We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Udaipur's Swaroop Villas (Heritage) Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This provided the first disappointment of the trip as far as my experience of heritage hotels went. I was also expecting a lake-view room. As a first impression, the room was good -- large and quite tastefully put together with a nice window/window seat. But where was the lake? In the distance, across a road and nearly obscured by part of the hotel and the buildings it faced. The bathroom was small, dark and old and I could well have thought that I lived in the next bathroom as well as far as sound was concerned -- the large louvred ventilation window vented into the neighbouring bathroom and did not block out any noise at all. I heard every awful sound all too clearly from next door.

It was generally noisy. I heard dogs barking for a very long time at night, doors slamming through my stay and staff (or guests) talking. And it was very cold in bed until I found out from another guest that additional quilts could be had on request.

I reckon the slamming had to do with some old-fashioned latches and locks on the heavy doors, Staff needed to be aware of keeping their conversation volumes down. And given that it was winter and the possibility that guests may need an additional quilt if there was no central heating, staff should indicate that these were available.

Breakfast was a poor spread. We walked into a rather empty breakfast room with a food selection that consisted of several local offerings, two varieties of whole uncut fruit, a heap of fresh eggs and some bread. It was not till we overheard someone at another table ask for an omelette that we realised we could have omelettes. Again, staff were not trained to offer the options.

Accessories were also wanting. A hairdryer only available on request, for eg., and no tea/coffee facilities. It was sold to me as a 4 star hotel but apart from some charming public features of the property this was, in my opinion, just 2-star one.

Room Tip: If rooms are available, ask to see other rooms for the possibility of changing to those with better...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL_KualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Swaroop Vilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 535 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the lake. It was spotlessly clean and very well furnished. Reception staff were extremely helpful. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Hotel is well placed for tours of the city which was by far the most attractive within India that we visited. The hotel can recommend excellent local drivers of the auto-rickshaws who know the best places to visit and are very reasonably priced. Very attractive and clean swimming pool and seating area around it - ideal for accessing wi-fi which doesn't always work in the room. The building has a very attractive facade. My wife used the massage unit run independently within the hotel and was favourably impressed. Wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: Worth obtaining a room with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is a nice hotel on the banks of Lake Swaroop Sagar. The room was nice, although small, but well decorated. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay there. The food was very good and also very comparative in price.

Room Tip: Select a room with the Lake view. We stayed in one of this room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abutayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were in Udaipur for a total of five nights and had an exellent stay. Much because of Swaroop Vilas. Great hotel with modern facilitys. Personal was very service-minded and they had a nice little internetstore next to the hotel. A nice guy named Lokesh was running it - he helps with everything u need.

Its only five minutes from the city center, witch I enjoyed. All in all, great stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

i booked the hotel after reaching the reception and they acted after five min of discussion as if they had given good discount,but found that the tariff they are offering for online booking is less than they offered to me after thier so called considerate discount.its a pure cheating.they say free wifi,but they charge u 100rs per hour,i dono where in india is internet so costly.
I totally had an irritating experience here

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shubhendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband stayed here as part of a Discovery Adventures tour and were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was upgraded so we had a lovely, large room with a bay window overlooking the lake. This hotel is situated on one of the lesser lakes of Udaipur, but it gives you the idea of what it would be like to stay on the main lake for a fraction of the cost. The hotel had a nice outdoor bar/dining area and a bright and area breakfast room. Conveniently located to town via a 15 min walk or a quick taxi or tuk tuk ride. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really a pretty basic hotel. When we first arrived, I was a bit disappointed, but the place grew on me and the entire family ended up enjoying our stay. There is limited wireless in the hotel (we could get a good connection in only one spot in the room). The service was great and they had a charming little bar. Nice location next to the zoo and plenty of places to walk to right around the hotel. A very short tuk-tuk ride to the lake. Rooms were charming and comfortable and the car museum included in the hotel was fun (though there isn't much to say about the cars, many of which were in horrible condition). This is not a 5 star hotel, but was a good value and I could definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.7 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
778 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 163 in Udaipur
1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#32 of 163 in Udaipur
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $52 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing