We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chidambaram temple- Murali visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chidambaram Nataraja Temple

Chidambaram Nataraja Temple
Ranked #91 of 1,339 things to do in Tamil Nadu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is one of the most significant temples in the region.
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“chidambaram temple- Murali visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Elavalagan seems educated but he is he ignorant and uneducated about Aryan ,Dravidian race history.Scienfically no proof for Aryan dravidian race in India. Let I come to the point Chidambaram represents Space one of the five elements of universe.The temple dedicated to Lord shiva who represents art and culture. Bharathanatyam posture sculptures worthy to see. Hinduism not only represents form or statue worship it also represents Nothingness worship that is space,that we see here.seperate class of poojari community Dikshadars doing service to Lord Nataraja here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank muraliaryan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chidambaram
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ancient towers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

four towers built by chola kings in various periods.The statue of lord Nataraja in dancing position is worth to see.All the towers contain beautiful sculptures and paintings.Devaram a collection of tamil poems were found here and it was collected by the king THE RAJA RAJA CHOLAN.Everyone must see the place in TAMIL NADU,INDIA

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kalaichelvan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
207 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Lord Natraja is special here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The temple is certainly a good place to be in and is an important component of the Five Element Temples. This temple represents Space. Attracts lots of crowds from various states. I was fortunate enough to spend close to 2 hours and have a good darshan of all the shrines within the temple.

Only advice beware of archagars who ask where are you from, and will ask to write your address in a book maintained with them. Once it is done, then they will ask you to deposit an amount which is in multiples of Rs.1000 for a pooja. If you are really interested in a pooja get in touch with the temple office, they will guide you properly.

The place is surely a must visit for everyone. Currently temple remains closed from 1.30 to 4.00 in noon. But Main Natraja Sannidhi opens only at 5.00pm. Keep it mind and plan your trip accordingly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BalaHier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Shiva at his best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was never aware of this place till my friend Mr. Subal Basak almost forced me to visit this place. And how can I ever thank him enough. One of the most fabulous Shiva shrines I have ever visited. And I have visited quite a few of them - 11 out of the 12 Jyotirllingas and a few more. A very impressive Natarja - leaves you mesmerised. The confluence of Hari-Har. It is simply awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PLGOENKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something mysterious - Visit made me feel good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Well i have read many things about this temple mostly from western tourists, many said they felt a kind of spiritual energy in the temple. So being a Hindu i wanted to experience at least a bit of it which made me visit this temple making detour from Tanjavur. However when i got here it was too late and i had very less time to explore the place. I read online about the temple architecture and explanations looked fascinating and by all means this temple looks mysterious. I felt the same inside it from the time i entered it. Huge dark pillared corridors, rituals, calmness (its not too crowded or the crowds are busy praying instead of making noise), small shrines etc will take you to different world. This temple is very different from the other temples i visited. Also great thing is it does not discriminate people based on their religion. SO all are most welcomed here. I sat right Infront of Nataraja for some time & then shifted myself to dark corners of a pillared corridor for meditation. The place really has some power in it & you will feel things which you cannot explain exactly what it is. My visit was short, so i will come back here next time and spend at least half a day here. By the way Brahmins doing pooja here belong to a very special clan & there are very few of them left out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HemanthShriyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chidambaram Nataraja Temple also viewed

 
Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu
Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Chidambaram Nataraja Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing