We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap rooms but expensive food”
Review of Hotel Mewar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mewar Inn
Ranked #16 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very great for that prize. Service is not every time around you and you have to call them (maybe because of offsession). But very kindly staff. TV is not really working but actually u dont need. Just relax on the rooftop. Food is good (only tried breakfast) but expensive. Internet available also wifi at least in the room :) laundry service to expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c0nsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our favourite guesthouse in India. It represents not only good value for money, but was also the friendliest place we stayed. The owner cannot do enough for his guests and we had some good breakfasts on the terrace. Although it's located a bit 'out of town,' in reality, it's only a 20 minute walk to the lake, and you complain when it's so cheap. We never paid more than Rs 60 from the centre of town, although rickshaw drivers will try to charge more, keep walking until you find someone who will take you for your price. I'm surprised by reviews commenting on how the owner doesn't carry your bags for you, this is a guest house, not a luxury hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here based on a recommendation from a friend. Found that it was great for the price, with a cool hangout area on the roof, could have been an awesome backpacker hangout, but alas when we visited the place was virtually empty, which was a surprise during Holi.

The restaurant food was fine, priced not too bad for a guesthouse, albeit 200 Rs for a beer was a bit steep.

But the question really to be asked is, why would you want to stay here, when there are similar priced options close the lake? It is not like Udaipur is a souless city, the lake area is beautiful, and if you stay here you will have to factor in a 60 Rs rickshaw ride each way into the price (80 or 90 Rs after dark).

It is a shame, but I cannot recommend the Mewar Inn due to the location - it's not like it is in a quiet part of town - there is a main road right by the place, and it is inconvenient for all the sights, not to mention the social scene in the town should you meet other travellers who are staying in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel is good value for money. The rooms are cheap but with almost all basic facilities. Location is on a good place but a bit far off from the main thoroughfare. Room service and food is good..In all a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Siddhartha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Away from the center by a ten minute drive. It's not a problem to go to and from. Plus the place is so cheap to stay your not losing money by having to pay to go to the center.

The place itself is beautiful. Just because it is cheap...don't except poor quality. Service is great, rooftop restaurant and patio is the perfect place to hangout. When you come back at night it feels like a nice retreat and is a good place to get rested up!

Stay here.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Perhaps the cheapest western-style accommodation you'll find in Udaipur, some 3 or 4 km from the old city tourist zone (50 or 60 Rs ride). We paid 200 Rs for a double, and there was hot water, a TV in the room, and free wi-fi (good if you're the only person using it.)

It seems like they try to make more money from isolated tourists eating at the rooftop restaurant -- although there's a few cheap Indian roadside places to eat at nearby (and the 7 Rs samosas and other snacks across the road are good.) Food is expensive and mediocre. 200 Rs for light beer! They seem to often lack ingredients. They list ice cream on their menu at 50 Rs, then go out and get you a tiny 8 Rs tub of ice cream.

Of course, the owner and people who work there are very nice. Note: also a bit of road noise here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stay here and we're very impressed the room was clean and nice. Breakfast on the roof was nice. The manager is very helpful and booked our bus for us. Although the location is a little out of the way it only cost 50 rupees to town and for the price and quality of the room, we were happy to stay a little out of town. 300 a night for hot water tv clean room defiantly wouldn't complain.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
747 reviews
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 175 in Udaipur
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mewar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mewar Inn

Address: 42 Residency Road | Near GBH American Hospital, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mewar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewar Inn has 20 rooms. We offer lovely food in rooftop restaurant and free wifi at all places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mewar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing