We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in the hills!”
Review of Mountain Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Ridge
Ranked #37 of 267 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in the hills!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Ridge for 3 nights and were very satisfied! The staff is very friendly and serves great food. Our room was nice, clean, cosy and had a wonderful view.

The house is situated on a quiet hill outside Udaipur (only 10 minute rickshaw-drive), so it's a perfect place to relax after a day of strolling through the streets of Udaipur.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauritsBos1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    40
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
107
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The highlight of Mountain Ridge is easily the owner himself. Piers is an ex-pat Briton who splits his time between India and Nepal. Having spent many years in both countries he was able to give great advice on how to get around and get things done as a westerner in India, and that is to leave your western sensibilities at home and deal with Indians as they deal with each other. The second highlight is the building itself: an architecturally designed stone structure completed in 2007 perched on a hill with amazing views across the valley. The guest rooms are huge, modern and very clean and the shower was one of the best we had in India. Our room had a balcony that faced west giving great views of the setting sun. The communal areas were equally large and Piers has a well-stocked collection of books. The third highlight is the food. Mountain Ridge is staffed mostly by Nepalese and the cook prepared some fantastic meals. I was recovering from a bout of food poisoning I picked up elsewhere so didn’t eat much but I would have had nothing if the food wasn’t so good. And there was plenty of it too, no chance of walking away hungry. Mealtimes are a communal experience with Piers joining us and the other guests for every one of them. The only downside about Mountain Ridge is it is a bit difficult to get to. It is about 6km out of Udaipur at the end of a very rough gravel road. There are no signs and the only way to get there is to firstly get to Sisarma village then ask for Piers’ place (no-one knows the name Mountain Ridge). This is unlikely to change as Piers seems the relish the isolation. Getting into Udaipur is actually pretty easy and Piers can arrange trustworthy, fixed price transport (ask him about his Taxi Drivers Charter). But if you are looking for a quiet break away from the bustle of a busy town, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is one of those places you can enjoy a 'personalised' quality hotel experience, a rare thing in the sea of chain hotels. The location is in the quite hinterland of the bustling city of Udaipur, with rooms opening onto great views of the hilly terrain. The host is a charming man, taking great care in offering the meals. Time spent in the 'house' amidst fellow travellers with free flowing conversations is worth remembering.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at Mountain Ridge for 5 nights and had the best time - peaceful, relaxing, fun. It really is a beautiful part of the country and only 20 mins outside Udaipur. Piers was wonderful family and his Nepalese family go out of their way to make you feel at home and the food was some of best i have had so far on my trip.

I went on the half day trek which was great to see a part of India that i think not many people get to see especially if they are spending only a couple of days in Udaipur. The only thing i would add is stay if you can as even one night away from the bustle of the town would be well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V1ctori18D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at Mountain Ridge for New Year's 2013. It was great!!! Piers and all the Indian and Nepali family were so nice!!! The hike through rural Udaipur was the best (Do not miss it!!!), and also the party and the dancing at New Year's.

The house is in a very beautiful and quite area, and it was such a rest from the noise of the city!!! It is a perfect place to stay. The food was also great

When we come back to Udaipur, for sure we will stay there again!!!

big hug to Piers, Amri, Prakash, Akash ... and all the family. We won't forget you!!!

Fernando and Macarena

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafer090612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I did not stay in this B&B.

I did a trekking and got the chance to meet Piers and discover his B&B. After the trekking and the gorgeous lunch, I stayed there until the sunset.

This place is heaven on earth. You should definitely go there if you need a break from the cities!

The food was great, so was the landscape! And Piers is extremely kind and interesting to talk with. Visit him before he leaves to Nepal!

Make sure to stop by this place if you are in Udaipur and looking for a peaceful retreat. It's awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibo_de_fbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Piers welcomed us to Udaipur with open arms. There were no rooms left the night we wanted to come, and he made up a bed on the landing for us! As we spent three weeks in Udaipur, we were lucky enough to get to come back and help put up the Christmas tree, as well as enjoy a holiday party. We loved Udaipur city, and a big part of that was our local ex-pat friend, who always made his home ours. We can't wait to visit him again, and see his new place in Nepal! Mountain Ridge is a really special place, and the food is definitely yum, and the communal meals were a real highlight for us long-term travelers. Ooooh, chocolate cake!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.9 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#26 of 161 in Udaipur
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#22 of 161 in Udaipur
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,054 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Ridge

Property: Mountain Ridge
Address: Sisarma Village, Udaipur 313031, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your first impressions of Mountain Ridge will probably be the space, peace, quiet and the breathtaking panoramic views. After a short acquaintance, you will feel that Mountain Ridge is just like home. There is nowhere quite like it for perfect relaxation, and though the city is merely a few minutes' away, Mountain Ridge is in another world...Mountain Ridge occupies the top of a high rocky bluff, just outside the ancient village of Sisarma. On the eastern side is a mountain that separates Sisarma from Lake Pichola and to the south our land is bordered by protected forestry land. To the west are the beautiful hills and valleys of the majestic Arawalli Range; with remote, scattered tribal settlements that are there waiting to be explored. To the north, rises Bansdara Mountain, topped by the formidable Monsoon Palace. The City of Udaipur is only a few minutes' away, so you are not far from the shops and landmarks, but the short distance from the city to Mountain Ridge makes all the difference in the world as far as the tranquility is concerned. The sounds of horns, brakes, loudspeakers and other noise pollution seem a million miles away. Mountain Ridge enjoys balmy days of fresh air and peace, and delightful velvety nights of gentle breezes and only the sound of crickets. There is so much you can do - swimming, trekking, going on a village safari, bird watching, mountain walking, having a massage or just sitting & relaxing with your favorite book with a soothing sounds of nature. Our cook takes a pride in preparing and serving mouth-watering Indian and International cuisine, and the rest of the staff are ever ready to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Altogether your stay at Mountain Ridge will recharge you and provide you with happy memories of a rarely seen facet of India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Ridge Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing