We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Ranked #20 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pathetic service”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during the Diwali weekend with a package rate including breakfast and dinner. The resort was full of Gujarati families and probably understaffed because service was pathetic. Breakfast was okay but the dinner buffet was just veggie stuff and extremely spicy. We had to make a fuss to get a single chicken dish. A request for a glass of milk took several reminders and then it was finally delivered an hour later ! Needless to say we went out for lunch. Room service dishes were not cleared for 2 days, the lawns and the little water structure were littered with rubbish, maintenance was poor. The swimming pool was full of people who had jumped in fully clothed.

We had a ground floor room towards the back of the resort and it was rather small but the bathroom was large, hot showers good. The large lawn area was good for kids to run around and play. Ample parking was also a plus point.

We had our own car so location was not a problem, but the hotels is located away from the main city and right next to Shilpgram. This could be a decent place to stay but overcrowding, non-existent service and poor food totally spoiled it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wingsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Sir,

Greetings of the Day !!

Truly pleasure to have you with us and many thanks for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for inconvenience caused to you due to Various issues. We have noted your point and taken corrective measures to prevent/recitfy the same.

Looking forward for the pleasure to welcome you again at Amantra Shilpi Resort.

Best Wishes,

Raj Chandrayan
(General Manager)
+91 8003331188
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    72
    18
    4
    13
See reviews for
127
41
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night after a last minute booking due to flight delays.
Was pleasently suprised with the standard of rooms and facilities available.
Its a shame the hotel is a little out of the way of the main attractions, but if you're looking for somewhere to relax in nice spacious surroundings at a good price - this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melandste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Sir,

Greetings of the Day !!

Truly pleasure to have you with us and many thanks for your valuable feedback.

Looking forward for the pleasure to welcome you again at Amantra Shilpi Resort.

Best Wishes,

Raj Chandrayan
(General Manager)
+91 8003331188
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Rooms we stayed were newly constructed, but still the draingae in bathroom was getting blocked. Reptative request to solve the issue was in fail till we check out. Food Quality is very poor. Only in case one dosenot get reservation in peak season at reasonable cist than one can be here. They have spend a good amount to make a good place but the maintenance is very poor. Food taste is also not upto the mark.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opinion4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Sir,

Greetings of the Day !!

Truly pleasure to have you with us and many thanks for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for inconvenience caused to you due to Various issues. We have noted your point and taken corrective measures to prevent/recitfy the same.

Looking forward for the pleasure to welcome you again at Amantra Shilpi Resort.

Best Wishes,

Raj Chandrayan
(General Manager)
+91 8003331188
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This resort is located away from the hustle-bustle of the city and yet just 15 minutes drive away, right next to Shilpgram, the artisan's village. The resort is above average with lush gardens and a clean pool. However, one of the garden fountains was shut down and was filled with dirty, stagnant water, overrun with insects and it created a jarring not. If they wanted to shut down the fountain, it would not have taken much effort to drain the water collection area and keep it clean. The rooms were clean (we had stayed in the Premium room, the highest category) but when we walked into the room the bathroom smelt of mustiness as it must not have been aired for a long time. We had to ask the housekeeping to clean up the bathroom and then place some deodorants in there, which should have been done before we moved in. The restaurant has a limited cuisine. The non-vegetarian food is tasty, if somewhat spicy. The most upsetting event occured when we asked for some local cuisine. Initially, they refused, but after much cajoling they agreed to procure it from another local eatery. But we were shocked when they presented us a bill for the food which was more than thrice of what they had got it for. (We confirmed with the manager about the actual amount he had paid his minion to get it from the local eatery). Also in the restaurant, we use to ask for mineral water and they always used to serve the bottle with the seal broken and the water tasted like underground bore water (treated by an RO System) (Since we were in MAP plan they could not charge us for bottled mineral water at breakfast and dinner since it was included in the package). On all the four days that we stayed over there, we had to remind the housekeeping staff to supply us with soaps and shampoos and they would never have replenished our supplies after clearing the room.
Somehow, all these irritants gives one a feeling that rather than ensuring that the customer is fully satisfied, the management aimed more at making as much profit as possible from each customer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dockalpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Sir,

Greetings of the Day !!

Truly pleasure to have you with us and many thanks for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for inconvenience caused to you due to Various issues. We have noted your point and taken corrective measures to prevent/recitfy the same.

Looking forward for the pleasure to welcome you again at Amantra Shilpi Resort.

Best Wishes,

Raj Chandrayan
(General Manager)
+91 8003331188
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for our weekend gateway. Loved the stay, food, room, location. Total value for money. Go there if you want to just relax. Rooms were clean and cozy. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speed41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Amantra Shilpi Resort !!!

We thank you staying at Amantra Shilpi Resort and sharing you valuable review on TripAdvisor.

Conveniently located, our hotel gives easy access to various must-see destinations and spots in the city. We are glad that our services were up to your expectations and hope that you visit us again.

It would be our pleasure to be your host again on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Raj Chandrayan
General Manager
(8003331188)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Best place at reasonable . price , good staff , resort is very clean and pollution free , we have enjoyed our stay very much..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinayk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Amantra Shilpi Resort !!!

We thank you staying at Amantra Shilpi Resort and sharing you valuable review on TripAdvisor.

Conveniently located, our hotel gives easy access to various must-see destinations and spots in the city. We are glad that our services were up to your expectations and hope that you visit us again.

It would be our pleasure to be your host again on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Raj Chandrayan
General Manager
(8003331188)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Luxurious Cottages, great food, nice swimming pool, great lanscaping,
Real value for money .Great service.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank stita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUJAMANTRA, General Manager at Amantra Shilpi Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Amantra Shilpi Resort !!!

We thank you staying at Amantra Shilpi Resort and sharing you valuable review on TripAdvisor.

Conveniently located, our hotel gives easy access to various must-see destinations and spots in the city. We are glad that our services were up to your expectations and hope that you visit us again.

It would be our pleasure to be your host again on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Raj Chandrayan
General Manager
(8003331188)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.8 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 161 in Udaipur
878 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 161 in Udaipur
366 reviews
2.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Udaipur
Golden Tulip Udaipur
#84 of 161 in Udaipur
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantra Shilpi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantra Shilpi Resort

Property: Amantra Shilpi Resort
Address: Fateh Sagar | near Shilpgram, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly OYO Premium Fateh Sagar Resort)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#9 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amantra Shilpi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities A serene hotel featuring a colonial feel, Amantra Shilpi Resort & SPA lets guests experience the ultimate definition of luxury. With spacious rooms lavishly appointed for the perfect comfort, the hotel assures in making you witness the best of Udaipur whilst being pampered by impeccable facilities & hands-on services. Creating a sense of calm and space, the hotel is richly adorned in Rajasthani art & craft taking you back to the mesmerizing glory of the past. With handpicked furniture & private balconies, every room is designed in a specific manner. The classy architecture of the hotel fuses beautifully with the royal amenities adding a fine grandeur. The reliable hotel's front desk can be reached 24 hours a day. Take romantic evening strolls with your love at the lush garden and utilize the recreational facilities. With facilities like morning wake-up call, flat screen TV, mini fridge, safe locker, intercom, currency exchange, mini bar, coffee maker etc. in the rooms, guests are going to have a comfort-filled stay. Set in a picturesque property at Rani Road, Amantra Shilpi Resort & SPA makes the ideal lodge to be away from the hustles of traffics & commotions. Home to the breath-taking Fateh Sagar Lake and the intriguing Hathipole old market, Udaipur is sure to catch your interest. To get around in Udaipur, one can either call a cab, hire auto rickshaws or travel in the bus services which are all reliable transport system that can be utilized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amantra Shilpi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilpi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing