We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality of rooms”
Review of Mesabel Hotel

Mesabel Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mesabel Hotel
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Coimbatore
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor quality of rooms”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed there for one night. The quality of the rooms are bad. They look old and need to be maintained well. The taps are leaking and there are cockroaches. The breakfast was good and the staff were good. The cost is far too high for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKS739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Got booked into this hotel three times through my company service desk (I am a manager at one of the leading FMCG companies in India). Though the property is good, it is the staff that makes staying here a painful experience.
Firstly about the hotel:
THE GOOD:
- Spacious rooms
- Clean
- Comfortably furnished
THE BAD:
- Very few eating joints in the vicinity
- A restaurant that serves minimum items for breakfast and lunch and remains closed post lunch. Bottomline: No dinner here!
- Room service
- Just two people in the staff understand rudimentary English/ Hindi. None of the house-keeping folks understand English/ Hindi! Be prepared to learn Tamil if you are staying for long!
- No hot bathing water for a couple of days

THE UGLY:
- Cost cutting measures like not turning on the generator during power cuts. Excuses like "There is no diesel" for 4-5 instances
- Rude management that won't hear complains and acts as if this is the only hotel in town
- Unreliable laundry service - can take 2-3 days (Excuse: Laundry guy has taken a day off). I would suggest against laundry here if on a short 1-2 days trip
- Staff that leaves your clothes on the ground (yes!) after cleaning the room!

Overall, the stay was not at all worth the money spent. I would recommend you to check out other hotels that offer better service at a lower price in a better location.

PS: A premier hotel booking intermediary service is considering blacklisting this hotel in their service. Just an FYI for future travellers.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are more spacious! (If you still decide to stay here!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinnarShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coimbatore hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed there for a night. Checked in at 11:00 PM and checked out at 5:30 AM.
Ok for a night's stay. Room and bathroom were clean inspite of beign old. Room is old fashioned with mosaic floor and Window AC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pramodpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Poor Untranied Staff.
Do not know english or hindi language, Big problem.
Very old room & dirty toilets.
Hotel do not provide cold water to drink, you have to spend money to get the cold water. This was really a funny thing I found first time in my touring life.
Room Cooling system is very very poor.
Beware staff can steal your valuables.
We suggest never to book this hotel.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kapil_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesabelhotel, Owner at Mesabel Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
It was very disturbing and pathetic to read this review with this defamatory caption as most of the points stated are imaginary. We provide clean, filtered water and charge only if it is mineral water. Our rooms maybe old but are clean, spacious with all modern features. It is an utterly false and fictitious statement that the Staff's steal because no such incident has been reported till date. However the House Rules clearly states that guests are solely responsible for their valuables and it is displayed prominently in the Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2010

the the on things these guys write on their hotel website is a bit too much...calling that underground dungeon as ''an asset''.the boys hostel in the opposite are notorious.always prying on tourists with their perverted minds.the ajantha hotel sucks.food is terrible.yesterday night's leftover will be today morning breakfast.the staff need to be a bit more polished.the reception guy who handles the booking,etc should be thought about etiquette and polite behaviour.he looks at guests like they r all hookers and the kind of questions he asks is totally unnecessary.rooms r okay.first time we stayed flush didnt work.second time was k.when the rooms r full they answer the phone and act rudely.when there is no booking and when the hotel is empty(which is the case most of the time)they try to be a bit polite when u call for reservations.this sort of behaviour should change.its a bit over rated for 2 star hotel.rate should also be lowered

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Stayed here as a part of a large Swedish group. Hotel was pretty good, but the location is somewhat boring. Tucked in an alley, close to the stadium, the amount of restaurants nearby are not that many (considering how picky Westerners are). You grow bored with the breakfast deals every hotel in India seem to have (bread, butter, jam). The rooms are clean and the hotel has a (pricey and slow) internet connection.

  • Liked — The front desk personel.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Umebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Great hotel, good comfy...tv works well..there is hot water facility...food to room facility...very safe

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank Thangasuguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Raamus
Hotel Raamus
#48 of 95 in Coimbatore
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vijai Lodge
Vijai Lodge
#44 of 95 in Coimbatore
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Metro Park Inn
Metro Park Inn
#60 of 95 in Coimbatore
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Treebo Corner Stay
Treebo Corner Stay
#24 of 95 in Coimbatore
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn
Park Inn
#40 of 95 in Coimbatore
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apple Park
Hotel Apple Park
#16 of 95 in Coimbatore
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesabel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesabel Hotel

Property: Mesabel Hotel
Address: 24, Grey Town | Near Nehru Stadium, Coimbatore 641018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mesabel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing