We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Comfortable & Well-Kept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #43 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A very spacious and well-kept hotel, nicely designed and with clean comfortable rooms. The pool area is particularly impressive and the rooftop terrace offers fantastic views for sunset drinks. It's located a little distance outside of the main tourist parts of town, on the banks of a peripheral lake, so you'll likely need to catch a tuk-tuk in and out. The breakfast is the usual buffet fare and could be better. Similarly, the staff are polite enough but could be a bit more helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The suites are particularly spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 556 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a great stay 3N/4D in this hotel, actually it's more of a small palace, which is clean and tastefully designed. The hotel staff is very helpful and even guided me on my next road journey destination, as we were traveling by car from Mumbai. Hotel has many beautiful paintings and artifacts, which shows that it has class. Swimming pool at the hotel is not big , but sufficient. Food is not great , but good. All in all, a great value for money experience.

Room Tip: Any room on the first floor of the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikhil_Kajrolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in Swaroop Vilas from 22nd Dec'12 to 25th Dec'12, and what a lovely experience it was in this nice hotel. I asked hotel to arrange for my pick up from railway station and the cab was available right outside of the exit. Since we reached hotel around 9 and the rooms where not available at that time, person at front desk asked us to relax in poolside and they moved our luggage to locker room, within 30mins we got our room. Nice room it was airy and with huge balcony which gives nice view of Swaroop Sagar lake. breakfast which is served in quite sumptuous and tasty. room service was fast, maximum thry took to bring any order was 20 mins. Pool side was nice and relaxing, could take dive due to winters. Terrace bar was breathtaking with bonfire and good collection of wines and spirits. Hotel was clean and quite peaceful. Real value for money.

What I liked most: Pool Side, Terrace Bar, Spa, Painting on walls, Food and Bathroom Ameneties

What could be better: Mattress our room was old, and it was sinking. Staff could smile more.

Room Tip: Always opt for Lake facing rooms on 1st floor, you'll get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreerup R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Hotel Swaroop.

The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with large windows that opened to a view of the lake. The food and bar were great as was the service and ambiance. We enjoyed sitting at the rooftop bar watching the sunset after a day of sightseeing and shopping in this beautiful village.
( BTW,The hotel went out of their way to arrange an excellent driver for us)

While at the hotel we enjoyed 2 spa services that washed away the weary of the road; highly recommended. We only had one afternoon to enjoy the pool and it was lovely.

We look forward to returning on our next trip to Udaipur as we now consider, Vagmi, the owner, a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakerlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Lets sum it up first,no time wasting-not worth the price!
We had a plan to stay here for 3 nights but could not stay for more than two. Not by choice but due to dissapointment.
The rooms are very basic, not dirty but hey we expect more than just cleanliness.We asked them for a room change god knows umpteen times, but it fell on deaf ears.
The bathroom, in really cold weather could dish out only lukewarm water. The toilet is below par, the towels dont look clean and the wash basin tap is bigger than the basin!
If this sounds like i am cribbing too much, it is only because of the consistent dissapointment that Swaroop Vilas offered.
The room service took 2 hours to set up extra beds, in spite of regular reminders. The hotel could not arrange for a place for drivers on the second night.
The staff at reception hardly look like they are willing to help.
The food is not bad but it doesnt manage to compensate for other short comings.
We were not pleased with our stay here!
Find something else....

Room Tip: Stay Away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a reservation for a Lake view room. Yet were made to wait till eternity and finally informed that we were the unfortunate ones as all rooms were sold out.
A back wall facing room was finally offered as a favour against the Lake View Room.
Been exhausted and tired after a long drive the same was excepted humbly.
Again after a long wait some one managed to escort us to our Wall Facing Cell(Room)

Breakfast was inclusive in the Tariff but it was again as dissappointing as the room.
The Management & Staff is not hospitable and run the place like a cheap lodge with no repect or regard for their guests.
I do not recommend this Hotel and do not want to go again.

Room Tip: If you want a Good Room go to any other Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We Stayed in Hotel for 03 Nights it is Based on Heritage Culture with Good Rooms, Service is Very Good Centrally Located , Simply recognizable for Holiday Memorize, Being a Travel Agent I will suggest this Hotel to My Guest & Relatives

Room Tip: With Balcony Rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jags1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#36 of 167 in Udaipur
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#39 of 167 in Udaipur
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#66 of 167 in Udaipur
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#21 of 167 in Udaipur
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $61 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing