We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #44 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed with a big group at the Swaroop Vilas Hotel in Udaipur. Its a nice place relatively inexpensive with a lovely view of the Swaroop Sagar Lake. The terrace bar is a lovely place to be at in the evening. Has a nice pool. The rooms in the new wing are a world of a difference than the old wing. Food is good and its in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing on the 4th or 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 554 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

this is very good 3 star hotel, next to swaroop lake. actually it is walking distance from fateh sagar lake as well where you can visit nehru garden and boating. so it has got good location.
hotel is like small palace with good interiors and heritage look.
it has good swimming pool and restaurant next to pool. rooms are spacious but furniture is very basic. TV is very old and should be replaced with LCD TVs.
less variety for breakfast and quality is average.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mukundvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great budget hotel facing the Swaroop sagar lake and less than 5 minutes walking distance form Fatehsagar lake. Descet restaurant, great ambiance and good room sizes. Hotel has well groomed and helpful staff. Recommended both for business as well as family stays.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake have a spacious balcony for a quite private breakfast or dinner. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vivmodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

this is the poorest hotel in our entire trip. we took this hotel because our travel agent suggest us. the services in restaurant was not up to mark as well as room services. we asked for tea and it took 45 minutes to serve.
we do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bharun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed on Hotel swaroop vilas during my travel to Udaipur. It was a wonderful property which was on the banks of Swaroop sagar lake. During my stay I was not able to find even a single negatove point for this hotel.
1. Staff was very good and helpful. They took pains to inquire about my train timings and alert me that the train timings are changed. Staff is very cooperative and helpful to arrange for autis, taxis for local sight seeing etc. They have clock room facaility which becomes very helpful when you want to keep your luggage safely after checkout
2. Now they have a lift in the hotel also.
3. Its very well decorated and the mirrow work on in eth lobbies is really one to be appreciated.
4. Rooms are very spacious (super delux rooms), clean and hygenic. Good service also.
5. Restaurant, swimming pool was also good.

I again appreciate the hotel staff, hospitality and wish to stay again in Swaroop vilas. Overall its Value for Money hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 'Super delux rooms' lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A wonderful hotel at affordable rates through MakemyTrip.com
The hotel is located in a central place, very near to Fatehsgar lake. The decor is very Rajasthani. The facilities are excellent. The Hotel staff are very courteous and helpful. the food was OK. The food quality was Ok, nothing great, price was a bit high and quantity was OK. Indian food was tasty but continental and Chinese needed better preparation and variety.Room service was OK and housekeeping needed reminders.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms with a view of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Udaipur is a great city, but this hotel was the worst, unluckyly I was there for 2 nights, we were located in the old wing where there is not hot water available. we complain about the hot water and they tried to explain us that they use solar system, bla bla, they made us wait for at least 3 hours, several people from its staff came to the room to check the hot water, and eventually, I went to write the complain, and the night porter ended up saying that in the old wing there is not hot water available in any of the rooms so, we were made waiting to 3 hours, and for nothing. we got the room changed, and the locate us in the new wing, where the water did not have enough pressure so us to reach the 3rd floor.
breakfast: I found an ants in the omelet. we had dinner in the hotel and we ordered a special dish called tandori platter, and it was the worst thing ever, we also ordered spring rolls and they were made of nooddles. In their favour, the previous night I ordered a whole tandori chicken and it was georgeous, but only this was ok.
the service very bad, specially the night porter, when I was writting the complain really cocky and very far from being polite.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juana42000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#36 of 166 in Udaipur
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#34 of 166 in Udaipur
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 166 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 166 in Udaipur
2,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#63 of 166 in Udaipur
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 166 in Udaipur
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $63 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing