We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Visit at least once in a life time”

Chidambaram Nataraja Temple
Ranked #94 of 1,349 things to do in Tamil Nadu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is one of the most significant temples in the region.
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Visit at least once in a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The truth that God is both with form and formless is propounded here... This is one of the rare Shiva temples with Shiva being worshiped in Idol form (not as a linga)... U can see Lord Shiva in Dance pose, and most importantly the Shiva in the form of Bilva leaves representing the formless....When at the Garba Gudi u need to ask for Chidambara Rahasya... And the pujari's would gladly show u the Bilva leaves and explain that God is in the formless state....

Road from Pondy to chidambaram is a state highway and is mostly good... Also if in Chidambaram, it is worth a visit to Pichavaram mangroves which is 10 KM from Chidambaram...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ckrishnamahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    54
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala, India
Level Contributor
217 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Marvellous architecture and huge open space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This temple is one of the sacred temples of Shivji and is named as Lord Nataraja. You can actually see the deity in the nataraja pose and spend some time in the front and worship. Since this temple is run by the Priests through lineage, they are the right people to guide you around. You can book monthly poojas during your nakshatra and get the prasadams at your doorstep. The open space is huge and even during the peak summer, the inside of the temples are very cool.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KSCNAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sathyamangalam
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Natarajar Temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is my second visit to Chidambaram Natarajar Temple. This is one of the best temples I have visited. The architecture of the temple is amazing. One can see asll the dieties in the temple.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank vvishnu258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing ..!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was a family trip with Kids, with loads of Google we finalized on the hotel (Grand palace - will talk about this later) . We took Bangalore-salem-attur-veppur-vriddachalam-chidambaram route . The roads are amazing though from Attur to Chidambaram is a single lane road it was good and with less traffic, overall it was about 350+ KM and can be done in 5 to 6 Hours.

Once we landed in Chidambaram we checked in to Grand Palace, near the Railway station, this is a decent hotel for Chidambaram standards and food out here is surprisingly North Indian / Chinese which was decent tastes like (dhaba food in Bangalore) . The hotel has decent rooms and service is really good. We did not find any good restaurants or hotels around most of them where badly maintained or dirty to the core, so we thought of to skip and continue to enjoy food at our hotel.
Late in the evening we visited the Chidambaram temple, which is pretty old and has big history behind it. The temple is not maintained properly and you could see dirt all over. The deity / the architecture is very pleasing . The roads around the temple are usually busy for obvious reasons and you hardly find any place to park your four wheeler. Next day morning we wanted to hit some beach and we figured out a beach called " samiarpettai Beach" which is isolated beach with literally no crowd and nobody to bother you, had a gala time here the beach was surprisingly calmer , this was the one of the best part of the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Raviks023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
717 reviews
397 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Just... WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

It is definitely worth the detour to Chidambaran on any trip to Tamil Nadu. If you have seen the statue of the "dancing Shiva" (very iconic...most people have), then you will understand what this temple is all about.

I would suggest reading up on the temple or engaging a guide before going.

The inner sanctum of the shrine is open to tourists however the "core" of the temple is only for devotees doing special prayers Even most of the locals don't venture into that area, although you can see the people there (for example men must go shirtless). You can get a glimpse of the Nataraj but it's quite dark and smoky and a little far away.

The place is just fascinating.

On a sad note...it does not seem to be very well maintained considering its significance. There is an entire corner of the temple complex that is abandoned and looks "condemned" Frankly, considering how many entry fees I have paid for lesser attractions in India, I think maybe they should consider introducing an entry fee -- at least for tourists.

And take note...the temple is closed from lunch till late afternoon...so you must visit in the morning or late in the day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chidambaram Nataraja Temple also viewed

 
Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Chidambaram Nataraja Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing