We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #94 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and enjoyed our stay. We had difficulty with the bed the first night (I am very tall with a rather finicky back), and they were able to move us around to find a bed that worked best. The staff was easy to get along with and the hotel is a funky place that made me smile every-time I came back. There is so much to see and do right outside the door in the Lal Ghat area that you cannot be bored. After travelling around for several weeks in India, Udiapur was the perfect place to relax before our trip back home. Our room had a great view of the Lake Palace and I felt transported back in time with the rooms and their hand painted decorations on the walls and ceiling. Be prepared to spend some time in the art gallery there. I bought three paintings and get complements from everyone.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a room that is not on the fifth floor. There is no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 279 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for two nights and i must say considering the price of the accommodation we were quite impressed. The staff overall was very friendly and welcoming. I loved the interior of the hotel and our room, although quite small was very comfortable and clean. From the roof terrace you have a good view of the lake. Breakfast was great. Best coffee i ever had and i forgot the name of the pancake like bread, but it was delicious.
We really enjoyed our short stay here and would not hesitate to return if we're ever coming to Udaipur again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had the privilege of staying in this hotel last week. I would not like to call this place a "hotel" - this was - to put it briefly - A HOME AWAY FROM HOME. The rooms were elegantly furnished with all modern facilities. the food was excellent. The service was unparalleled. The view from our room was breathtaking - our room was located in the third floor and had a lovely view of the lake and lake palace hotel. The roof top restaurant located in the fifth floor was a real treat. On the whole, a lovely place for a holiday, especially the affordable room tariffs. The hotel being a heritage property, does not have lift facility, so be prepared for a little "climb"!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe rooms - they have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramanan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

i had checked in this hotel recently only with my family but to my surprise there was nobody to atleast pickup my bags and shift me in my rooms i have to carry bags to my rooms with my family secondly the manager was also not so polite no doubt rooms were clean and neat but too small for big family to check in . secondly i pointed out something which we indian prefer for which manager told that foreigners prefer this service so i think this hotel is for foreigners also there is no restuarent facility in the hotel u have take lunch and dinner outside which is very costly as per foreigners

Room Tip: for better view of the lake u can choose this hotel only for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashok786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Rooms were small but very nice. The touches of art work make it feel more personal. The staff are very friendly and the cooking courses come highly recommended as they teach you basics like paneer curry and a magic masala chai. And in small groups which makes life easier. The location is great although lake view was partial and its not unique in having this. Would hold heatedly recommend it and great value in one of India's more pricey cities

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londoner1981ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My brothers and I stayed three nights here. We had good views of the lake and the Lake Palace, and the rooms, while small, were wonderfully clean and bright, with paintings on the wall and decorations by Jairaj, the owner, who is an artist. Jairaj and Sushma, and their manager Digvijay were considerate and caring when I became unwell during my stay - I'm lucky that it happened here, where there was a good family atmosphere and helpful service. Staff were happy to open the doors later for us when we wanted to be out at night after the doors closed at 11pm. The price of the rooms was very reasonable considering the quality and location!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SearchForSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

A nice place to stay with helpful and friendly stay.

The room i was staying in had a good view of the floating palace, the room was clean and there was hot water.

The location of the hotel is also good, has it is near the Jagit Niwas, the lake and the palace museu, as well has the other ghats.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderingtraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#78 of 177 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#49 of 177 in Udaipur
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#73 of 177 in Udaipur
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 177 in Udaipur
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
#82 of 177 in Udaipur
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $20 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing