We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage Hotel tucked in the back streets of the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heritage Hotel tucked in the back streets of the old town”
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The Shree Jagdish hotel is a beautiful heritage building located in the back streets close to the City Palace . The City Palace Complex, Lake Pichola, The Ghats and the Jagdish Temple are all just a few minutes walk.

However, travellers should be aware that this hotel is tucked away in very narrow back streets. It is often difficult for a car to reach the hotel entrance (a wandering cow or a badly parked scooter being sufficient to render the road impassable to cars.) We had to transfer to a tuk tuk with our bags for the last leg of the journey. However, this didn't cost much and the tuk tuk driver gave me change without being asked (something that has never happened to me before in India!)

Our room in the hotel was nicely furnished and decorated and was clean. It was also a little on the small side and was a bit dark due to the fact that the only Window faced internally into the court yard of the building.

The bathroom was clean and functional (once we worked out the hot and cold taps were the wrong way round.)

The hotel has a nice roof terrace for breakfast although due to the lie of the land, the lakes are not visible. Breakfast was buffet style - fairly standard Indian hotel fare.

The staff were very friendly although they seemed somewhat dis-organised at time. We were there for New Year and were told 8pm for the New Year feast, so were a bit disconcerted when we went onto the roof at 8pm to find that we were the only people there. Things didn't really get going for another hour and a half, but the food was excellent once it got going.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    7
    6
    22
See reviews for
53
29
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I would not recommend anyone to be at Shree Jagadish Mahal hotel.

Goods:
Decent rooms with heritage touch
friendly staff and owner
Close to City Palace

Bad:
Location is most terrible, a big car just can not reach the hotel... You need to always move by a rickshaw.
The staff is overworked and completely unorganized. You do not see any professional approach on handling important comfort related elements. A simple request can take hours.
Breakfast - Too late in starting breakfast. They just do not know how to toast bread. Very little flexibility from fixed menu and you would see unexpected charges at the time of check out.

In summary: If you are from Western world, you are used to certain level of professional service which is absent here. When I am traveling with family, I expect my car to go in front of hotel door, which is not possible here. I would recommend alternates.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_NRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Kolkata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

It is a terrible hotel.
The owner's only motive is to make money!

Avoid any bookings of this hotel at any cost.

It is dirty , ugly, Located very badly and smells of filth and cow dung.

Very unhygienic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The Shree Jagdish Mahal is located down the backstreets of Udaipur, meaning that you get to see life in the city away from the tourist area. Walking past cows and dogs, children playing in the street and dodging the odd motorbike, the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the tourist sights.

The hotel itself is a typical heritage style hotel with some amazing architecture and interesting decor (see the photos). Don't expect luxury but it makes for an interesting stay! We stayed in suite rooms and they were pretty impressive. Rooms had A/C, fan and TV (no hairdryer or room safe) and were meant to have hot water, but there was a problem with the water tank during our stay which meant that we had to wait a while for hot water! We saw a few rooms when we arrived, all amazingly decorated with interesting features and some low beds. Some rooms have no natural light but they all open out onto a courtyard.

Staff are friendly and obliging. Breakfast is taken on the hotel roof with views across the city of Udaipur (you can't see the lake but you may be lucky enough to see monkeys playing!). They can organise reasonable priced trips and cars to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

I booked the hotel through Travelguru.com. I was told that this was a 3 Start property by their agents.
Below are some of my observations:
-No Intercom facility
-No Geyser in the bathroom
-No TV
-No AC
-No Dustbin
-The room seemed to be unfinished
-The Toilet seat was so broken
-There was no Toilet Soap.
-No foot mats outside of the bathrooms
-There was nothing to hang clothes in the bathroom
-There were no bath towels
-The room was so close to the road that all night I was kept awake by the motor bikes honking, dogs barking, people talking, etc. This was confirmed by one of the travelguru agents (Mohini) that I spoke to when I contacted travelguru to report this.
-There was a commotion between the Hotel Manager and some of the other people staying in the same complex (these were not hotel guests but some family that was staying there, maybe some relatives of the hotel staff). This was at around 11 PM at night. When some guests asked them to shut the noise, only then did they keep quite.

So my advise is to go at your own risk. The risk being of soiliing your well earned holiday !!

  • Liked — I liked nothing about this accomodation
  • Disliked — The Hotel rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

We were treated like visiting dignitaries at this newly restored haveli hotel! When we arrived we were greeted with marigold necklaces, incense and juice. Later, we dined on the rooftop to the sounds of a nearby wedding, the city lights spread out just below our roof top perch, and within view of the illuminated City Palace. The following morning we had early morning coffee on the rooftop while the call to prayer echoed from every corner of the city.
The rooms here are beautifully restored with wonderful atmosphere. The dining room and other public areas are lovely as well. The Indian food served in their restaurant was excellent.
One does need to have the right expectations of this hotel. We did loose power for an hour or two one morning and hot water was unavailable. Construction on the resortation was still underway while we were there, but the work did not begin until around 9:00 am and had ceased by our reutrn to our room in the late afternoon.
The hotel is in the heart of the old city, so there are street noises into the night, particularly when tempertures allow the windows to be open. Despite these minor inconveniences, we loved this hotel and its staff and count it as a highlight of our 3 weeks in India.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hadi Rani Palace
Hotel Hadi Rani Palace
#93 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sargam Sadan
Sargam Sadan
#78 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#91 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.0 mi away
Brahma Niwas
Brahma Niwas
#74 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambience
Hotel Ambience
#90 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)

Property: Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)
Address: Near Vidya Niketan School | Jadiyo ki oll, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli) 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Udaipur city this 250 years old Haveli is situated on the bank of famous road Jadion ki ol from Ghantaghar (Clock-Tower) to Samor bagh. Haveli is easily approachable from city palace to Ghaneroa ki ghati & from Surajpol via Shrinath ji ki haveli. This 250 years old antique Haveli is very famous for its architecture & historical wall paintings, beautiful halls and Gokhdas decorated with number of Belgium glasses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing