We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are part of the family”
Review of Mountain Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Ridge
Ranked #36 of 273 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle and Mountain Ridge was perfect. Piers' family was most welcoming and made us feel at home and relaxed right away. The meals were delicious, well prepared and served with a watchful eye in case we needed anything else.
The rooms were clean and very comfy. Each guest room has a very helpful folder of information.
When we left the family showed a sweet gesture by all walking out to the car and seeing us off.
They also took very good care of our trusty driver. It is out of town so it is feaseable for only those with transportation.

Room Tip: All rooms looked like good choices.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentishguy, Owner at Mountain Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for your kindly comments. We really DO try hard to ensure we provide our guests with the best of everything, and it's gratifying to receive a review that alludes to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Ridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have visited Mountain Ridge with our small kids and were admired by comfort and cleanness of the room (they seem more cosy then the pictures on the site for me) and attitude to the guest. The food is delicious (additional thanks for the salad with vinegar and paneer masala! ) We planed to spend there 4 nights and stayed for 10 nights. It is very good place for yoga and tracking. We spent 2 month in India but my kids decided to come back when grow up just in Mountain Ridge )) Many thanks to Piers and Amrit for hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya0578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staying at Mountain Ridge is like having a vacation within your vacation. Mountain Ridge is a lovely villa with gorgeous scenery, large airy rooms and is less than a 15 minute ride into Udaipur.

We love love loved loved the food at Mountain Ridge because it was always fresh. During our visit, we had taken a long hike and walked by the local organic farm where some of our food was grown.

The Monsoon Palace room is fantastic with a huge balcony and a soaking tub for two. It is well-worth the splurge for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in Udaipur for a couple of days, to see the town and then moved onto Mountain Ridge for some peace and quiet, and I'm so glad we did! It is both luxurious and homely, the perfect spot to recharge when you need to take a break from the hubbub of India. I recommend the half-day hike and definitely 'eat in' - the Nepalese home-cooking is excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Only 10min by Tuktuk from Udaipur center (200 roupies for 4 pax), in the middle of nature, Mountain Ridge is a great place to relax. Only few rooms, so feels like your own summer house: a big living room, a nice patio and terrasse to chill out, many books to read.
The rooms are large, clean and well appointed. Bathroom is simple but clean.

The definite high points of our stay were the warm Nepalese family who runs the house with Piers and the food! best stuffed parathas of our entire stay in Rajasthan and fresh fruit salads / vegetables salads that we were not afraid to eat! Dinner was awesome and very good value quantity/quality wise (6/7 different dishes, all excellent).

We didn't want to leave and when we finally did, it was with six parathas in the backpack - compliments of the house!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great sunset views from the Tribal room or the Kutputli room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponponrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Mountain Ridge is a little out of Udaipur town (only about 15 min), but this is a part of the appeal. It’s set in beautiful countryside with amazing views. We stayed in the tribal room which was nicely decorated and had its own balcony. The food was great, especially the fresh salad! All the staff were lovely made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah123472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Mountain Ridge for three nights and thought it was very good. It is outside Udaipur on a hill with good views of the valley. (Of course, there is pollution that partially obscures the magnificent views, but this is modern India.) Great place for some peace and quiet in noisy India. We had dinner all three nights at the B&B and the food was quite good.

On the negative side, the building could use some better maintenance. The cleanliness of the rooms (we were in two different rooms) was only so-so. Also, there is a 3 foot beehive perched under the eave over the front door that no one seems overly concerned with. We saw a few bees in the house so if you are allergic to bee stings, I would definitely stay somewhere else. We learned that the B&B is in the process of being sold so maybe there is less concern because of this.

Also, I was surprised that the manager did not seem aware of things that I would expect him to be. For example, when we wanted to change rooms because the queen bed turned out to be a double instead, he didn't seem to know which rooms would be available in the next few days. We had to call the owner who was traveling out of the country. Also, he did not seem to know how much a cab should cost from the B&B to the City Palace or the going rate to hire a driver for a day. He always seemed to have to call someone for answers.

Despite the few negatives we had a good stay (even though there was no power our last night) and met some interesting fellow travelers. It definitely is a good place to stay for those who want some peace and quiet away from the beaten path.

Room Tip: Skip the garden room unless you are traveling alone. Bed is a double, not a queen.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.9 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#27 of 163 in Udaipur
289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 163 in Udaipur
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Ridge

Address: Sisarma Village, Udaipur 313031, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $77 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your first impressions of Mountain Ridge will probably be the space, peace, quiet and the breathtaking panoramic views. After a short acquaintance, you will feel that Mountain Ridge is just like home. There is nowhere quite like it for perfect relaxation, and though the city is merely a few minutes' away, Mountain Ridge is in another world...Mountain Ridge occupies the top of a high rocky bluff, just outside the ancient village of Sisarma. On the eastern side is a mountain that separates Sisarma from Lake Pichola and to the south our land is bordered by protected forestry land. To the west are the beautiful hills and valleys of the majestic Arawalli Range; with remote, scattered tribal settlements that are there waiting to be explored. To the north, rises Bansdara Mountain, topped by the formidable Monsoon Palace. The City of Udaipur is only a few minutes' away, so you are not far from the shops and landmarks, but the short distance from the city to Mountain Ridge makes all the difference in the world as far as the tranquility is concerned. The sounds of horns, brakes, loudspeakers and other noise pollution seem a million miles away. Mountain Ridge enjoys balmy days of fresh air and peace, and delightful velvety nights of gentle breezes and only the sound of crickets. There is so much you can do - swimming, trekking, going on a village safari, bird watching, mountain walking, having a massage or just sitting & relaxing with your favorite book with a soothing sounds of nature. Our cook takes a pride in preparing and serving mouth-watering Indian and International cuisine, and the rest of the staff are ever ready to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Altogether your stay at Mountain Ridge will recharge you and provide you with happy memories of a rarely seen facet of India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Ridge Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing