We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel i had ever stayed”
Review of Hotel Mewar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mewar Inn
Ranked #17 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I had stayed in the hotel with my son and my experience was not good. The linen was dirty. the room was also dirty. toilet was without exhaust . Water pressure was very low. No room service . No body on reception. stinking smell in the room. The only plus point was the manager who was very polite .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROHIT1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The rooms are really big and airy. We got it for 500/- per night thru yatra. Front desk staff is really helpful and guides you genuinely for sight seeing options. Restaurant is costly but very poor in quality.
The location is not good. It is 3.5 KM from markets and has no shops or restaurants near to it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhiltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This hotel seems amazingly good value for money. We had a double room for 190Rs. However to add a/c is a further 300Rs (seems silly to cost more than the room) so we opted to sweat instead...and sweat we did! This hotel is built so poorly that it keeps no heat out of the rooms during the day and actually radiates heat back inwards at night. The bed was hot, the floor was hot, the toilet seat was hot! Most uncomfortable night ever. Don't scrimp, get the a/c!

Ignoring the oven-like rooms, the service and food was excellent. Room service is free and the breakfasts were brilliant.

Finally don't be fooled into thinking you are saving money by staying in this out of town hotel. The rickshaw drivers will ask stupid prices to take you into town especially after dark so you end up spending about the same. May as well stay in the centre of Udaipur and enjoy the views and restaurants all around you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gga05hlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The stay in Mewar inn was a great experience. The rooms are nicely decorated with nice art pieces n proper lightings.

The roof top restaurent was a good plus to the hotel.

It is located on the main road. The staff and workers were polite enough to greet guests and guiding about places to visit in the city.

Reception person gave a good idea about the places of interest in city and alsothe route to follow for convenient trip.

I stayed in the deluxe room and i must say the room was huge and at very economical price. The room had a double bed and a nice sofa set.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ankushbhasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

On the train to Udaipur an elderly gentlemen gave me a leaflet from this hotel, without behaving like a tout, so I read it. Mewar Inn mentioned a list of features and room prices that sounded too good to be true. But, as I'm always up for adventurous travel, I decided to give it a try. And believe it or not, I was not disappointed.
I got the "most expensive" room for a single traveller, the Diamond Deluxe Room... at Rs. 172 ! No kidding.
The room was very clean, spacious, and the ensuite bathroom was meticulously clean and huge. The shower produced hot water, but only on day two. Toilet paper was lacking, but then, there wasn't any either in most of the other budget-class hotels I stayed at in India. They have a rooftop restaurant which serves simple meals but you have to be patient, and there's even a working Internet connection that was rather expensive at Rs. 1 a minute.
To be honest, this was by far the best hotel I stayed at in India - considering its ridiculously low price. Compared to other Indian hotels of the same quality, my room at the Mewar Inn should've cost around Rs. 600 instead of the Rs. 172.
The previous reviewer here was definitely ripped off by here "con travel agent".
So, where is the caveat ? They're NOT situated near the place where all the action is in Udaipur, but at least 3,5 km away. But then, who cares ? That's what rickshaws are for. No problem catching one from and to the hotel, and they all know where it is.
I did not give it a 5 stars because the shower did not produce hot water on day one, and toilet paper was lacking.
Warmly recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Woerzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

This hotel is ok. We booked our hotel with Delhi travel agent Travel Point. They used Make mytrip to book this hotel. They charged us Rs.1500 / night for super delux room. When we got there rooms they offerd us really bad. When we check the tariff with the hotel their rate for the same room is only Rs.965/night.

It is recomended not too book this hotel with Travelagent or Make My Trip. It is good to pop in and negotiate the price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CHANDRA SEKHAR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#70 of 165 in Udaipur
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#14 of 165 in Udaipur
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mewar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mewar Inn

Address: 42 Residency Road | Near GBH American Hospital, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mewar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewar Inn has 20 rooms. We offer lovely food in rooftop restaurant and free wifi at all places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mewar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing