We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to relax”
Review of Dvara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dvara
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Tamara is a fantastic place to visit during October and November. It is surrounded by western ghats and the tent rooms face a small check dam.

You can fish in the dam but the fishes in this dam are clever that you hardly get big fishes .
Rooms are spacious and neat. They have to improve the food menu and food quality though.

Otherwise, Tamara is a dream place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parthi10901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Dvara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 92 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

I recently stayed at Tamara and had a great experience. The tents are really comfortable and the location is stunning. The resort's staff were really friendly and professional. Close to the resort is a small village and I was lucky enough to walk into a festival celebrating Ganesh, the people were lovely and offered me a seat and tea. This was one of the highlights of my India trip, the warmth of the villagers and the festivities were an amazing experience!

Room Tip: All of the tents are the same.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWombatTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraResort, Manager at Dvara, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am pleased that our services and facilities meet your expectation.

I thank you for sparing time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Coimbatore.

Thanks and regards
Binu Thankachan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at Tamara for only two nights, but it was a fantastic experience. Unlike most resorts or hotels around the world, Tamara offers a unique setting like no other. Set at the foothills of a forest, Tamara is surrounded by lush greenery. You can hear the roar of the elephants and sometimes, they come to the river to bathe.

The rooms are spacious and very clean, with all the mod cons you could want (AC, cable TV, a large flatscreen, internet connection etc). All the staff made a conscious effort to make us feel welcome and really went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable.

While my wife relaxed and enjoyed the tranquility, I even played a game of cricket with the locals and some staff after hours, which was an amazing experience. They were so friendly and had a great sense of humour.

The General Manager there made sure he introduced himself and also ensured our stay was perfect. If we needed anything, he got it for us and even recommended some tourist attractions to visit.

We would definitely return to Tamara for a longer stay and it is a perfect spot for families.

Would recommend this to people seeking something different than a city hotel or beach front resort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_ritchie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coimbatore
23.5 mi away
Coco Lagoon by Great Mount Resort
15.4 mi away
Anaikatti - By The Siruvani, A Sterling Holidays Resort
15.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
#5 of 99 in Coimbatore
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
16.0 mi away
Vijai Lodge
Vijai Lodge
#45 of 99 in Coimbatore
14 reviews
16.7 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#2 of 99 in Coimbatore
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dvara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dvara

Address: Perumal Kovil Pathy, Coimbatore 641114, India (Formerly Tamara Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 198 Specialty Lodging in Coimbatore
Price Range: $83 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dvara 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR GATEWAY TO ETHNIC EXPERIENCES DVARA, at Siruvani, is for the discerning traveller, a boutique resort that offers insights into Tamil culture transcending across time and generations. A fusion of traditional and contemporary architecture, DVARA Siruvani has incorporated antiques from all over Tamilnadu. And it doesn't end there. The experience has been crafted carefully from end-to-end with the simple hospitality and rich heritage that Tamilnadu is famous for. Located in Siruvani, 30 km from the heart of Coimbatore, DVARA is a quick get-away from the things that bother you every day. nestled...serenity, it is an experience that is enriched with the wholesome lifestyle and hospitality of the past. a world in itself, DVARA is a great place to hideaway and rejuvenate yourself. THE GATEWAY.. DVARA, means a door, or a gate and in some contexts a beginning. The resort DVARA especially lives up to its name with doors and doorposts made of teak wood brought down several 100 years ago by road and shipped all the way from Burma. THERE'S MORE... Every room here also has carefully curated elements that tell many a story, from the Kolams, murals depicting traditional art and elements, ceramic enamelware from traditional Chettinad homes, rare cross-stitch art, to the ever-cooling Madras tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dvara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamara Hotel Coimbatore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing