious and spacious with all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rameshsanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Ramesh Sanjay,

Greetings!!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve greater heights in guest satisfaction.


We assure you of our best attention at all times, and anxiously await your return visits.

Thank You
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager
Mob: +91 9789496646
Mail: rm.tamara@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coimbatore
23.5 mi away
Coco Lagoon by Great Mount Resort
15.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
#4 of 93 in Coimbatore
925 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 93 in Coimbatore
380 reviews
23.6 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#9 of 93 in Coimbatore
603 reviews
19.3 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#8 of 93 in Coimbatore
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dvara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dvara

Property: Dvara
Address: Perumal Kovil Pathy, Coimbatore 641114, India (Formerly Tamara Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dvara 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR GATEWAY TO ETHNIC EXPERIENCES DVARA, at Siruvani, is for the discerning traveller, a boutique resort that offers insights into Tamil culture transcending across time and generations. A fusion of traditional and contemporary architecture, DVARA Siruvani has incorporated antiques from all over Tamilnadu. And it doesn't end there. The experience has been crafted carefully from end-to-end with the simple hospitality and rich heritage that Tamilnadu is famous for. Located in Siruvani, 30 km from the heart of Coimbatore, DVARA is a quick get-away from the things that bother you every day. nestled...serenity, it is an experience that is enriched with the wholesome lifestyle and hospitality of the past. a world in itself, DVARA is a great place to hideaway and rejuvenate yourself. THE GATEWAY.. DVARA, means a door, or a gate and in some contexts a beginning. The resort DVARA especially lives up to its name with doors and doorposts made of teak wood brought down several 100 years ago by road and shipped all the way from Burma. THERE'S MORE... Every room here also has carefully curated elements that tell many a story, from the Kolams, murals depicting traditional art and elements, ceramic enamelware from traditional Chettinad homes, rare cross-stitch art, to the ever-cooling Madras tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dvara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamara Hotel Coimbatore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing