We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dvara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dvara
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have sent a fax message of our experience in Tamara
My heartfelt gratitude to Mr. Magesh who looked after every small detail for our comfort.
Chef, Mr. Arogydas was simply in his best dishing out mouth watering sathvic food on time.
Mr. Lingam, Mr. Ashok, Mr.Manikandan, Mr. Karthik were there always to be of help and service.
It was indeed a rare treat for us to be treated with so much respect, love and spontainity.
I must mention Mr. Binu, the resort manager the most capable, wonderful co-ordinator who was everywhere, everytime.
Hats off to your people. we bow down with enormous gratitude.

Room Tip: One can choose to live in any room in Tamara. it is excellent in every aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us on the Trip advisor.
Our entire team at Tamara is completely overwhelmed with your gracious compliments and feedback.

We assure you of our best attention at all times, and anxiously await your return visits.

Thank You
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
15
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have been to Tamara resort a couple of time's. The resort is an absolute beauty next to Lake. The Rooms are very spacious & clean. The staff [Binu, Mahesh & Karthik] are very Helpfull & friendly. The food is resonable & good. It is close to Siruvani Dam & Isha yoga temple. Tamara is a perfect place to Relax.

Room Tip: Choose the Tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaviKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Ravi,

I am pleased that our services and facilities meet your expectation and continue to keep you engaged after three visits. Your feedback motivates us to strive for further excellence.

I thank you for sparing time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Tamara.

Thanks and regards,
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Any ordinary resort today has a swimming pool, indoor games like carrom, chess, table tennis...etc, offer you a welcome drink and would charge as a package including food/tea. this resort sucks all your money and gives nothing. Just an ordinary room costed me 5500 per day. there is no alternate facility available for food nearby... so is it not a common sense to give package including food... god save people going there again. FRIENDS IF U WANT TO GO STAY THERE EXPECT A SIMPLE ROOM & A BIG BILL. NOTHING IS OFFERED THERE TO ENJOY OR RELAX.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had our Annual day celebrations on February 3, 2012 at Tamara. It was really wonderful and memorable experience. We all really enjoyed a lot. The place was very well maintained and the staff service was also very good. Especially the support from Mr. Magesh (F&B Executive) from the day we started planning the event till the end was good .They gave us a warm welcome with a welcome drink which was a pleasant experience. We had a fun filled evening in the lawn with lots of events. On the whole it was a very pleasant and memorable evening at Tamara and our special thanks to Magesh and his staff for their personal attention and co-operation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NousInfosystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Tamara is very good place to relax. The location, tents,rooms and their staff service are too good. Well planned tent, Lake and mountain view, clean bathroom, spacious tent and 2 king size bed/ tent are the positives. Food is good but the spread can be improved.Some more activites can also be planned. The only downside is there is no wi-fi. But there is cable net connection available, but the speed is bit slow. Overall a good place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalaKarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

After a long hectic year, Tamara was just the perfect getaway for me and my husband. Nestled on a hill overlooking a lake, the view was beautiful. The tents are large and luxurious and I was thrilled at the prospect of staying in them. We tried a hand at Table tennis and at the Carrom board. The best part was, the resort and restaurant were not crowded and we felt completely relaxed with the breathing space.
The staff are warm and courteous and the resort arranges for pick-up and drop if required at an additional fee. The food however, was a little disappointing as the buffet was completely veg and traditional. (It was a Pongal special)

But overall, I'd recommend the place to all my friends who would want to get away from the noisy city and enjoy a peaceful vacation.

Room Tip: The tents are cosier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shif_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

When I entered Tamara, I was happy over it's maintenance and location. The lawn was a good place to relax. The climate was good too. Once we started have snacks in the evening we wondered why we came there. The food was very very costly, Costlier than Residency. That's not the actual problem. The food was horrible. I think the Chips which they provided was bought an year ago. On the return two of my friends had a stomach ache. Decided, Next time If I visit Tamara I would prefer to Stay Hungry than to have food and have a stomach ache.

Room Tip: Tented accommodation is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saravana26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coimbatore
23.5 mi away
Coco Lagoon by Great Mount Resort
15.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
#4 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#8 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
16.7 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel SBS Grand
Hotel SBS Grand
#47 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dvara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dvara

Property: Dvara
Address: Perumal Kovil Pathy, Coimbatore 641114, India (Formerly Tamara Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dvara 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR GATEWAY TO ETHNIC EXPERIENCES DVARA, at Siruvani, is for the discerning traveller, a boutique resort that offers insights into Tamil culture transcending across time and generations. A fusion of traditional and contemporary architecture, DVARA Siruvani has incorporated antiques from all over Tamilnadu. And it doesn't end there. The experience has been crafted carefully from end-to-end with the simple hospitality and rich heritage that Tamilnadu is famous for. Located in Siruvani, 30 km from the heart of Coimbatore, DVARA is a quick get-away from the things that bother you every day. nestled...serenity, it is an experience that is enriched with the wholesome lifestyle and hospitality of the past. a world in itself, DVARA is a great place to hideaway and rejuvenate yourself. THE GATEWAY.. DVARA, means a door, or a gate and in some contexts a beginning. The resort DVARA especially lives up to its name with doors and doorposts made of teak wood brought down several 100 years ago by road and shipped all the way from Burma. THERE'S MORE... Every room here also has carefully curated elements that tell many a story, from the Kolams, murals depicting traditional art and elements, ceramic enamelware from traditional Chettinad homes, rare cross-stitch art, to the ever-cooling Madras tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dvara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamara Hotel Coimbatore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing